The Watch Thread - Part 12

nexusRAGER

My advice is not to buy the cheapest entry level watch but aiming for the watch that you want. Otherwise you will be spending more in the long term, selling, buying..etc

I hope you didn't buy because if the brand!

haha, i been looking at IWC watches their design really catch my eyes, but abit too pricy for now :(

TeenTitan01

just curious, what kind of money would people be willing to pay to have a 7S swapped out for a 4R in your seikos to make it hackable and windable, assuming the movement is provided as well? $200? $500?

like i said previously, the 7s26 is too long in the tooth liao.

high time for the skx 007/009 series to upgrade to the 4r36 movement! for crying out loud, even the gen II seiko monsters had it for years already.

even some cheaper seiko 5 watches are equipped with the 4r36! :(

TeenTitan01

Yeah. The centre links on the BLNR kind of throw me off.

So basically, I sold/gave away everything except for the Calatrava; and I have the intention to put it away for an extended period of time. Been trying to rebuild with "smaller" pieces that I can rotate regularly.

At this point I have the :

1)114060
2)FOIS (got rid of the Pro *gasp*)
3)114720

There's a Bvlgari Diagono Chrono from when I was young and thought I could be Iron Man but it's going to be something I keep for sentimental reasons.

Been thinking about replacing the 114720 with the 214720; or just getting the 114300.

Bleh. Decisions.

back to basics?

TeenTitan01

these sentence jin familiar :s13: just kena few months back during meet up :s22:

Buyer: (frustrated tone) wah .. your watch got scratches , wasted my time. also need polish, deduct another $150 or no deal
Me : ok, no deal ..bye
B: (very courteous) no lah , I'm really sincere .. need to polish off, deduct $100 ok ?? *pass me the money less $100*
M: no, its ok. I prefer to keep it.
B: less $80 ? $60 ? $ 40 ... until back to promised price.
M: its ok lah, no deal (at original agree price) .. dun waste my time
B: start to tell me how he like the watch and he student, just started collecting ..... blah blah blah :s13:

in the end deal at agree price and he shoot me 1 question
B: infuture the watch got problem , I look for you ah
M: you think I shop ah ?? still under warranty lah .. .. u know what is warranty bo .... lai lai.. give me back.. your money here .... (er.. actually pepper with vulgarities) he then apologise and left ...

really first time kena such a person, I must go take flower and bath liao :s13:
thumbs up for bro reikizi! :D

TeenTitan01

I also like modern pieces and will like to hand over my own aged vintage to my kids next time.

Even if lume won't have patina but I never know how to appreciate them haha

Lucky ah vintage is expensive game

patina from aged tritium.

not sure if luminova/superluminova/lumbrite will ever acquire any "patina"?

TeenTitan01

A similar looking Hamilton Basel 2017 LE release

hamilton-chronograph-gear-patrol-full-lead.jpg

the hamilton chrono-matic?

AyuReady

Dun think will and in my own view, vintage is not defined just by lume or patina.

Any good 30 years old watch being passed down will come with its own share or story which the owner can share with their children and can be passed by word of mouth haha

patina from aged tritium.

not sure if luminova/superluminova/lumbrite will ever acquire any "patina"?

Ks1991

Hi all experts and passion watch lovers here... Can I request for some advice and recommendation where should I purchase seiko marinemaster from and how much approx will it be?

To add in the fact that I will be travelling to Thailand frequently so should I purchase from Thailand??

If Thailand then where is recommended?

furryballs

Hi all experts and passion watch lovers here... Can I request for some advice and recommendation where should I purchase seiko marinemaster from and how much approx will it be?

To add in the fact that I will be travelling to Thailand frequently so should I purchase from Thailand??

Preowned you interested? Selling all my watches to pay gx84 for the 1680

arc13

Which specific model

runningman.snsd

If wanna buy brand new Tudor black bay or pelagos

Can recommend shop?

Grey set is fine as long brand new from a reputable shop.

Thankss

minnychan17

Daniel Wellington

Hi guys and gals, just to check with yall. I wanted to buy DW watches for the longest time, but i just heard from my friend that their mechanics is not really worth the money. Is it true? Should i still get it?

Any recommendations of good classic watches for women that is under $250?

Thanks!!

Ga Li Kong

Hi guys and gals, just to check with yall. I wanted to buy DW watches for the longest time, but i just heard from my friend that their mechanics is not really worth the money. Is it true? Should i still get it?

Any recommendations of good classic watches for women that is under $250?

Thanks!!
You can try going for the Orient bambino. It's below 200. And please do not go for dw similar watches (ie rosefield, thefifth, kapten & son)

gOWXFEpl.jpg

Twk97Icl.jpg

Sent from LGE LG-H815 using GAGT

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.