The Watch Thread - Part 3

balzebub

Water, knocked, drop etc a simple service done! That's why ppl get mech

Scratches... U don't have to get those that is scratched up, buy use u have choice.
Yah agreed, most people take good care of their mechanical watches, especially if they cost more. So just be selective and choose those without major cosmetic damage.

Henabi

i don't mind hooting 2nd watches as long as I am satisfied with the condition

my dad has a 15 y/o casio gold-coloured analog watch with SS strap and he is damn particular about taking care of his watches, so till today it still in very good condition.

balzebub

i don't mind hooting 2nd watches as long as I am satisfied with the condition

my dad has a 15 y/o casio gold-coloured analog watch with SS strap and he is damn particular about taking care of his watches, so till today it still in very good condition.
And if the used watch is at very good price and u save a lot compared to new, can just send for full servicing and it will come back good as new

Henabi

And if the used watch is at very good price and u save a lot compared to new, can just send for full servicing and it will come back good as new

that's why I am scanning the resale market for a TH Carerra or Monaco which I like :s13:

anyway, my boss just bought me this exquisite-looking but inexpensive skeleton Kenneth Cole automatic watch
10398038423_20b03fe03c.jpg

10397863404_b69f81315f.jpg

anyone can help me to ID the movement used in this watch?

jeanzhou

that's why I am scanning the resale market for a TH Carerra or Monaco which I like :s13:

anyway, my boss just bought me this exquisite-looking but inexpensive skeleton Kenneth Cole automatic watch
10398038423_20b03fe03c.jpg

10397863404_b69f81315f.jpg

anyone can help me to ID the movement used in this watch?

Kenneth Cole uses chinese movements for their mechanical watches i think, so for a no date skeleton, very likely to be a seagull based ST17 movement?

Henabi

Kenneth Cole uses chinese movements for their mechanical watches i think, so for a no date skeleton, very likely to be a seagull based ST17 movement?

thanks! did a google search and led me to a discussion topic in WUS :s13:
seems like its quite a ok movement.
+/- 20 sec a day and 40+hours power reserve

now... another problem for me... i need a watch winder >.< any recommendations? I will hit Amazon and eBay as well ^.^

buay_tahan

Can anyone recommend me an automatic Ladies watch within a budget of SGD1k? Preferably with some synthetic diamonds embedded. Thanks.

balzebub

Can anyone recommend me an automatic Ladies watch within a budget of SGD1k? Preferably with some synthetic diamonds embedded. Thanks.
Hmm budget of 1k, automatic with faux diamonds? difficult? most brands ladies watch with faux diamonds withing the budget will be quartz.

patryn33

Henabi

pricing in pound right? bust budget liao le...

for my new Kenneth cole watch... any recommendation for straps? I looking at rubber and leather

patryn33

440 pounds is like what 880 sgd plus gst still within budget. Math wrong? Do correct me leh
He also didn't say how many diamonds needed on watch.

buay_tahan

440 pounds is like what 880 sgd plus gst still within budget. Math wrong? Do correct me leh
Ok, maybe I use the wrong word (diamond)... Anything that blinks is fine as long as it is automatic. I saw my colleague wearing Frederique Constant Ladies Automatic... Nice but the price a bit off... Perhaps any within SGD2k?

Henabi

but 2nd link is like 800+ pound right? but anyway he aalready up budget to 2K :)

fabiano1

seriously, u all think it's stil worth it to buy a tag 1st hand, or better off with buying 2nd hand nowadays?

if you've intention to sell it after a few years and get another watch, i would suggest that you buy a 2nd hand. the resale value for tags are not exactly fantastic

Henabi

that's a nice ladies watch... ^.^

watch-perts, anyone has good experience with any particular watch winders?
I have been considering to get a watch winder, ever since I got my 25hrs auto but nv really wanted to get one since I wear it everyday.
but now I need to get one

I'm currently looking at this dual watch winder by Versa in Amazon.com. Pricing is only $40 USD, plus shipment maybe $80 SGD
41c97edn6oL.jpg

jeanzhou

that's a nice ladies watch... ^.^

watch-perts, anyone has good experience with any particular watch winders?

I'm currently looking at this dual watch winder by Versa in Amazon.com. Pricing is only $40 USD, plus shipment maybe $80 SGD
41c97edn6oL.jpg
hmm watch winders really necessary? isn't it better to just let your automatic watches run down? wouldn't keeping it ticking 24/7 increase the wear and tear on the movement?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.