The Watch Thread - Part 3

patryn33

Anyway, I prefer to get a watch from a local AD as its my first watch and in case anything happens, at least I can send the watch to the AD.

Not really digging the designs from Louis Erard though. But frankly, albeit the price, any opinions on Oris for a first watch? :) looking at BC3 or BC4 Second Pointer day.

If they have a service center here, AD just want u to bring it in yourself.
Swatch service isn't good I heard if u wear a cheapo brand like a Hamilton.
Oris service center was JW watch watch they only open 2-3 days a week, today don't know who. If still JW watch visiting them can be painful.

Oris watch is ok, eta or sw work horse no worries.

online retailer any problem just email to get RMA go post office to ship. With brands such as CW they reimbursed your shipping cost and if u don't like u can return watch for full refund in 60 days. 5 yr warranty longer than most brands. For me better service than Oris.

JW watch service is so so, replace rubber gasket on crown, Oris charge $120 to do that. If u wear to swim u may want to consider that.

Design that's subjective. Have u look at mido? Frederique constant?

kenkaw

Was looking for an automatic watch that is somewhat classical in design and suitable for work wear (clean hands and markers, no rotating bezels) but which exuded a modern vibe (larger dial, unconventional features), and also practical and value for money (date window, swiss made but not costing an arm and a leg, easy access to service centre).

Got the Tissot Luxury Automatic (the Powermatic 80) and it ticks the right checkboxes !

What's interesting with the Powermatic 80 is the level of detailing on the dial and case (chamfered edges, interplay of matte and shiny surfaces, raised surfaces, patterned case etc). When put together, they give the look of a finely crafted watch that still looked modern enough that it wouldn't pass as having been worn by your grandfather :D. It's amazing seeing different parts of the dial and markers glisten when you tilt the watch at different angles.

The 80 hour power reserve is a bonus although it means that the second hand does not move as smoothly as other high-end automatics. It also doesn't cost too much, about S$1000 (and slightly more for the chronometer version).

I got the chronometer version with a black leather strap and black dial (same as the pic below taken off the web). Main downside so far is that the sapphire crystal is a dirt/fingerprint magnet, I'm guessing due to the anti-reflective coating and the black colour of the dial. But I can live with that :).

tpmmark

thanks for the review bro. this tissot is one im looking at too. price reasonable and great movement. cant believe the visodate only cost slightly less. do show some actual wrist shots too as o n ly concern is its too dressy for causual wear.

brightside

If they have a service center here, AD just want u to bring it in yourself.
Swatch service isn't good I heard if u wear a cheapo brand like a Hamilton.
Oris service center was JW watch watch they only open 2-3 days a week, today don't know who. If still JW watch visiting them can be painful.

Oris watch is ok, eta or sw work horse no worries.

online retailer any problem just email to get RMA go post office to ship. With brands such as CW they reimbursed your shipping cost and if u don't like u can return watch for full refund in 60 days. 5 yr warranty longer than most brands. For me better service than Oris.

JW watch service is so so, replace rubber gasket on crown, Oris charge $120 to do that. If u wear to swim u may want to consider that.

Design that's subjective. Have u look at mido? Frederique constant?

Hey bro, thanks for the recommendation! Whats CW? Sorry quite noob here!

Lord_Kang

You mean mine??

I play cheat, use hp flash to power it up then snap picture.. :s13:

But mine the lume like not evenly spread out. The minute hand looks like having some black patches in the middle part. No matter how long i use the torchlight to shine also the same..

Duno u all can see from the photo. Is that considered a defect??

30bjiux.jpg

dreamer_toons

Collected the Sinn 556A yesterday and its my first mechanical watch. I have no experience about mechanical watch since I have been wearing a kinetic watch or a g shock.

The salesman advised me to give the watch about 25 winds if it stops; is it possible to 'over wind' the watch or is there some resistance to indicate that the watch is near to the max winding? I forgot to ask during the collection.

Reason being when I was a child, I often took my mum watch and wind it for fun, and often I couldn't wind it after some time due to the resistance. It was an old watch then and I was too young even know the brand of it.

flame2000

Collected the Sinn 556A yesterday and its my first mechanical watch. I have no experience about mechanical watch since I have been wearing a kinetic watch or a g shock.

The salesman advised me to give the watch about 25 winds if it stops; is it possible to 'over wind' the watch or is there some resistance to indicate that the watch is near to the max winding? I forgot to ask during the collection.

Reason being when I was a child, I often took my mum watch and wind it for fun, and often I couldn't wind it after some time due to the resistance. It was an old watch then and I was too young even know the brand of it.

Since the Sinn is an automatic watch, I say just give it a few wind. When u notice its moving, just strap to ur wrist. The rotor will wind it for u. My understanding is excessive winding is bad since its not a manual HW watch. But you can't over-wind an automatic since there is a slipping clutch to prevent over-winding, yet you can over-wind a manual watch. :D

taeception

Sian deciding between cw malvern c5, tisdot visodate or prs516 ugh.. sibei hard choice sia. Will it be suitable for moi age? Moi haben 20.. :/ or im better off wif something else. Less than $800..

dreamer_toons

Since the Sinn is an automatic watch, I say just give it a few wind. When u notice its moving, just strap to ur wrist. The rotor will wind it for u. My understanding is excessive winding is bad since its not a manual HW watch. But you can't over-wind an automatic since there is a slipping clutch to prevent over-winding, yet you can over-wind a manual watch. :D

Thanks for the reply.

Eon Rachel

Anyone heard of marshal watches? Vincent watch selling at 300 plus, is it worth e money? Btw is Vincent watch pte ltd reliable? Changed my batt there for a whopping 10 bucks and tot I have been cheated

yamcancook

Anyone heard of marshal watches? Vincent watch selling at 300 plus, is it worth e money? Btw is Vincent watch pte ltd reliable? Changed my batt there for a whopping 10 bucks and tot I have been cheated

$10 is still considered reasonable. I have never heard of marshal though.

yamcancook

Sian deciding between cw malvern c5, tisdot visodate or prs516 ugh.. sibei hard choice sia. Will it be suitable for moi age? Moi haben 20.. :/ or im better off wif something else. Less than $800..

Have you went down to personally try out the tissot watches? they might look fantastic in pictures, but it really depends went you see it for yourself in real.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.