The Watch Thread - Part 12

MrSenG

Hahaha, my Steinhart also kena...

Some ang moh woman's bracelet when walking in the mall. :s22::s22:

But well, that's life. Have to kan kai a bit, if not keep polishing until no more watch left. :s13:

Admittedly, it bothered me for like 5 minutes, then I figured, no point worrying since there will be more 'dings' and scratches to come. Cannot be bubble wrap the watch and wear right?

At most during servicing in 10+ years time, request for polishing, but I doubt I will want to polish it.

messi7

I don't think the numbers are bold enough, a bit not here not there.

The funny extra cut out for the date nearer to center also a bit odd, is it AM/PM indicator?

I think it's day / date indicator lol

Donten

Admittedly, it bothered me for like 5 minutes, then I figured, no point worrying since there will be more 'dings' and scratches to come. Cannot be bubble wrap the watch and wear right?

At most during servicing in 10+ years time, request for polishing, but I doubt I will want to polish it.

i treasure the original shape of the watch more than the the scratches and dings that comes with wear. just wear it as it is. it's a tool watch after all.

coern

Happy 3rd day of CNY!

HcOu2b4.jpg

Ed.YEO

i treasure the original shape of the watch more than the the scratches and dings that comes with wear. just wear it as it is. it's a tool watch after all.
原本放手可以收回80%的貴錶,經那麼一撞,刮花,還要再扣10~20%。。。實在不划算哦?

Ed.YEO

如果真的那麼能忍到三四十年,肯定有價值。問題是"保","升",還是"跌"多少,三四十年後的事,實在難講。

那老頭子是在勞力士推出潛水錶不久後,對於手錶認知不深下,買了那當時推出的款式,加上若干年後,的後世代人炒起品牌,才會得到意外的估價。

今時今日的勞力士,一年造錶數量幾乎可以稱冠了,那大量生產的錶款以後是否還能取得那麼高的估價?實在。。。。。。

MrSenG

It reminded me of a quote of unknown origin; "A knight is shining armor is a man who has never had his metal truly tested. For only after battle does our armor show who we truly are."

Similarly, I feel that the watches we wear, with their scratches and dings are a testament to journey we take in life, whether it is at a desk, at a high stakes poker game or even taking care of your children. There will always be good and bad times, but the important thing is to keep going (ticking).

AyuReady

如果用得上30-40年。 就算没有价值了,当作租了一只表。

每天的租金还是很便宜的。

哈哈 见仁见智

如果真的那麼能忍到三四十年,肯定有價值。問題是"保","升",還是"跌"多少,三四十年後的事,實在難講。

那老頭子是在勞力士推出潛水錶不久後,對於手錶認知不深下,買了那當時推出的款式,加上若干年後,的後世代人炒起品牌,才會得到意外的估價。

今時今日的勞力士,一年造錶數量幾乎可以稱冠了,那大量生產的錶款以後是否還能取得那麼高的估價?實在。。。。。。

a562140

No love for citizen?

lots of love for some citizen models. their solar and gps tech is way ahead of seiko's. their super accurate movements also very good lah.

but not this one for me - the day/date white background looks too close to another hand. its not the possible confusion - i tune in to the right cues after a while - but its the missed opportunity of making the day/date element a design component.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.