The Watch Thread - Part 12

coern

basket, he can buy his own watches when he is grown up! :s13:

TBH, i think luxury watches are wasted if you aren't made aware of the value by earning the money needed to get them.

Those little fingers seem to be going, "My precious...someday you'll be mine!!" :D

slow_mo

i've worn my Armani Exchange watch when I was with my ex-gf and its simply impossible for anyone/anything to be colder than her :( :sad:

*yes, its a joke :s22:

Did the two on you sleep on the 寒玉床 for added coldness?

*yes, to return a joke :s22

slow_mo

Hehe unlike pwillie jiejie, slow mo gor gor and ed yeo shushu ,

Ran out of nice watches liao, back to my trusty seiko

axwUPv5.jpg

Like that say good meh... I only have a small percentage of what Ed Yeo and chio bu pwillie have. Don't dare to 班门弄斧.

End your end game and start your hoot for a new year. Any one you fancy lately?

babychimz

Like that say good meh... I only have a small percentage of what Ed Yeo and chio bu pwillie have. Don't dare to 班门弄斧.

Don't worry about ayuready... he got lots of watches lined up liao! Consperm see 1 or 2 new watches by end Q1 2017!

MrSenG

light scuff or deep etch? will cap cod cloth help?

Une5YWI.jpg

tumblr_mr41h7t2DF1r47g91o1_500.gif

if there's a market for handphone protectors for phones that last barely 2 yrs for the owner, is there a market for luxury watch protectors?

food for thought... :D

Personally, I feel there's no need, as long as a watch is worn, no matter how much wrist awareness, scratches and 'dings' are bound to happen. As shared by cyrenic, others' actions can also cause it to happen.

AyuReady

Wa....

U see me too up.

But today not buying new watch is sending an old friend away. Almost bnib condition but really can't keep so many dress watches hehe need to raise fund for something else

5j2Qeuo.jpg

N5X5Fo1.jpg

Don't worry about ayuready... he got lots of watches lined up liao! Consperm see 1 or 2 new watches by end Q1 2017!

AyuReady

Still hope to see ur show hand one day!

不要那麼講咧。。。我的十五春花都是花將近二十年的時間搜集來的。你還有時間慢慢找,慢慢挑,慢慢集,我年過42,就要開始節制了。。。

買錶不必買貴,最重要是買可靠,買耐用,買信譽就好。至於保不保值,升不升值,跌不跌值,不應該是買錶的主要考量。因為買錶的主要,只是為了報時。買多過兩隻就只為紀念某個日子。。。

AyuReady

Took fancy to some dressier watches hehe

Share when it is realized haha no point hehe

cyrenic

Personally, I feel there's no need, as long as a watch is worn, no matter how much wrist awareness, scratches and 'dings' are bound to happen. As shared by cyrenic, others' actions can also cause it to happen.

Well, the other thing is that... How much can you protect a watch before it stops looking like how it designed, which is I guess the main reason most people buy luxury watches?

Just look at all the contraptions that protect the Apple Watch.. I mean it wasn't that great looking to begin with, but after all the protection it positively looks comical.

TeenTitan01

lol the film ones not mine. i wouldn't know. i do have a film rangefinder and load it with cheap expired film for fun.

i'm just dipping my toes into the game and its a lot like collecting vintage rolex. case in point - there was a body there that was valued more highly because it was a unique model with factory leica paint finishing. and it could've fetched MUCH MORE if it were not factory refurbished.

That said Leica's gone down digital... but watches have held their own with mechanicals.

bro a562140, having dipped mine before in cameras, it can be an all-consuming passion if you've been poisoned! and the lenses! man, they can cost MORE than the bodies!! :eek: and that's before miscellaneous gear like dry cabinets, camera bags (billinghams is sweet), tripods (gitzo carbon fibre for the loaded), heads (arca swiss/really right stuff), or just settle with the "cheaper" but still quality made-in-china sirui), RF triggered flash guns (pocket wizards), filters, light box/reflectors if you're into studio/portrait/product photog, motorized rail for focus stacking to capture macro detail, etc, etc... can really sink in all your time+energy+money!! :eek: ok i'll stop before i go off topic. but one last comment before i end: film photogs are even more HARDCORE. they hoard & freeze oop film stock! man!! :eek:

ps. sold it all to escape the madness. may resume in the future. see how first.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.