fjwpIFX.jpg

Eh..wait got better quality, pls note nothing is fake in the below pic :o
Not Safe For Wife!

nBzeGbg.jpg

ok. i now believe bro pwillie IS A CHIOBU!!! :love: =:p

cichlid

Someone mentioned DW challenge? I dont have DW, closest is this Orient, kym?

31768374284_b55433c572_o.jpg

TeenTitan01

Just had my first 'ding' on my Submariner's lug, wish I could say it was from a battle for angbaos or an intense ban-luck session; it was from taking my hands out of a metal tin of CNY goodies.

It's true what people say, too much CNY goodies is no good for your health (and your watch)!

Hope everyone is enjoying their 初三! 發啊!

light scuff or deep etch? will cap cod cloth help?

TeenTitan01

Admittedly, it bothered me for like 5 minutes, then I figured, no point worrying since there will be more 'dings' and scratches to come. Cannot be bubble wrap the watch and wear right?

At most during servicing in 10+ years time, request for polishing, but I doubt I will want to polish it.

if there's a market for handphone protectors for phones that last barely 2 yrs for the owner, is there a market for luxury watch protectors?

food for thought... :D

TeenTitan01

dnHiG9m.jpg

Baby-sitting #3

bro coern, you wore your hulk the "wrong way around" on your right wrist just so we don't have to strain our necks to admire your watch had it been it the "normal" position! :eek:

considerate gao gao! :D :s12:

gaoxing84

Don't take it the wrong way man, i really want to know what you think makes a lange manual winding watch above a omega manual winding watch? Just based on the fact is manual winding.
Let's not get started over the movement, how lange is satki (obviously)

I am sorry, I had to post this, not because i am smarter or more satki but I 100% disagree with your thoughts.

save your 小人小气 lah!

jealous for what?

people is real class. of course deserves the praise!

unlike a certain individual with questionable integrity. actually held my tongue during the saga to give face and not to fan the flames, but real low class people should be called out for what they really are. :s8:

huh? what you talking?

:s11::s11:

answer my question leh, i really hope you can educate me on this part.
i really want to know the difference between 2 kind of manual winding.
both also will stop when not wound after 2-3 days (comparing the more basic PR manual winding movement)

lange = manual winding means satki
omega = manual winding means useless and chui?

- i'm lazy
- can be a chore unless you're a gentleman of leisure
- will stop if you forget
- can destroy the movement if it's carelessly overwound
- wears down the winding stem = $

if that manual winding piece is a lange or patek

- i'm lazy - will you still be lazy?
- can be a chore unless you're a gentleman of leisure - will it still be a chore or you will employ a maid to do it for you?
- will stop if you forget - will you still forget?
- can destroy the movement if it's carelessly overwound - i bet you're a watch person, you're smart enough not to overwound right? Unless someone who doesn't know but those who know enough to buy a lange or patek will know this right?
- wears down the winding stem = $ - this is quite right but self winding watches also need to service right? it's just a part of the watch purchase if one were to buy a manual watch.
i remember someone's rolex sub here, the winding stem broke too. means what?

TeenTitan01

roflmao. my replies in blue.

Don't take it the wrong way man, i really want to know what you think makes a lange manual winding watch above a omega manual winding watch? Just based on the fact is manual winding.
Let's not get started over the movement, how lange is satki (obviously)

the points i made about manual winding watches remains valid.

I am sorry, I had to post this, not because i am smarter or more satki but I 100% disagree with your thoughts.

you're entitled to that. we'll all be clones if we think the same.

huh? what you talking?

:s11::s11:

answer my question leh, i really hope you can educate me on this part.
i really want to know the difference between 2 kind of manual winding.
both also will stop when not wound after 2-3 days (comparing the more basic PR manual winding movement)

absolutely NO difference.

lange = manual winding means satki
omega = manual winding means useless and chui?

short answer: yep. full gold/platinum wins.

if that manual winding piece is a lange or patek

would choose the auto model.

- i'm lazy - will you still be lazy? still lazy. but since effing loaded = definitely more time for leisure to masak masak with my watches instead of slogging all day (and sometimes night) to earn my nasi.
- can be a chore unless you're a gentleman of leisure - will it still be a chore or you will employ a maid to do it for you? depends how tired i am after my tarma session with the sexy russian blonde and hot japanese hookers.
- will stop if you forget - will you still forget?
- can destroy the movement if it's carelessly overwound - i bet you're a watch person, you're smart enough not to overwound right? Unless someone who doesn't know but those who know enough to buy a lange or patek will know this right? (i'm a watch noob & a watch knob) don't bet on it. dai dai gor iceflight already mentioned the loaded buy RM cos everyone in their social circle are doing so. being able to afford an ultra luxe timepiece =/= knowledgeable watch lover.
- wears down the winding stem = $ - this is quite right but self winding watches also need to service right? it's just a part of the watch purchase if one were to buy a manual watch. rolex famous for allegedly not needing service for donkey years.
i remember someone's rolex sub here, the winding stem broke too. means what?

gaoxing84

roflmao. my replies in blue.

sigh, I cannot get thru you at all. Your replies are such one sided towards you and I really feel that branding is really important to you.
I don't see why the need to bash manual winding because it all started from there.

but that's you. I hope one day you can afford your rolex so you can stop complaining you being poor which i choose to believe you're not (since you're ready to pay 3.8k for full box and papers NOS 2254, sorry if i am wrong about this, remembered you posted it a few pages back)

you can put me on your ignore list if you want.

