The Watch Thread - Part 13

rachdanon

Need a watch box to get organised. Currently watches are all laid next to each other in a box with a big lid.... Those on Carousell can't tell from pictures what they are really like, dont know if can fit a 47mm PAM, whether can fit rubber strap with deployant (where size is fixed)....how ah, any brick & motar shop to browse? Don't want branded and target below $100.

yattokame

Need a watch box to get organised. Currently watches are all laid next to each other in a box with a big lid.... Those on Carousell can't tell from pictures what they are really like, dont know if can fit a 47mm PAM, whether can fit rubber strap with deployant (where size is fixed)....how ah, any brick & motar shop to browse? Don't want branded and target below $100.

hard to fit the 305 in a normal watch box. I used to always leave it around or let it run in the winder.

TeenTitan01

mission accomplished: finally scored my coveted and elusive omega seamaster professional chronometer ref 2255.80 "electric blue" to complete my omega smp trilogy!!!

SLFwFH4.jpg

:D

achievement unlocked:

UrmyhMX.jpg
:s12:

Eu7X9An.jpg

XbUwuBI.jpg
all 3 full box sets are in near mint condition with:
- outer & inner boxes,
- omega manual,
- 6 slot card case,
- international warranty card,
- chronometer certificate card, and
- pictogram card each.

i'm stoked and very pleased!!!

indigo22

mission accomplished: finally scored my coveted and elusive omega seamaster professional chronometer ref 2255.80 "electric blue" to complete my omega smp trilogy!!!
SLFwFH4.jpg

achievement unlocked:

UrmyhMX.jpg

Eu7X9An.jpg

XbUwuBI.jpg
- outer & inner boxes,
- omega manual,
- 6 slot card case,
- pictogram card each.

gxgx, can give us a treat mah? seems like u tio 4D leh...

so now u have 3 omegas, 2 rolex explorers?

rachdanon

hard to fit the 305 in a normal watch box. I used to always leave it around or let it run in the winder.

Seems there are some XL ones out there.....I'll hafta look around. My winder is a white elephant because my wife's watches are under used so let them stop, and I don't need a winder.

TeenTitan01

gxgx, can give us a treat mah? seems like u tio 4D leh...

so now u have 3 omegas, 2 rolex explorers?

no bro. all hard-earned blood, sweat & tears money! :( which is fast disappearing! :eek:

watch-banking/speculating: stocking up on full box set watches which i hope will gain value in the future.

some things i learned from this expensive hobby are to have:
- plenty of patience,
- knowledge on your targeted choice pieces and their price trends and current market value,
- ready funds, decisiveness and guts to pull the trigger when a suitable target is sighted.
- effort and luck in unearthing hidden treasures.

reikizi

SLFwFH4.jpg

achievement unlocked:

UrmyhMX.jpg

Eu7X9An.jpg

XbUwuBI.jpg

- outer & inner boxes,
- omega manual,
- 6 slot card case,
- pictogram card each.

Kong Hee !!! Kong Hee !!! :s12:

TT01 jin satki !!

giphy.gif

pwillie

http://i.imgur.com/SLFwFH4.jpg[/IMG

achievement unlocked:

[SPOILER][IMG]http://i.imgur.com/UrmyhMX.jpg[/IMG[/SPOILER]

[SPOILER][IMG]http://i.imgur.com/Eu7X9An.jpg[/IMG[/SPOILER]

[SPOILER][IMG]http://i.imgur.com/XbUwuBI.jpg[/IMG[/SPOILER]
[SPOILER]all 3 full box sets are in near mint condition with:
- outer & inner boxes,
- omega manual,
- 6 slot card case,
- pictogram card each.

i'm stoked and very pleased!!![/SPOILER][/QUOTE]

Ed Yeo #2 :eek:

yattokame

no bro. all hard-earned blood, sweat & tears money! :( which is fast disappearing! :eek:

watch-banking/speculating: stocking up on full box set watches which i hope will gain value in the future.

some things i learned from this expensive hobby are to have:
- plenty of patience,
- knowledge on your targeted choice pieces and their price trends and current market value,
- ready funds, decisiveness and guts to pull the trigger when a suitable target is sighted.
- effort and luck in unearthing hidden treasures.

can't agree more
the way I waited for the chronoswiss opus. freaking 12 long years. missed out on 3/4 chances. finally one came below market value and I snapped it up within an hour of the posting. Seller was pleasantly surprised.

what's your address? we would like to rob you.
at least I asked nicely.

