The Watch Thread - Part 12

Sensible_

yalor. I feel so under-dressed in my jeans and polo. wearing a $x00 watch when looking in. Most of them are empty or have few people.

And cannot go in with my Mrs else she will nag me to death. So I only go around outside alone.

Yes, maybe I will join some brothers here when they go for a walkabout. =:p

Walk in like a boss can already. I went into PP with my morning hair, old tshirt and $5 shirts from CK. They also invite me sit down and ask me "Hi how may I assist you" with a smile.

TeenTitan01

I was thinking Chief need $ 1 meh..just saunter into any boutique and go "Chief want. Chief take. Chief happy." :crazy:

After all, this chief got a Rolex Sub from James Cameron: https://www.rolex.com/every-rolex-t...olex-watch.html?social_cid=social_fb_20170219

"I had become friends with Ropni, the chief of the Kayapo people, deep in the Amazon. He gave me some great gifts, things that had great meaning to him including making me one of the Kayapo people with a naming ceremony. In their culture, these are treasured things. And I thought, “What do I have that I can give him that’s like that, something that’s very personal to me, and has a value to me that’s equivalent to what his gifts to me meant to him.” So I gave him my Rolex Submariner."

in the past the white man scammed the natives by offering cheap trinkets & beads in exchange for valuable commodities. :(

today, a white man got his rolex sub scammed by natives with cheap gifts and cost-free naming ceremony. :s22:

the great circle has closed. =:p

TeenTitan01

bro indigo22, at the risk of sounding rude, if there's an $8k rolex sub 114060 brand spanking virgin new with stickers still on from an AD right now, i'm also interested... but alas, afaik, to get such a price will need a time machine to go back 3 years or more ago. :(

ok guys, my lady friend wants to buy a watch for her husband, she is quite adamant on getting from AD/boutiques (prob ADs la...) a brand new Rolex Sub 114060 NoDate.

I've checked at The Hour Glass, retails at 10,0xx..the guy only giving 5% discount...does anyone has any lobangs to hoot from such ADs with better discounts? she is hoping to secure a brand new for 8K budget. (walao she rly loves her husband basket...)

disclaimer: i've done my google-ing, but the only posts i can find about AD's discounts are those ownself-post-ownself-song between lifewelltravelled n seannie :( and their posts u know la, might as well say gahment will raise water's bills to raise importance of water to citizens right...

disclaimer: she is only ready to buy in March after getting her bonus, so any purchase is prob between Mar 15-30 tt window...

a562140

Thank you for your inputs bro a562140, much appreciated. That Worldtimer does looks quite amazing! May I ask where did you get your Alpina? Gnomon currently ran out of stock for the black bezel Seastrong, and am seeing if there are alternate sources locally. :)

bought direct before gnomon brought it in. get from gnomon, support local business that carry small brands :s12:

TeenTitan01

yalor. I feel so under-dressed in my jeans and polo. wearing a $x00 watch when looking in. Most of them are empty or have few people.

And cannot go in with my Mrs else she will nag me to death. So I only go around outside alone.

Yes, maybe I will join some brothers here when they go for a walkabout. =:p

at least you bother to wear collar polo T and jeans. me? cheap collarless T, cheap shorts and knock off crocs.

from one uncle to another, if it makes you feel more confident, you can always stuff in 5 pieces of $10k notes in your wallet that you've been building in your watch fund while cruising the atas watch boutiques/ADs - with every real intention to buy of the offer is attractive, of course.

most luxury watches are commodities - in the sense that they're not rare nor exclusive. got money can buy liao. maybe wait a while for the popular pieces.

no need to beg for discount. you're giving them business & they're earning their commission. if you're lucky and they need to hit their monthly quota, they'll give you a better discount if you ask.

don't ask, don't get.
don't give. walk away. they're available elsewhere.

no air/water/food, we'll die.
no luxury watch, won't die. wait until you get a good deal.

fact is, those SAs may "look" good in their business suits/ties/etc, but almost all of the time, the paying customers have more financial muscle than all of them who depend on commission sales. :s13:

the real question is: is there better use of YOUR money... instead of a luxury watch that needs upkeep & maintenance in the long run? ;)

TeenTitan01

Only entered AD once in Singapore. Look see look see, 5 minutes go out.
But when overseas, I enter boutique like a boss. All SA very nice. Esp in Japan & London. Gd service. They must think Im tourist mah.. Definitely got money. Lol

service in sg suck if you're not an ang mo cos of the repungnant and deplorable pinkerton syndrome. hard truth.

that's why it's not worth paying. especially with 7% gst.

since service is not forthcoming, consistent and persists after sales, shop on price alone.