:o

binnie

Following the trend of comments in blue lol..

you lit the fuse by claiming that the 2254.50 pretends to be the big triangle mil-spec seamaster 300.

first up, the 2254.50 never pretended to be a big triangle mil-spec seamaster 300. in fact, it's a subsidiary dial that was nicknamed the "peter blake" released in the midst of the bond seamaster with the skeleton hands which also have its fans. not me though. cutting down on the lume for a diver just doesn't make sense. the sword hands/wave dial versions of the seamaster 300m obviously didn't have the support of omega who discontinued them in 2007, while keeping the bond seamaster. that the 2254.50 has a healthy strong cult following today along with its steady rise in value in the pre-owned market is clearly due in a large part because it echos the strong dna of the mil-spec seamaster 300. on the other hand, the bond seamaster isn't thriving in the pre-owned market. ;)

to reiterate: the 2254.50 never pretended to be the big triangle mil-spec seamaster 300. :)

Lol, I lit the fuse by making comments on a watch. Not making personal attacks. Be mature la, you say you're an old chap so act like one la... Well the fact is the aesthetic cues borrow too heavily from the big triangle. That's undeniable. I'd dare say most WIS would prefer the big triangle over the 2254 anytime.

In terms of value, sure it is slowly creeping up. Yea it's a nice looking watch with a nice history.

not so for the speedmaster professional moonwatch.

omega's marketing department kept up the illusion of the current speedy as the watch that went to the moon. it says so at the back of the speedy. but it's NOT. that belong to the speedy with cal 321. not the 861/1861. it's a watch with a pretty dial. i like it. but not as practical as the 2254.50. poorer water resistance. you need to wind it daily or it'll stop mid way and you lose your time. it doesn't even hack. and has a less useful complication: how often do you use a chrono vs a date? you've your answer. and omega has the cheek to charge a premium for the illusion and fantasy that many, unfortunately, are willing to buy into.

I think it all depends on how you see it la. It's basically the same movement except for column wheel vs cams. The 861/1861 is still flight qualified by NASA. Cams are more durable and reliable than a column wheel anyway so I don't really see an issue there.

A manual movement was chosen in the first place because engineers were unsure how an automatic movement would perform in zero gravity. I think manual vs auto is just a matter of preference. If you have a few automatic watches and you rotate them, over time they will stop as well. As for hacking, if you're really pedantic you can just apply back pressure to stop the second hand when setting the time. If not, does it really matter lol? Just personal preference lor.

As for water resistance, it just wasn't built as a diver's watch so why even bother lol. I'm comfortable walking in the rain with it and that's enough for me.

i'm all for anyone spending what they like.

but imho, omega could do better to continue equipping the moonwatch with its original calibre c 321 instead of continuing to use the SAME dial and dropping in a cheaper movement just to save cost. they're short-changing the collectors who buy into their fantasy/illusion.

AP RO in black/white never claim to be the original ultra thin jumbo. AP reserved that name for its blue dial only re-issue with the SAME movement cal 2121 as the original. and charged a premium accordingly.

while omega continue to charge a premium on their "moonwatch" which isn't. ;)

TeenTitan01

my replies in blue.

sigh, I cannot get thru you at all. Your replies are such one sided towards you and I really feel that branding is really important to you.

brand ***** at your service. :D

I don't see why the need to bash manual winding because it all started from there.

the bashing start from column wheel+vertical clutch vs cam actuated+horizontal clutch. manual winding was just collateral damage. my peeves about manual winding remains.

but that's you. I hope one day you can afford your rolex so you can stop complaining you being poor which i choose to believe you're not (since you're ready to pay 3.8k for full box and papers NOS 2254, sorry if i am wrong about this, remembered you posted it a few pages back)

$3.8k? no way, jose! i did not and certainly will not. i won't be able to live with myself knowing i've been a carrot paying such prices. i'm sitting pretty with my sub $2k 2254.50, thank you. i'm working stiff. need to pinch my pennies and stretch my dollar, bro. instant noodle also buy myojo over nissin just to save 25c a pack even though both made by nissin. yeah, it's sad, i know. :(

you can put me on your ignore list if you want.

:o

no way, why should i? and miss out on your gorgeous photos? i may roast the speedy, but it's still a pretty face. :s13:

TeenTitan01

my replies in green.

