jo6FXQH.jpg

Joining the seiko craze...

first cream dialed GS on here?
Its so tempting.....argh !

TeenTitan01

thanks for the time you took in your reply. my replies in blue. :)

what makes your think people don't thrash their luxury watches?

if knowingly, they're perverse & daft. :s22: otherwise very careless.

it's true, a good tool watch is a g-shock, but rolex/omega watches started off as a tool watch and still ended up as a tool watch, just better looking.

agreed. but the price and status of rolex/omega has moved into luxury a long while ago. ;)
and i doubt g-shock will ever do that. not unless another imaginary ground breaking technology like "quantum mechanics" supplant it like how quartz supplanted bulova's tuning fork tech.

thicker case but it doesn't need the helium valve.
uses 8L35 which is a way more superior movement than ETA.

yep. same approach as orient's saturation diver. thick-arse case = no need HEV.
and desk divers need HEV like they need to shine a torch under broad daylight. absolutely unnecessary.

i own both watches but i don't see the 2254 stands above the mm300.

2254 wasn't value for money when it launched, only till it got discon and preowned pieces come up.

all i can say is your obsession is really amazing.

never said 2254.50 > mm300. mm300 thicker though. and will have to be sent back to japan for any maintenance.
2254 when launched is even cheaper than it's current trading price. the price signal itself is a definitive indication of its rising value, though not as astounding as vintage rolex.
eh, obsession?... just a enthusiastic fan who admires the qualities i stated in my review a while back. haven't reached the stage where i'm willing to be a carrot and shell out $3,800 for a mint complete set with all cards, box, manuals previously listed on carousell. yet.

there's no lume, only tritium. it's decaying which makes it beautiful
all watches that uses tritium and has a nice patina + still working deserved to be call vintage.

not just because of the logo, because it withstands the test of time and it's still working today. which we all love because its mechanical.

it's also a testament that is what makes rolex a rolex today, a omega a omega today.....

anyway, i doubt you will buy a vintage because that's too much that you will complain about it, unless you're looking to invest, then maybe it's time to do your research. whatever i know about vintage is just the very tip of the iceberg.

no complaints, just honest assessment. our 2254.50 is certainly not perfect:
- pin/collar instead of screws for links.
- no micro-adjustment (though half-links are avail)
- the scalloped bezel while "pretty" is impractical. rotating that thing with wet hands is already a chore. forget it with diving gloves.
- the long clasp is a scratch magnet (well, which metal clasp isn't)
my current approach to watch collecting (apart from affordable pieces for fun) is value retention. popular out-of-production watches with steady uptick potential like our 2254.50 is a sure bet. as are vintage rolex. since supply is limited and dwindling due to damage or mistreatment, their rising value is assured, given the herd mentality and general popularity.

so is it a tool watch or a luxury watch or is it a luxury tool watch?

he don't meant that he's a nasa astronaut la, he meant he do treat his watch like a tool watch like the nasa astronaut does.

anything that's luxury = spend big bucks = bucketloads of blood, sweat & tears for the common working class folk like me.
ah sia kias or successful business-types may think nothing of abusing their luxury watches. to me, it's chek ark. those that do that to luxury "tool" watches are the real tools themselves. especially when a g-shock is the more logical option.

please wear your vintages, it has gone thru more crazier times than you.
pls don't baby it.

yes, i've taken to wearing my 2254.50 all the time now after my initial infatuation with my pepsi mako I.
but i'll certainly be more prudent with a vintage rolex that i've sunk tens of thousands of dollars in.

sm300 got wave on the dial meh? got picture?
i never see before.

non sequitur. but wave dial popular enough for c-ward to copy.

tt01, don't kan people la, he quite chill already, just talking to you nicely.
at least he's not proud.

i supported binnie's statement during the gruppo gamma saga. binnie has my respect for speaking up for justice and fairness. because i'm all for integrity, honesty and openess. glad you took it in your stride too.

plus you need to stop telling everyone you're old poor uncle that is not loaded like everyone else in this thread. it's getting abit stale.
Rolex is pretty attainable if you're working full time. just look at the people wearing rolexes.

i am also pretty sure you can buy whatever you want, it's only IF you're willing to spend that kind of money.

haiz... stale yet it's the bitter truth. young chaps like you can afford cos you've still got a good 30 years ahead to accumulate your nest egg. not so for me. i'm not like the more successful gentlemen here who have it better. thus i need to be more prudent. :(

