The Watch Thread - Part 12

TeenTitan01

A dash of gold for CNY Day 2.

Z01_zpsdjo2efxd.jpg

sugar high cos...................... SWEEEEEETTTTTTT.......!!!!!!!!!!

:lick: :love: :D :s12:

do you also collect full series like Ed.YEO? like the midnight bluey and the white gold as well? :D

slow_mo

Guys, I like both the 2254.50 and Speedy Pro and actually a lot of other watches. Every good watch has something going for it, from quartz G Shock to Seiko 5 to Tudor to ALS and PP. Price wise worth it or not, for sure it's supply and demand, and price increases exponentially with quality more often than not. Tbh you have expensive manual winding watches that are not logically worth the money. You also have good dive watches that are arguably infinitely better value than 2254.50, so the arguments will never end. Just enjoy the 1 hour left of the CNY holiday and agree to disagree? :)

I don't really like 2254.50 and Speedy (don't like doesn't mean hate, it just mean that I don't fancy them enough to buy them). 情人眼里出西施…… some like it, some don't.

Some use their spare cash on watches, some use their savings, some use credit card (installment plan)......

Just buy what you wanna buy and wear what you wanna wear... of cos must post wrist shot. Sharing of experiences, information and lobangs is important too as long as they don't lead to heated arguement.

Cheers and have a huat huat new year! Waiting for 2 Feb to get my first PP/ALS/RM... if I ever bother to go buy my winning toto ticket!!!

TeenTitan01

ai zhai .. come give you lucky number ......... 2254 .. go buy and HUAT ah !!!

:s12::s12:

yeah .. oso disagree .. i start work mon left .. like dat is how many hours left ah ?? :s13: (company close hor .. no touch my leave one)

next year take the same wrist shot but feed your dog chicken will be swee swee liao

roflmao! :s13:

anyway bro, got new incoming soon. the great white brother to your smp gmt! hope all is good when it arrives! :D

黑白双魔 pairing soon! =:p

next goal: electric blue! :s12:

gaoxing84

apples and oranges.

i feel sad for you.

I am placing it under very basic specs.
Since you said manual winding is useless because you need to wind it before it runs out of power.
So what's the difference between saxonia and speedy movement?
Both also need to wind right? Not as if saxonia provides a magical winder that winds for you right?

I am comparing apple to apple if you don't understand what I say.

Don't feel sad for me la. I am nobody. Lol. I am someone who has both a speedy and 2254. I like both of them but I don't separate them as in which is more superior than another.

Your argument based on what each watch possess based on its very basic specs (not heritage and all) is already wrong when you say lange is Satki just because it's a lange? Buay Simi gum leh

Pagani_Z0nda

You're too kind my friend. I am sure there are many other gentlemen with deeper collections at this forum, who simply prefer to remain low profile the same way I did all these years.

Ice Flight, our grand dai kor, is probably reading the recent sagas with amusement. The Big Man's impressive collection simply blows us mortals away.
Ur collection already justify to be above mortal :eek:=:p:o

TeenTitan01

I don't really like 2254.50 and Speedy (don't like doesn't mean hate, it just mean that I don't fancy them enough to buy them). 情人眼里出西施…… some like it, some don't.

Some use their spare cash on watches, some use their savings, some use credit card (installment plan)......

Just buy what you wanna buy and wear what you wanna wear... of cos must post wrist shot. Sharing of experiences, information and lobangs is important too as long as they don't lead to heated arguement.

Cheers and have a huat huat new year! Waiting for 2 Feb to get my first PP/ALS/RM... if I ever bother to go buy my winning toto ticket!!!

i corner the sword hands seamaster market by soaking up all available stock. :eek:

nah, kidding. not than insane, roflmao! =:p

bubblemunche

sugar high cos......................
do you also collect full series like Ed.YEO? like the midnight bluey and the white gold as well? :D

Unfortunately (or fortunately, depending on the point of view), I'm not as hardcore.

Forgot to mention this: despite what I've said, I'm definitely more of a Lange fan. In my opinion, they make the best looking watches in the world. And I second your comment that Lange keeps Patek's complacency in check.

By the way, while I personally prefer manual-winding, the Saxonia is an automatic. The L921.4 is a sight to behold.

Group02_zps3ca08364.jpg

Pagani_Z0nda

Bro.. i waiting for 10 feb so i can hoot boat loads of watches :s12::s13:

TeenTitan01

Nothing to envy, 99.9% of Singaporeans would not recognize this POS, so no point wearing it to brag.

Even when I wear my loud two tone gold GMTC, Submariner and Deepsea Dweller Deep Blue James Cameron Rolex, I only get compliments or questions from guys, girls usually don't bother at all.

I only had a remark "What watch is that? Very nice ah" while wearing my black themes AP Roo. And the person himself was actually wearing a Panerai, yet he doesn't even know what APs are.

Anything not a Rolex, most Singaporeans are not familiar with and would not be able to appreciate or recognize it on the streets.

Sent from Samsung SM-N910G using GAGT

first up, it's not POS. certainly more elegant than your AP ROO. ;)

and its your misfortune that people you move around with are watch neanderthals. :s13:

TeenTitan01

Unfortunately (or fortunately, depending on the point of view), I'm not as hardcore.

Forgot to mention this: despite what I've said, I'm definitely more of a Lange fan. In my opinion, they make the best looking watches in the world. And I second your comment that Lange keeps Patek's complacency in check.

By the way, while I personally prefer manual-winding, the Saxonia is an automatic. The L921.4 is a sight to behold.

Group02_zps3ca08364.jpg

22k micro-rotor goodness! :s12:

TeenTitan01

见高就拜,见底就踩

Leaving it here.

save your 小人小气 lah!

jealous for what?

people is real class. of course deserves the praise!

unlike a certain individual with questionable integrity. actually held my tongue during the saga to give face and not to fan the flames, but real low class people should be called out for what they really are. :s8:

Donten

Firstly, I don't profess to be a tier 1 collector my friend. A seasoned collector once shared this golden piece of advice: "There is no end to high end". There is much truth in his words.

My personal feel is that in terms of technical accomplishment, innovation and finishing, Lange has already exceeded Patek.

However, I don't see Lange overtaking Patek in terms of brand perception or market position in the near future, with the key reason being the latter's unbroken lineage and prestige. That allowed the brand to weather market downturns and perform enviably at auctions when others have floundered. Lange, on the other hand, is still a relatively young brand notwithstanding its resurrection.

The Sterns run a tight ship, displayed uncanny foresight on trends, and makes both conservative and aggressive moves in dictating what the market wants. Like it or not, Patek's grip at the top of the game is strong.

And not forgetting, its iconic and some say cringe-worthy marketing message has been very effective in working its magic.

Group02_zps3ca08364.jpg

hey hey hey, yea, i do have same sentiment as you in the lange vs pp matchup. years ago i touched iceflight's lange and it lit up my face. was smiling at my workplace after the meetup. theres just something about the whole package. the finishing, the typeface and the hands do it for me(bolder in comparison to patek). i do agree that lange still cannot fight with patek in terms of brand recognition. im hoping to own the saxonia thin 37mm in the future but man... the 3/4 plate on that cant really fight with that engraved micro rotor of yours. that said, theres still nice pateks out there such as the 5270 and 5726 which i think are lookers.

TeenTitan01

Power this is like
Buying the sega cartridge before buying the console. No choice got to follow thru liao

Will wait to see your ahguanot or naughtylust

wei, wei, wei! mai this might upset bro TRT leh... :(

ah, thanks for adopting the lingo! ;) :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.