Following the trend of comments in blue lol..
TeenTitan01 wrote:
you lit the fuse by claiming that the 2254.50 pretends to be the big triangle mil-spec seamaster 300.

first up, the 2254.50 never pretended to be a big triangle mil-spec seamaster 300. in fact, it's a subsidiary dial that was nicknamed the "peter blake" released in the midst of the bond seamaster with the skeleton hands which also have its fans. not me though. cutting down on the lume for a diver just doesn't make sense. the sword hands/wave dial versions of the seamaster 300m obviously didn't have the support of omega who discontinued them in 2007, while keeping the bond seamaster. that the 2254.50 has a healthy strong cult following today along with its steady rise in value in the pre-owned market is clearly due in a large part because it echos the strong dna of the mil-spec seamaster 300. on the other hand, the bond seamaster isn't thriving in the pre-owned market. ;)

to reiterate: the 2254.50 never pretended to be the big triangle mil-spec seamaster 300. :)

Lol, I lit the fuse by making comments on a watch. Not making personal attacks. Be mature la, you say you're an old chap so act like one la... Well the fact is the aesthetic cues borrow too heavily from the big triangle. That's undeniable. I'd dare say most WIS would prefer the big triangle over the 2254 anytime.

old chap must act certain way ah? don't be an ageist. strong dna of the Big triangle mil-spec seamaster 300 definitely. BUT never claims to be the real deal. Unlike the speedy, especially with the dial being a facsimile of the original. most WIS will give the Big triangle mil-spec seamaster 300 a wide berth as there're plenty of fakes out there. the majority of genuine mil-spec ones suffer water ingress due to improper usage, failure to secure the crown, unfortunate damage, etc. leaving few genuine ones in fair condition.

In terms of value, sure it is slowly creeping up. Yea it's a nice looking watch with a nice history.

glad you agree. :s13:

not so for the speedmaster professional moonwatch.

omega's marketing department kept up the illusion of the current speedy as the watch that went to the moon. it says so at the back of the speedy. but it's NOT. that belong to the speedy with cal 321. not the 861/1861. it's a watch with a pretty dial. i like it. but not as practical as the 2254.50. poorer water resistance. you need to wind it daily or it'll stop mid way and you lose your time. it doesn't even hack. and has a less useful complication: how often do you use a chrono vs a date? you've your answer. and omega has the cheek to charge a premium for the illusion and fantasy that many, unfortunately, are willing to buy into.

I think it all depends on how you see it la. It's basically the same movement except for column wheel vs cams. The 861/1861 is still flight qualified by NASA. Cams are more durable and reliable than a column wheel anyway so I don't really see an issue there.

the issue is omega playing fast and loose by claiming the current speedy is the moonwatch, which it isn't. it would've been less of a scam had it kept with the cal 321 movement.

A manual movement was chosen in the first place because engineers were unsure how an automatic movement would perform in zero gravity. I think manual vs auto is just a matter of preference. If you have a few automatic watches and you rotate them, over time they will stop as well. As for hacking, if you're really pedantic you can just apply back pressure to stop the second hand when setting the time. If not, does it really matter lol? Just personal preference lor.

i'm all for equal opportunity. zenith's el-primero movement also doesn't hack. major. MAJOR. upset. luxury watches are suppose to be that cut above pedestrian watches. which means apart from quality of materials, construction, fit & finish, we ought to expect it to perform better. if my luxury watch claims to be more accurate - and yet i can't hack the second to set it to a reference time, that's just not on. if i want to play back-hacking, i can do that with a $99 seiko 5 with the 7s26 movement 24/7. even the entry level 4r36 hacks AND winds. sure, the rated accuracy has a pretty wide range. but bear in mind its price

As for water resistance, it just wasn't built as a diver's watch so why even bother lol. I'm comfortable walking in the rain with it and that's enough for me.

agreed. even a diver-rated watch can be compromised if someone forgot to screw-in the crown. and its depth rating is only as good as it's last pressure testing and checking/changing of seals/gaskets.

i'm all for anyone spending what they like.

but imho, omega could do better to continue equipping the moonwatch with its original calibre c 321 instead of continuing to use the SAME dial and dropping in a cheaper movement just to save cost. they're short-changing the collectors who buy into their fantasy/illusion.

AP RO in black/white never claim to be the original ultra thin jumbo. AP reserved that name for its blue dial only re-issue with the SAME movement cal 2121 as the original. and charged a premium accordingly.

while omega continue to charge a premium on their "moonwatch" which isn't. ;)

bubblemunche

hey hey hey, yea, i do have same sentiment as you in the lange vs pp matchup. years ago i touched iceflight's lange and it lit up my face. was smiling at my workplace after the meetup. theres just something about the whole package. the finishing, the typeface and the hands do it for me(bolder in comparison to patek). i do agree that lange still cannot fight with patek in terms of brand recognition. im hoping to own the saxonia thin 37mm in the future but man... the 3/4 plate on that cant really fight with that engraved micro rotor of yours. that said, theres still nice pateks out there such as the 5270 and 5726 which i think are lookers.

Heartened to find fellow appreciators who share these views.

And I have to agree with you on your choice of a Saxonia thin in the future. It is a pure work of art with an impressive manual movement whose finishing rivals that of the very best. Typically Lange, which is saying a lot.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.