The Watch Thread - Part 3

Samfreak

Visodate can fight JLC in terms of design

Just that jlc got sunburst dial, but the jlc oso bo contrast one...silver on grey dial QUOTE]

Yes, you did point out the lack of contrast on the IWC Porto and Omega DeVille when I had those two in my shortlist. Agree the JLC could have had better contrast but its not a dealbreaker for me. The sunburst dial and the highly polished bezel make for a beautiful combination.

The Visodate is nice but its not a JLC :) I have a Tissot as well - the Traditions Perpectual Calender - but its quartz though:
9213196568_61366fefd0_b.jpg

On the Visodate, I find the stylised Tissot branding downright ugly and reason enough for me not to want it.

Seannie

Eh im thinking of forming a visodate owners club in edmw

If you are with me, please let me know...if more than 5 pple here agree, i will form one over there

tissot-vdate-baselworld-2010-thumb-.jpg

:s12::s12: wah swee lei bro, visodate owners club got what priviledges huh? can wait for me go get one first okie? :s13:

Seannie

I have agree that, dude bought this and that still not happy.
ROM already still not happy with life, newly married leh.
Better go seek help, this is not the place.

Have not ROM yet, proposed only cos no $ do everything. Technically not married yet. Still waiting for toto strike. YOu wanna give me some help, pastor patryn?

Maybe a great watch will make me jin happy. For now.

Seannie

On the Visodate, I find the stylised Tissot branding downright ugly and reason enough for me not to want it.

y visodate so ugly meh ??! Most popular choice here woh, so many owners here. Can elaborate?

Samfreak

y visodate so ugly meh ??! Most popular choice here woh, so many owners here. Can elaborate?

Oh no. I did not say the Visodate is ugly. I said its "nice". But I do not like the way the Tissot brand is stylised. Here's a pic with an arrow pointing to what I mean:
9213417190_3a6880bfa3.jpg

Maybe that's how old/classic Tissot branding is presented. But it just doesn't work for me. I'd rather fork out more and get the Powermatic 80.

I hope you're able to put your life together quickly and I wish you happines. Don't count on ANY watch. You have other priorities to work on :)

Seannie

Oh no. I did not say the Visodate is ugly. I said its "nice". But I do not like the way the Tissot brand is stylised.
Maybe that's how old/classic Tissot branding is presented. But it just doesn't work for me. I'd rather fork out more and get the Powermatic 80.
I hope you're able to put your life together quickly and I wish you happines. Don't count on ANY watch. You have other priorities to work on :)

thanks, i think i got what you meant, you dont like the "Tissot" font right? You prefer to have the font more formal business like your perpetual calendar :D though i have to say i like your piece, got the date, day, month as well. Visodate dont have :(

Perpetual calendar still in the retail market? Pardon me i dont know anything on watches. What is Powermatic 80? got pic to see?

Samfreak

Yup, its the font that I don't like.
The Perp Calender should still be available. Launched end last year or early this year I think. Its quartz - less expensive (can be had as low as $500). Just need to change battery. Don't have to change battery at Swatch Group where they will sell you diamond studded batteries installed by gold plated fingers.
Powermatic 80 is newer. Just google and you will have more pix than you can handle :)

ralliart12

Hi fellows, any pre-cautions I should take with regards to purchasing watches from Brightime (Lucky Plaza branch)?

my hands got itchy n i ordered a Stowa Antea 390 A10 last night....

What are the customization options available for this model, e.g. engraved rotor? Btw, is the AR coating still double-sided?

Vadher

I too find the font on the Visodate ugly. I'm getting the Le Locle instead. Powermatic is a bit oversized for me.

exxondus

Hi fellows, any pre-cautions I should take with regards to purchasing watches from Brightime (Lucky Plaza branch)?

Advice is, dun buy if u feel need precautions :D

I usually avoid buying stuff from lucky plaza. In my opinion, those peeps there have been in the biz for so long, no amt of advice will help u guard against them one.

Milo-Dino

What are the customization options available for this model, e.g. engraved rotor? Btw, is the AR coating still double-sided?
hmmm no idea... i only know if engrave will cost extra.

Lurker_13

Finally, after weeks of visiting ADs, browsing forums ... I've found the dress watch I want: Jaeger-LeCoultre Master Control.
9209433704_a52409d714.jpg

Thanks to those who have helped me in my search!

WOw... that's a pretty watch, one that is on my wishlist! Thanks for sharing the beauty think I am gonna check it out liaoz...:s13:

PatrickL33

Hi bros. Any place can get decent price for tag Heuer ladies watch. I'm looking at white cerimica. Axtually urgently need it by next weekend. Just now I went to check out the price. The cheapest model is 2250 with 15 discount. Slightly over budget

flame2000

I too find the font on the Visodate ugly. I'm getting the Le Locle instead. Powermatic is a bit oversized for me.

Since you are getting the Le Locle, here is a Le Locle article you might be interested. :)

A Week On The Wrist: The Tissot Le Locle Chronometre — HODINKEE - Wristwatch News, Reviews, & Original Stories

A specially prepared Tissot Le Locle ETA2824 chronometer beat the crap out of some of the finest watch brands in a Swiss international chronometer competition.:D

Samfreak

The Le Locle looks nicer than the Powermatic! Thanks for pointing this model out. Certainly a nice versatile watch at an attractive price point.

Spell-abc

Hi guys! Do you know what model this watch is and where i can get it? Can't seem to find it on the main nixon web nor the sg one. Thanks! :)

tumblr_mnc4vpRPAR1r2lmy0o1_500.jpg

Milo-Dino

Hi guys! Do you know what model this watch is and where i can get it? Can't seem to find it on the main nixon web nor the sg one. Thanks! :)

tumblr_mnc4vpRPAR1r2lmy0o1_500.jpg
looks like nixon... i think tangs orchard got sell... not too sure though

Jeremy1

Actually, u walk over to Far East Plaza, there is a few 2nd hand watch dealers there the price I think better.

U can go and checked up.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.