TeenTitan01

amdk will give de..

sinkie se beh cheap stake, SPF tt lanyard also is considered standard issue..must return them if you are no longer in the force -.-

penny-wise, pound-foolish.
kar kia toil the ground. superscale senior officers (eg DAC lu yeo lim) & multi-dollar millionaire minister are totally immune from any accountability. merely shunted aside or given a golden handshake.

bubblemunche

lots of love for some citizen models. their solar and gps tech is way ahead of seiko's. their super accurate movements also very good lah.

but not this one for me - the day/date white background looks too close to another hand. its not the possible confusion - i tune in to the right cues after a while - but its the missed opportunity of making the day/date element a design component.

I agree. Personally, I am a huge fan of Citizen, and favor it over Seiko. Having said that, this particular model does not appeal to me.

mpcdude

Hope everyone had a great CNY. Sharing some pics that I took last week. Have a good week ahead folks!

TeenTitan01

What's up with the personal attacks now? All my previous posts were focused on watches and nothing condescending. If you disagree it's cool, but be mature and keep nasty comments out of this forum.

It's fine to get worked up when ppl diss the watch you love and you wanna stand up and defend it. It's natural :) Sure there are several mil spec seamaster. But all of them had their own in house movement.

If you can say 861 is a downgrade from the 321 and not purist. The same can be said about the 2254 lol. At least the dials are almost identical on the speedy.

Come on la. Keep it mature I'm sure you're better than that.

you lit the fuse by claiming that the 2254.50 pretends to be the big triangle mil-spec seamaster 300.

first up, the 2254.50 never pretended to be a big triangle mil-spec seamaster 300. in fact, it's a subsidiary dial that was nicknamed the "peter blake" released in the midst of the bond seamaster with the skeleton hands which also have its fans. not me though. cutting down on the lume for a diver just doesn't make sense. the sword hands/wave dial versions of the seamaster 300m obviously didn't have the support of omega who discontinued them in 2007, while keeping the bond seamaster. that the 2254.50 has a healthy strong cult following today along with its steady rise in value in the pre-owned market is clearly due in a large part because it echos the strong dna of the mil-spec seamaster 300. on the other hand, the bond seamaster isn't thriving in the pre-owned market. ;)

to reiterate: the 2254.50 never pretended to be the big triangle mil-spec seamaster 300. :)

not so for the speedmaster professional moonwatch.

omega's marketing department kept up the illusion of the current speedy as the watch that went to the moon. it says so at the back of the speedy. but it's NOT. that belong to the speedy with cal 321. not the 861/1861. it's a watch with a pretty dial. i like it. but not as practical as the 2254.50. poorer water resistance. you need to wind it daily or it'll stop mid way and you lose your time. it doesn't even hack. and has a less useful complication: how often do you use a chrono vs a date? you've your answer. and omega has the cheek to charge a premium for the illusion and fantasy that many, unfortunately, are willing to buy into.

i'm all for anyone spending what they like.

but imho, omega could do better to continue equipping the moonwatch with its original calibre c 321 instead of continuing to use the SAME dial and dropping in a cheaper movement just to save cost. they're short-changing the collectors who buy into their fantasy/illusion.

AP RO in black/white never claim to be the original ultra thin jumbo. AP reserved that name for its blue dial only re-issue with the SAME movement cal 2121 as the original. and charged a premium accordingly.

while omega continue to charge a premium on their "moonwatch" which isn't. ;)

TeenTitan01

I agree. Personally, I am a huge fan of Citizen, and favor it over Seiko. Having said that, this particular model does not appeal to me.

cheap citizen dive-style watch can (less than $200 all in with aftermarket blue nato strap)?

tbzt5Vz.jpg

unfortunately, citizen transitioned most of their waters in support of their eco-drive technology.

mechanical/automatic citizens are rare in the wild.

gaoxing84

SWEEEEEETTTTTTTT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

:lick: :love: :s12: :D

as a tier 1 collector, what's your take on the potential of ALS overtaking PP in the medium to long term? :)

This is also manual winding. So for lange to charge so much, is it daft to buy this?
Only got date function and gold.
Cannot go moon. Cannot go water.

How?

TeenTitan01

^ don't want to quote, wot but what's the problem with manual winding?

- i'm lazy
- can be a chore unless you're a gentleman of leisure
- will stop if you forget
- can destroy the movement if it's carelessly overwound
- wears down the winding stem = $

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.