The Watch Thread - Part 3

Spartanz.

Sinn had practically destroyed the u1 series, making it a fashion watch imo.

Orange dial la, white dial lah, yellow dial lah, tempest LE lah, and the list goes on.

ok lah..

i think the most common luxury watch

rolex sub

panaeri

i have yet to see a sinn u1 in the streets

satch

Orange dial la, white dial lah, yellow dial lah, tempest LE lah, and the list goes on.
Yeah that's true. There's one I like though... the 47mm THG ultimate U edition.

yohzzz

Anyone know where I can get Orient CFM00004W in singapore?
Was thinking whether to get Orient CFM00004W or Arbutus AR508 SWF. I understand that Arbutus was chinese movement. But is that really that bad?

satch

where is the best place to buy watch? online? or is there any particular place in Sg where they generally offer cheaper prices? Mustafa?
Most swiss watches are cheaper in europe. Online prices are also good.

satch

Anyone know where I can get Orient CFM00004W in singapore?
Was thinking whether to get Orient CFM00004W or Arbutus AR508 SWF. I understand that Arbutus was chinese movement. But is that really that bad?
I will suggest u get the orient over the arbutus which is really a fashion watch and has zero street credibility.

yohzzz

I will suggest u get the orient over the arbutus which is really a fashion watch and has zero street credibility.

Noted, Any where I can get Orient in SG? I don remember seeing this brand quite often in watch shop..

xsoldix

saw one seiko series 5 de watch .

40% discount , ~ $400

wat bros here think of seiko series 5 watches? got better alternatives ?

chows99

Not true lo. Based on ur logic, AP has also "destroyed" its Oak series with the Panda, Volcano, Alinghi, etc. You have a rather narrow opinion I must say

engtat7

getting a tissot visodate

where can i get a tissot visodate for reasonable pricing for in singapore?

KohChris

Cos sinn and br is a toolwatch maker.

AP is not leh.

AP and some brands seems to be milking limited editions for what its worth.

Limited editions are purposeful watches made to be exclusive to a certain few. nowadays, watch retail seems to convey the message that if you have the money, a limited edition watch is yours.

Anyone can get a limited edition product as long as he or she has the cash. A limited edition watch doesnt count for any meaning today, except for a stupid carrothead.

Some AP owners walk around like they own the whole world, but they are showing off their stupidity for paying 20k for what is a average finished stainless steel watch

KohChris

This looks like a 1-2k watch at most

appanda15.jpg

KohChris

as people become smarter and wealthier, sooner or later, what you wear is no longer a symbol of wealth, but a symbol of your substance.

AP = rich but dumb carrot head.
U-Boat = kena conned big time and someone who is not familiar with watches
Rolex = show off, no decisive action to choose his or her watch, a crowd follower

cichlid

Noted, Any where I can get Orient in SG? I don remember seeing this brand quite often in watch shop..

For the most numbers of Orient models you can see in a single shop, go to Big Time at 483 Sims Avenue, Singapore S(387555). They are the Official Distributor/Service Centre for Orient Watch.

yamcancook

As a young poisoned newb, my next watch hoots in the upcoming months..

1. Birthday present for myself next year - seiko monster, still choosing between the various types like new. old colour etc. Most likely would get one to alternate with my orient bambino.

2. Upon graduation from my university in 2014 - Tissot visodate

3. On another consideration list.. stowa flieger as the graduation piece instead.

still a couple more. saving up more funds as i started on my first job few months back.

for me, i felt that it was more of a milestone to own each individual piece, and there's like a story for each watch, another reason for increasing their wrist-time.

e.g. The orient bambino was my first automatic i bought when i got my first job. Then slowly, promotion, graduation etc, another one.

KohChris

i rather you save up the cash instead. You will have new dreams to live out, and better watches to buy.

A visodate as an future aspirational piece is ridiculous. As a graduate, you should aim for better stuffs in life than the visodate but within reasonable limits. Visodate current price is less than $7xx and it will be overpriced then. It will probably be superceded by Seiko Premier or Hamilton.

If you do love watches, you will logically go for higher quality stuffs. Higher quality products costs $$.

Just like listening to music, you will go for higher quality speakers. Thats what we call a music aficionado.

No point buying 5-6 $20 speakers and thinking that you are enjoying your music. Yes, there are people who are like these but i hope you are not one of them because it doesnt add any value to your life.

I am someone who will spend 3xx on speakers and get good quality sound. Rather than to have many speakers but not enjoy them all.

If i may, there are many people around who collect alot of those 200-300 dollar seiko watches. Absolutely pointless in life.

The best way for a normal person with normal salary is to consolidate, determine what beater, what weekend, what holy grail, what spare watch etc.

All of different values and of different purposes.

This is harsh but i mean well. Cheers :)

Tissot-Visodate-vs-Bambino.jpg

No offense, but the bambino clearly looks outclassed in terms of looks as compared to the visodate

exxondus

Not true lo. Based on ur logic, AP has also "destroyed" its Oak series with the Panda, Volcano, Alinghi, etc. You have a rather narrow opinion I must say

Issueis, sinn prided or mayb used to pride themselves as tool watch makers but due to the popularity and success of their U1s they started to milk it to e point that there is probably no control now.

Its packaging in the industry. I dun say my watch is atool watch and then offer lots of colors like toywatch. can u imagine dashboards on planes or submariners coming in multi colors?

In the other hand, if sinn did not use tool as the appeal, then its a different story aka ur AP oaks.

Anyway, isnt the refusal to accept other people's right to comment or right to think the way that want considered narrow instead? The world is bigger than ur own opinion u know :D. U are free to thnk otherwise

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.