j75FQxdl.jpg

Love the clean look!

Sent from Xiaomi MI MAX using GAGT

cyrenic

Actually not true leh. RM don't require research. Buy and go.
Ppl buy vintage requires knowledge and research.
Which makes it more fun.
Sometimes it's not just about money.
It's finding something others can't find.

That kind of thing intangibles.

Talking about price only la bro...

You also know what I think about RM.. Never going to wear a HDB flat on my wrist!

cyrenic

Just something for different lor.
And it still works after so many years.
Maybe that's what draw them to it.

Yar, I'm not saying that vintage is silly, just that I can't understand, and my logic is presented, that's all.

Because I cringed when I saw that dial. :s22: Clearly not drawn to it, not my cup of tea. Different folks different strokes. Some people like modern, some people like vintage. We all have our reasons. :)

chows99

I must say I really don't get vintage. It's like paying more money for old things that don't work as well and are a huge hassle to maintain. If it's a family heirloom, fine. But it's someone else's story so the sense of history claimed is as faux as faux vintage lume. Maybe I can understand iconic models, that did firsts in whatever field they broke into, ok then you are respecting the history or lineage. This goes for bags, cars etc, not just watches.

Just a random thought. But that's just me la. Not trying to shove my opinion down someone else's throat by making the point repeatedly.

Vintage watches is like antique. Its the appeal of the storied heritage and how a mechanical product still work well after so many years has passed i.e. the test of time.

And every vintage watch develops its own unique character, with different type of patina and degree. Alas, its not for everyone. Just buy what you like.

For me, i am more into neo-vintage which has a nice balance of modern features such as WG surrounds with tritium dial which can have patina over time.

chows99

Wow bro.. you are sharp!
Gloss-Gilt CR 1016
Gilt hands and tropical dial
Something that few can understand...

Its serial is 901xxx circa 1963..
Case is still amazing without rust nor pitting over 54 years!
Dial is aged, but still glossy.

"New" love!

Congrats and may you wear the watch in good health! Always learning everyday about vintage and still trying to get to grasps with terms like gilt. My mid term goal is to get a birth year 5513. Hope it can happen before price goes irrational again!

Thai_Rak_Thai

I must say I really don't get vintage. It's like paying more money for old things that don't work as well and are a huge hassle to maintain. If it's a family heirloom, fine. But it's someone else's story so the sense of history claimed is as faux as faux vintage lume. Maybe I can understand iconic models, that did firsts in whatever field they broke into, ok then you are respecting the history or lineage. This goes for bags, cars etc, not just watches.

Just a random thought. But that's just me la. Not trying to shove my opinion down someone else's throat by making the point repeatedly.

Me too not a fan of vintage watches. But vintage women. Old is gold

cyrenic

Vintage watches is like antique. Its the appeal of the storied heritage and how a mechanical product still work well after so many years has passed i.e. the test of time.

And every vintage watch develops its own unique character, with different type of patina and degree. Alas, its not for everyone. Just buy what you like.

For me, i am more into neo-vintage which has a nice balance of modern features such as WG surrounds with tritium dial which can have patina over time.

I see, thanks for explaining the allure for you, because I couldn't quite rationalise it for myself.

You're right, it's not for everyone. Maybe I'm over-practical, some people see the "aged" tritium as a huge plus, while I'm just thinking "aiyo, but doesn't really glow anymore right".. Haha.

Anyways, glad that everyone is exchanging views in a mature way! :)

indigo22

E
Anyway I hope they have it stock in Bangkok/singapore and they don't force me to buy in bundles

next time, you guys just bring your significant other along with you to watch shop...

say u wan buy ladies watch for them..pick something they like....

den u partner with the salesman (bro code...), say ahya, u wan buy for ur wife the watch de, but to buy at tt price, u need buy a patek as bundle...

den ahya, no choice la, u sacrifice urself to make sure she likes that watch...so u get to buy the patek also...

gaoxing84

Congrats and may you wear the watch in good health! Always learning everyday about vintage and still trying to get to grasps with terms like gilt. My mid term goal is to get a birth year 5513. Hope it can happen before price goes irrational again!

Bro. Glit dial alr gg liao. No 20-30k no talk.

gaoxing84

E imac at least had a following before. I don't think the 24 series appeals to anyone even before. It just looks awkward.

Anyway I hope they have it stock in Bangkok/singapore and they don't force me to buy in bundles
OK that's ugly as hell hahahahah

sleepyman

This got redial before? The numerals look a bit ****.

Hey bro, good that you pointed out.. so we can share and learn together!

I couldnt get better pics.. but it seems to be aging around the numerals that can be seen under a loupe.
Did a check on the lume as well looks period correct.

Its sad that this guy sold his father's watch due to his father's passing... it pains him to see the watch.. and he feels he is too big size (abt 1.9M tall ang mo) to wear a 36mm...

Story aside. I have been looking for a nice, correct and reasonably priced 1016 gilt CR. Seems too rare locally and too expensive overseas. And i always had a "fetish" for tropical dial.
So,its like a little dream fulfilled here!

Dunno why.. I cant be too happy walking into a shop and browsing catalogues.. cuz prob i have that EXPLORER in me!

sleepyman

Thanks too! Wasnt a hard decision on this one!
But its not easy to find a (reasonable)5513 nowadays..
PM me your contact?
We can always share pointers :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.