The Watch Thread - Part 12

TeenTitan01

This is also manual winding. So for lange to charge so much, is it daft to buy this?
Only got date function and gold.
Cannot go moon. Cannot go water.

How?

when i'm that loaded to afford a gold manual winding watch, all bets are off. i'm sure i've enough time or even hire help to wind it for me daily. ;)

AyuReady

I volunteer to trade my seiko automatic hackable turtle for this can?

Got lume, day, date, 200m, auto, can hack, larger second hand, got bezel lol

Okok end my troll mode

This is also manual winding. So for lange to charge so much, is it daft to buy this?
Only got date function and gold.
Cannot go moon. Cannot go water.

How?

gaoxing84

when i'm that loaded to afford a gold manual winding watch, all bets are off. i'm sure i've enough time or even hire help to wind it for me daily. ;)

Oh. So you mean lange manual can and speedy manual is useless?

Lange charge at least 5x more leh.

Based on what you say. 2254 is a more superior watch compared to most lange?
Since 2254 is self winding?

Haha weird eh

bubblemunche

You are the definition of Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon! Keep em shots coming!! :)

You're too kind my friend. I am sure there are many other gentlemen with deeper collections at this forum, who simply prefer to remain low profile the same way I did all these years.

Ice Flight, our grand dai kor, is probably reading the recent sagas with amusement. The Big Man's impressive collection simply blows us mortals away.

TeenTitan01

He who resorts to personal attacks have run out of ideas to defend himself.

And please. Don't talk so much about not affording a Rolex. Any person with average salary with savings, can afford a Rolex.

if you like to stuff worms in your orifice where the sun doesn't shine, then have the balls to name me if you're itching for some choice invectives directed at you.

otherwise, don't look for bones in the egg especially when it doesn't even concern you.

it is stupid and reckless to spend an inordinate amount on luxury goods especially when doing places undue financial strain. that's why you don't see a rolex on every person with average salary with savings. :s8:

TeenTitan01

Oh. So you mean lange manual can and speedy manual is useless?

Lange charge at least 5x more leh.

Based on what you say. 2254 is a more superior watch compared to most lange?
Since 2254 is self winding?

Haha weird eh

apples and oranges.

i feel sad for you.

snowver

What a beauty! :s12:

The CNY weekend is ending too soon....

Here's an old picture of my old Saxonia:

ALS04-1_zpsbefd41da.jpg

cyrenic

apples and oranges.

i feel sad for you.
Guys, I like both the 2254.50 and Speedy Pro and actually a lot of other watches. Every good watch has something going for it, from quartz G Shock to Seiko 5 to Tudor to ALS and PP. Price wise worth it or not, for sure it's supply and demand, and price increases exponentially with quality more often than not. Tbh you have expensive manual winding watches that are not logically worth the money. You also have good dive watches that are arguably infinitely better value than 2254.50, so the arguments will never end. Just enjoy the 1 hour left of the CNY holiday and agree to disagree? :)

bubblemunche

SWEEEEEETTTTTTTT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

:lick: :love: :s12: :D

as a tier 1 collector, what's your take on the potential of ALS overtaking PP in the medium to long term? :)

Firstly, I don't profess to be a tier 1 collector my friend. A seasoned collector once shared this golden piece of advice: "There is no end to high end". There is much truth in his words.

My personal feel is that in terms of technical accomplishment, innovation and finishing, Lange has already exceeded Patek.

However, I don't see Lange overtaking Patek in terms of brand perception or market position in the near future, with the key reason being the latter's unbroken lineage and prestige. That allowed the brand to weather market downturns and perform enviably at auctions when others have floundered. Lange, on the other hand, is still a relatively young brand notwithstanding its resurrection.

The Sterns run a tight ship, displayed uncanny foresight on trends, and makes both conservative and aggressive moves in dictating what the market wants. Like it or not, Patek's grip at the top of the game is strong.

And not forgetting, its iconic and some say cringe-worthy marketing message has been very effective in working its magic.

DXMachina

Guys, I like both the 2254.50 and Speedy Pro and actually a lot of other watches. Every good watch has something going for it, from quartz G Shock to Seiko 5 to Tudor to ALS and PP. Price wise worth it or not, for sure it's supply and demand, and price increases exponentially with quality more often than not. Tbh you have expensive manual winding watches that are not logically worth the money. You also have good dive watches that are arguably infinitely better value than 2254.50, so the arguments will never end. Just enjoy the 1 hour left of the CNY holiday and agree to disagree? :)

Agree with you bro cyrenic. With the advent of smartphones & smartwatches which can potentially perform limitless functions, traditional watches in the contemporary era are by large illogical, or as we deem it, "feel" towards the watches we own.

Disagree with the 1 hour left of CNY holiday cos I have 25 hours left. :D:D:D

TeenTitan01

You're too kind my friend. I am sure there are many other gentlemen with deeper collections at this forum, who simply prefer to remain low profile the same way I did all these years.

Ice Flight, our grand dai kor, is probably reading the recent sagas with amusement. The Big Man's impressive collection simply blows us mortals away.

pure class! #respectgaogao

you definitely deserves your good life!

:) :D :s12:

ever seen anything like my true* story at the casino? =:p

TeenTitan01

Firstly, I don't profess to be a tier 1 collector my friend. A seasoned collector once shared this golden piece of advice: "There is no end to high end". There is much truth in his words.

My personal feel is that in terms of technical accomplishment, innovation and finishing, Lange has already exceeded Patek.

However, I don't see Lange overtaking Patek in terms of brand perception or market position in the near future, with the key reason being the latter's unbroken lineage and prestige. That allowed the brand to weather market downturns and perform enviably at auctions when others have floundered. Lange, on the other hand, is still a relatively young brand notwithstanding its resurrection.

The Sterns run a tight ship, displayed uncanny foresight on trends, and makes both conservative and aggressive moves in dictating what the market wants. Like it or not, Patek's grip at the top of the game is strong.

And not forgetting, its iconic and some say cringe-worthy marketing message has been very effective in working its magic.

well said indeed! :D

though i hope ALS will give PP the fight it needs to stay sharp and not be complacent. watch lovers can only benefit from this rivalry. but not their bank vaults. :s13:

i can't help but think of PP's tagline this way: "we're so effing expensive that you'd better look after it until your next generation (or two) manages to pay it off!" (ducks for cover) =:p

TeenTitan01

AXOqgi9l.jpg

年初二祝大家,一表在手 事事得心应手

Sent from HUAWEI MHA-L29 using GAGT

the perfect balance between a s/steel and all gold sub.

not too bland and not too flashy.

black and gold goes well together. :D

reikizi

ai zhai .. come give you lucky number ......... 2254 .. go buy and HUAT ah !!!

:s12::s12:

Disagree with the 1 hour left of CNY holiday cos I have 25 hours left. :D:D:D

yeah .. oso disagree .. i start work mon leh .. like dat is how many hours left ah ?? :s13: (company close hor .. no touch my leave one)

Not Year of the Dog yet...

next year take the same wrist shot but feed your dog chicken will be swee swee liao

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.