The Watch Thread - Part 12

snowver

Self healing movement? Haha 50 year service interval! :D

They can change the materials they use. Self healing metal and crystal? A watch that will not be affected by magnetism at all? Lume that glows without charge?

Just saying... don't ask me how!

snowver

Agreed. Can't believe they will keep the watch unchanged for 50 years. Even for a brand like rolex.

The sub will continue to evolve in the next 50 years. Desirability will rise when each iteration ends production. I share the same sentiment as all in a day.

snowver

Thats what I think also. Vintage is a term for age. Not the looks or how it ages.

Vintage is just age definition.
Even LED or quartz watches can be vintages
How old before it becomes a vintage is the question...

gaoxing84

Self healing movement? Haha 50 year service interval! :D

Probably going to charge a bomb for that kind of tech lol
They have to factor in you not coming in for servicing
But then again. Hardly anyone service their rolex or rather don't know need to service.
Lol workhorse movement.

Ed.YEO

Thats what I think also. Vintage is a term for age. Not the looks or how it ages.
我从估狗翻译了解,vintage是"陈年"的意思。
一隻錶是否會增值,不止取决于品牌,年历,保养,工质,复杂性,产量,市面流通量。。。等等等。。。都會影响一隻錶在未来的价值。
但,一般上我们只将价值放在金钱上,而往往忽略"情感"的真正价值。

可惜呀可惜,可怜呀可怜,大家申指能算,能叫出的几个大品牌也就利用消费者最弱的价值,金钱价值,来向众人强调品牌的金钱价值,其他方面的价值也就变得不重要了。。。

MrSenG

说得好, 太多人常常忽略了"情感"的价值, 是金钱买不到.

我从估狗翻译了解,vintage是"陈年"的意思。
一隻錶是否會增值,不止取决于品牌,年历,保养,工质,复杂性,产量,市面流通量。。。等等等。。。都會影响一隻錶在未来的价值。
但,一般上我们只将价值放在金钱上,而往往忽略"情感"的真正价值。

可惜呀可惜,可怜呀可怜,大家申指能算,能叫出的几个大品牌也就利用消费者最弱的价值,金钱价值,来向众人强调品牌的金钱价值,其他方面的价值也就变得不重要了。。。

sleepyman

yeap, with that being said, say a 114060, it will look the same after the next 50 years (since there's nothing that can be done to upgrade the contemporary style or functionality on a cosmetic level, i would love to hear more if there is), how can a 2017 sub be different from a 2067 sub? the only difference being a 2017 with a more beat up case and 2067 a new shiny brand new case. as far as i know superluminova is made to be functionality far more superior than tritium and it's not supposed or made to age.

why is a vintage rolex (say submariner) so expensive and sought after is because of the years of evolution, every few years or even different country have different variation.
from the uber old big crown, to ones with crown guard, to chronometer and without chronometer, from normal date to quick set date. from radium to tritium, from plexiglass to sapphire, from 100m, to 200m, then 300m.
basically after many years, no 1 piece of those old rolexes look identical even thought coming from the same factory.
its not because its well documented that makes it sought after.
those rich, play modern till sian, up game till boring, what makes the game exciting again? why not look for old stuff? maybe the first few rolexes made by rolex? then it starts to build into a huge market that it is today.
everyone, if possible, will want a vintage (of any kind) in their collection (to proudly say, hey i am a god damn serious collector)
vintage rolex, omega, patek, the dirty dozen, etc.

50 years from now, i will be in my early 80s. hope i can live to that day, come back here post and say, told ya. LOL

Wah GX bro seems like u kena poisoned big time by the vintage bug!

Like you mentioned, unfortunately or fortunately, current models with ceramic bezel, SL dials will never age the same as those from the 1950s-70s. Too bad.

Also, only few are educated and patient enough to discover a nicely curated piece given the haphazard market today where frankenstein monsters lurk. Most will rather pluck their timepiece off a shop window for a no-brainer, play it safe purchase.

Mandatory wrist shot with a potato camera.

gaoxing84

Wah GX bro seems like u kena poisoned big time by the vintage bug!

Like you mentioned, unfortunately or fortunately, current models with ceramic bezel, SL dials will never age the same as those from the 1950s-70s. Too bad.

Also, only few are educated and patient enough to discover a nicely curated piece given the haphazard market today where frankenstein monsters lurk. Most will rather pluck their timepiece off a shop window for a no-brainer, play it safe purchase.

Mandatory wrist shot with a potato camera.

[IG]http://i284.photobucket.com/albums/ll20/ultinoob/20170306_201317_zpsskvptmii.jpg[/IMG]

best is have both. lol

but the vintage market is going crazy. damn hyped up

Panerex

You all think rolex hulk is worth a buy and keep?

Maybe it will be another Kermit?

pwillie

whats your intention for buying?
rolex sports models are already the best in value retention..
waiting for it to appreciate is anyone's guess.. i rather buy gold for investment
worse is buy liao don't wear :s22:

babychimz

Bros who PMed me and were interested in the Zelos Visionary! Please check your inbox! Got us a pretty decent deal! :s12:

Ed.YEO

whats your intention for buying?
rolex sports models are already the best in value retention..
waiting for it to appreciate is anyone's guess.. i rather buy gold for investment
worse is buy liao don't wear :s22:
记得买个大鱼缸,再放几只大青蛙进去,再将你的"可米青蛙"摆在正中间,更加符合主题。

cyrenic

Buy if you like, don't buy if you don't like. It's not as if you're opening watch shop and doing it for business.

But more importantly, buy already better don't look down on others and make funny posts that reflect that you think you're somehow superior because of what you have. Often, when you think you're at the top in your mind, there's always a higher peak even by your measure.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.