pwillie

Yup, wrong date

K8G8Wmp.jpg

gaoxing84

Oh yes @Gx84, when you went to bleach the insert did you remove the glue? Or you just put the insert together with the glue into the bleach?

i remove the insert and throw it into bleach, take out every 15 seconds, rinse over running tap water. u see the fade, do it 2-3 times.

rinse off, use dishwashing soap and clean off the bleach. if you like the fade, stop, because it's gonna get lighter.

if not, do it again.

then when done, pop it back in, the glue will not disintegrate in the bleach afaik.

slow_mo

still think this is probably the only Seiko (or diver, apart from GS) you will ever need.
bracelet clasp need more work. anyone know a alternative to the clasp? don't like how the microadjustment work and i can't afford isofrane or crafter blue rubber. LOL

C0FAA37C-FF90-4004-A559-2DD68D5B542B_zpsjmqrb1vd.jpg

Interested in the 65MAS reissue?

AyuReady

For Rolex and omega I think they dun.
Other brands I not aware haha my watch collection limited !

are you aware of any brand that insist on restricting warranty service during the valid warranty period to only the (1st) owner named on the warranty records?

because if so, it'll have implications for subsequent owners.

indigo22

wasnt the SNZF11 at $250 the first time we started hunting for it? now suddenly become $3xx range liao :s13:

mpcdude

i remove the insert and throw it into bleach, take out every 15 seconds, rinse over running tap water. u see the fade, do it 2-3 times.

rinse off, use dishwashing soap and clean off the bleach. if you like the fade, stop, because it's gonna get lighter.

if not, do it again.

then when done, pop it back in, the glue will not disintegrate in the bleach afaik.

Thanks. Will most likely do it this weekend. Also may try the sandpaper fading method instead of bleach so that I don't have to remove the bezel haha.

cyrenic

if not, do it again.

Wa, you mean the glue won't be affected?

That's amazing - for some reason I was reading up about changing bezel inserts and some people recommended using hair dryer to heat up/melt the glue to remove the bezel (as it will avoid damaging it). Wonder if it can be reused that way also.

gaoxing84

Thanks. Will most likely do it this weekend. Also may try the sandpaper fading method instead of bleach so that I don't have to remove the bezel haha.

sandpapers is gonna scratch it and the lacquer is not going to come off, if you want the beat up look, go bua the road.
then bleach

legit method.

mpcdude

Gx84 sorry but I have one last question lol. Did you remove the entire bezel(including the coin-edge) or did you just pry off the bezel insert?

If you removed the entire bezel, do you throw the coin-edge together with the bezel insert into the bleach as well? I searched online and got many conflicting views so just want to know how someone who did it did it.

gaoxing84

Wa, you mean the glue won't be affected?

That's amazing - for some reason I was reading up about changing bezel inserts and some people recommended using hair dryer to heat up/melt the glue to remove the bezel (as it will avoid damaging it). Wonder if it can be reused that way also.

yes possible. did that for the old steinhart OVM. the glue can be reused.
but that was dumb, take damn long to remove.

removing the bezel and popping out the insert is way way easier.
that's what mr goh does.

my skx007, insert went into bleach, i pop it back in with whatever glue is left and it never came off.

gaoxing84

Gx84 sorry but I have one last question lol. Did you remove the entire bezel(including the coin-edge) or did you just pry off the bezel insert?

If you removed the entire bezel, do you throw the coin-edge together with the bezel insert into the bleach as well? I searched online and got many conflicting views so just want to know how someone who did it did it.

i need to start charging for consultation LOL.

i remove the entire bezel. then remove the insert. and only soak the insert.

for what soak the whole thing. lol. once the bezel is out, all you need to do is pop the insert out from the underside of it. but don't force it. u may bent the insert.

peterandy

i169.photobucket.com/albums/u217/peterandy01/image_5.jpeg

Pardon the lackadaisical shot. Was on my Kopi break.

Hmm... I heard that Nomos increasing price soon that's why I thought to buy before increase but might get IWC Portuguese already. I'm thinking the warranty will be covered by Chuan?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.