TeenTitan01

I thought nowadays dressed like PRC get best service.
The AD salesperson looked v disappointed when I replied to him in singlish.

sign of the times... but the days of free-wheeling prcs came to a screeching halt after xjp anti-corruption crack-down.

TeenTitan01

pay no attention to the dressing of the sa.. you paying top $, no need 看人脸色. can always walk away and give the commission to the next person.

make sure you flash your 5 pcs of $10k notes before you leave to show them you've the means and every intention to buy and suan them for missing their commission! ;) :s13:

TeenTitan01

Lifewellvaleting. :s22:

Ok better stop, wait people come and scold me say I bring him up and invite him back to gong wu gong boh with the guys here.

power lah, bro cyrenic! :D

you still remembered me calling him out as a part-time car valet! :s13:

gaoxing84

looking thru my archives and found this back in 2009.
my first luxury watch (probably not). The Tag Heuer WAB2010 AquaRacer.
Too bad, sold it in 2015 after 6 years of beating it. I remember I was already in this watch thread. Not even part 1. its call the watch thread lol

Right the night after I got it from Taka Sincere
IMG_3731_zpsygtigyoo.jpg

On top of the Table Mountain in Cape Town. I also wore it to my first trip to the states but no photos :(
1606482_10152262193118060_190945701_o.jpg

TT01, dedicated for you

Screen%20Shot%202017-02-23%20at%2002.35.10_zpstxh6zqxp.png

Unclemun

at least you bother to wear collar polo T and jeans. me? cheap collarless T, cheap shorts and knock off crocs.

from one uncle to another, if it makes you feel more confident, you can always stuff in 5 pieces of $10k notes in your wallet that you've been building in your watch fund while cruising the atas watch boutiques/ADs - with every real intention to buy of the offer is attractive, of course.

most luxury watches are commodities - in the sense that they're not rare nor exclusive. got money can buy liao. maybe wait a while for the popular pieces.

no need to beg for discount. you're giving them business & they're earning their commission. if you're lucky and they need to hit their monthly quota, they'll give you a better discount if you ask.

don't ask, don't get.

fact is, those SAs may "look" good in their business suits/ties/etc, but almost all of the time, the paying customers have more financial muscle than all of them who depend on commission sales. :s13:

the real question is: is there better use of YOUR money... instead of a luxury watch that needs upkeep & maintenance in the long run? ;)

Whoa. That's what Uncles talk about! :s13:
show them the money! But I scared I spend the money too easily. If the money is to show, then maybe the ninja way like what you and the other bros here do make more sense.

They may think that is you can saunter/sashay in like a million bucks confidently, they will definitely give you more attention knowing, and having learned that many visitors actually have the means to buy their watches.

Yes, everyone who walks in is a potential customer and may buy something. Those with lesser means are not likely to want to walk in.

My kid is more confident than me, having walked in, tried out many watches with friends etc. And more knowledgeable than me!

Yes, I will stick to the principle of:
"don't ask, don't get.
don't give. walk away. they're available elsewhere."

indigo22

bro indigo22, at the risk of sounding rude, if there's an $8k rolex sub 114060 brand spanking virgin new with stickers still on from an AD right now, i'm also interested... but alas, afaik, to get such a price will need a time machine to go back 3 years or more ago. :(

pls, no offence taken man...i appreciate each and every reply from everyone :D

hub8246

pls, no offence taken man...i appreciate each and every reply from everyone :D

Maybe you can recommend your friend this rolex explorer 2.

In my own opinion, these are the advantages of the watch,

- readily available with more room for negotiation with discount
- more robust than sub or gmt because no rotating bezel.
- added gmt and date complications.
- 2 different dials (white and black) to choose from
- excellent lume among rolex watch series

X60L9m2.jpg

9tYua90.jpg

gaoxing84

Maybe you can recommend your friend this rolex explorer 2.

In my own opinion, these are the advantages of the watch,

- readily available with more room for negotiation with discount
- more robust than sub or gmt because no rotating bezel.
- added gmt and date complications.
- 2 different dials (white and black) to choose from
- excellent lume among rolex watch series

http://i.imgur.com/X60L9m2.jpg[/IM]
[IMG]http://i.imgur.com/9tYua90.jpg[/IM][/QUOTE]

Actually this cost more than the sub.
And discount is same for sports model.
Maybe abit more.

kyteo79

don't ask, don't get.

thats y some prefer to throw cash on watches, some on cars, some on mods, some on membership, etc ..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.