Ed.YEO

SLFwFH4.jpg

achievement unlocked:

UrmyhMX.jpg

Eu7X9An.jpg

XbUwuBI.jpg
- outer & inner boxes,
- omega manual,
- 6 slot card case,
- pictogram card each.

(潮)好勢了啦!乌白企一边,阿蓝企正中!!!

TeenTitan01

Ed Yeo #2 :eek:

bro pwillie, i'm currently looking for a full set P, K or Y series, lug holes case, SELs 16610 black dial, sub date (with the silver anchor as well, please!) to team up with my 40mm polar explorer II to form a pair of 黑白无常, but i'm not at his level yet. bro Ed.YEO easily has 4,5 of the same watch in different styles & colours for each series.

my limit is 3:
- 2254.50 black omega smp, 2538.20 white omega GMT, 2255.80 electric blue omega smp.
- 16610 black dial sub date, 16570 polar exp II, perhaps the 116622 cobalt blue YM if i want my rolex collection to match my omega trilogy (but then it's the wrong vintage/era... arrrrggghhh. ocd problems. :()
- dreaming of a trilogy of pepsi, coke and black bezel GMT Master IIs.

slow_mo

TT01, once you start the buying... you can't stop!!!

GXGX!

I'm still at 0 hoot for 2017!

machocheng

I recently saw a sale ad of a new watch on the website of a pretty reputable 2nd hand watch shop. Based on initial query on the date of purchase, the response was that it will be based on my actual date of purchase from the shop. But my question is, the shop must have bought the watch from somewhere in the first place right, even though it's a new watch? So why wasn't there a date of purchase on the cert? Sorry, I'm quite a noob here as I've never purchased from a 2nd hand shop before so may sound a bit kiasi prior to making the purchase. Does this sound legit? Can anyone help me out here?

Thanx so much.

delrosa81

I been lurking from time to time and Im quite the iwc fan. Just collected this 55mm monster today.

B2N8wxK.jpg

DXMachina

SLFwFH4.jpg

achievement unlocked:

UrmyhMX.jpg

Eu7X9An.jpg

XbUwuBI.jpg
- outer & inner boxes,
- omega manual,
- 6 slot card case,
- pictogram card each.

Gxgx TT01 bro!! Very nice collection you're amassing there. You're on a rollllll!!!!

TeenTitan01

Gxgx TT01 bro!! Very nice collection you're amassing there. You're on a rollllll!!!!

thanks, fitzai bro DXMachina! trying my best to curate a decent, respectable & value-retaining collection with the limited funds i have.

not keen on brand new watches at the ADs cos i'm reluctant to take the depreciation hit as the 1st owner. i can't afford to play vintage, so focus on watches that's been oop for 10 yrs - old enough to be eclipsed by newer models (and thus less sought after), yet not so scarce, vintage nor desirable enough to command high prices at the moment. i'll just wait another 20 yrs for them to "ripen/mature" into bona fide vintage and then (hopefully) harvest a decent return. :D

anyway, i tried on the non-ceramic bezel SD and sub date today. the thickness and heavier weight of the SD can be felt on wrist compared to the sub date. was quoted $8k+ for a D series SD with cert. haven't done any in-depth research on the subs and SD as yet. so is the price worth buying? also when did the SD bracelet stop featuring hollow center links? (iirc, SD all along feature SELs, right?)

freedomfate

Check out werenbach AG. a kickstarter brand with ambitious ambition for watch. Every dial within the watch is a piece of a rocket directly cut out and imprinted. Sounds cool to own a piece of space as a form of watch.

P.S I bought a seiko presage SPR765J2 found it to look really pretty and classy. Figure my next watch will be a Swiss one soon since I jumped from typical DW and EDIFICE quartz to basic auto, Guess I will have a watch collection in the future when I am older like 25 years old...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.