The Watch Thread - Part 12

CeSaRiO

yeah, always felt seven friday is overhype. if not wrong, from what I read before, 7friday case and most parts are made in china while movement is miyota. therefore the fake can also be consider real as everything is the same except not endorsed by owner :s13:

taobao got a lot !!

look nice lah , why jialat .. but personally I hate NATO :D I felt the extra length look very ugly :s13:

I agree with that. That's why must fold in :s13:

TeenTitan01

不同區域市場,不同配置啦。。。
中港臺j款的,都是中英雙語的。
日本國內市場的,也就日英雙語的。
日本組裝,出口至中東的,當然也就配置 阿/英 雙語囉。。。

只是阿拉伯人買老樂死如買紙巾一樣。。。有多少會看上精工普通款式咧?賣不出的就給本地平行入口商帶進囉。。。

現在本地最缺的,就是能與中國市場接軌的平行入口商,帶進中英雙語的。。。那麼我們就不必老遠的跑去香港,臺灣買啦。

the secondary day wheel of seiko watches meant for the prc & taiwan market is just the modern chinese 一,二,三, 四, 五, 六, 日。 my citizen diver happen to have this feature. don't ask me why. i bought the AD version with full 3 year local warranty. :D

whereas kanji day wheel which is more ancient & traditional (and originated in ancient china) is 月,火,水,木, 金, 土, 日。 my vintage king seiko has this instead.

so does it mean that i need to buy a jdm version of popular seikos direct from japan if i want a kanji day wheel?

lyrrom

Are you skilled to repair movements?

i wouldn't dare go as far as to call myself skilled :s13: i can disassemble and assemble 7S/4R/6R movements, but i'm still learning how to quickly and efficiently identify what's affecting a particular movement. unfortunately this can take up to a few years to master haha.

luclkily for me, my former japanese manager was actually one of the chief designers for caliber 4R. i learnt a crap ton from him while he was around but unfortunately his contract was up and he was posted back to our japan headquarters recently.

from time to time we get new projects (i.e. completely new movements) and i will be involved with the sample prototyping as well as the initial mass flow on the assembly line to identify any problems or bottlenecks in the process. i find this to be the most exciting part of my job :D

lyrrom

is it possible for you to find out from your internal sources? after all, you're a watch lover, too. and i'm sure the bros here are eager to find out!

also, are you able to answer the list of questions i posed to you earlier? thanks! :s22:

unfortunately no. the questions you posed earlier outside my area of expertise, so i'm afraid i can't help you there!

TeenTitan01

why?? my hand orh orh and got age spot :( ?? I got put whitening cream leh :s13:

no lah ..no time go swimming , kena arrow .. and just bk in town ...

seeing all the pictures of pam , rekindle my interest again :s12: ... but this year is bad year for my zodiac leh lol .. anyway 2017 so far is shitty for me .. .. must thread with caution ....

不會 lah ,

still waiting for u to bring me eat some peanut, use hot towel to wipe face and sing some song :D

eh... no offense, bro reikizi. but i remember you sharing that you started your swim training a while back, so i thought that's the source of your healthy tan.

as for the zodiac thingie, don't put too much faith into it, lah. take it with a huge pinch of salt. hard work+talent won't make one successful without timing, luck and connections. nnb, can say my zodiac until how good also never turn out to be true. so unless you're ah sia kia loaded to the gills, the harsh reality of life for working stiffs like me is: same shat, different day. FML. :(

cyrenic

yeah, always felt seven friday is overhype. if not wrong, from what I read before, 7friday case and most parts are made in china while movement is miyota. therefore the fake can also be consider real as everything is the same except not endorsed by owner :s13:

I always randomly come across botched replica Sevenfriday watches, where part of the watch dial just drop out, etc. Maybe the real deal has better QC.

But mineral crystal, party trick disks instead of hands to pretend to be some horological wonder, Miyota movement for $1K plus? Siao ah, just keep writing in to Orient and hope they do some magic instead of just the Orient Disk @ $200+. :s13:

cyrenic

made in switzerland watches are 50% value from switzerland... the rest can be from China etc., so i think made in japan is the same.

however my belief is that watches like many things made for the japanese market only (e.g. cars) still tend to be of a higher quality, due to the higher demands of the Japanese market.

japan still got pride lah, though that is also eroding ...but thats another story.

J model not always for J market though..

But JDM models I can believe.

slow_mo

look nice lah , why jialat .. but personally I hate NATO :D I felt the extra length look very ugly :s13:

Never like the tail of the NATO strap too... folded or not.

I prefer bracelet... unless I'm in aircon whole day.

cyrenic

Case in point: SARB035 - Made in Japan on the back, but open up inside case from China...

And this is why I honestly don't care if I get the J model. Buy expensive, of course can sell more. Buy K model cheaper, of course will sell less. The brand name matters more than country of origin.

slow_mo

seeing all the pictures of pam , rekindle my interest again :s12: ... but this year is bad year for my zodiac leh lol .. anyway 2017 so far is shitty for me .. .. must thread with caution ....

PAMela Anderson?! MTL!!!

Aiyah... simi cock zodiac... don't believe so much!!! If not 走火入魔!

Ed.YEO

not even through the grapevine or internal sources?

sadtitan01 is sad. :sad:
日本人不隨隨便便讓外人知道太多事情的啦。。。一就是一,二就是二。。。既然lyromm師兄是處於工程設計,產品修改的工程部門,那麼生產方面的事他就不能插一腳了。。。

我現在的日本公司也是一樣。

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.