The Watch Thread - Part 3

Henabi

Many school of thought on this, but hor if it's a auto and u wear it everyday, don't wind it la, wind only if the PR doesn't last through the night and u intend to wear it in the morning.

Some people advise to let the mainspring rest once in a while and let it fully run down over the weekend?

the past two days I nv wind my watch and the next day still running but I guess out of habit liao...
like this morning, i will sub-consciously wind my watch in the morning when I was waiting for my bus...

I was looking around ebay usa and noticed that alot of TH around. I then go n look around for reasonably priced with very good rating seller with at least 1000 and above. Even if they don't ship to sg, can ide vpost, etc.

I think the picture n description is very useful to determine if u will like the condition. Furthermore ebay got buyer protection, very safe.

As for my watch, its 350 usd. When it arrived, the watch is same as in pics but alot hairline scratches. I went to bronze age n spend $20 to touch up, looking good now.

even after touch up... it still less than four Benjamins? That's a steal! :eek:
the buyer protection is true... thanks!

did you send to a TH shop to authentic it?

aiming for this particular pre-owned TH Carrera Calibre
$T2eC16J,!y4FI,OlWb6DBSZG9RyiTw~~60_57.JPG

Many school of thought on this, but hor if it's a auto and u wear it everyday, don't wind it la, wind only if the PR doesn't last through the night and u intend to wear it in the morning.

Some people advise to let the mainspring rest once in a while and let it fully run down over the weekend?
precisely... some say wind it daily.. some say don't... some say let it wind down completely once in a while...
its so confusing

I used to keep my automatics on a winder 24/7....until I ran out of space on my 6 watch-winder.

now I also cant be bothered if they are wound 24/7. the problem is my wife changes watches to wear daily and I have to adjust the time and/or date for her.

i think i will face the same problem as you once I buy an automatic watch for my wife :s13:

yoshi_sx

since i myself is aiming for a sinn watch(u1). i will recommend a sinn 556a or 556i. below 2k for sure. is it 21st? if yes congratulations.

I would recommend you to take a look at Ball, model: victory. Could be a daily beater

Thanks guys for your advices!

@Donten, its for my 22nd birthday actually.

May I kindly ask which retailer would offer the widest range to view all at once? Would the shops at Raffles City be too expensive? Although I may be able to negotiate my budget to 3K max.

What's most important to me is that the watch must have the distinct classic/vintage chronograph look. Of course if I can have mechanical movement then it would be a bonus.

Once again, thank you so much!

balzebub

May I kindly ask which retailer would offer the widest range to view all at once? Would the shops at Raffles City be too expensive? Although I may be able to negotiate my budget to 3K max.

What's most important to me is that the watch must have the distinct classic/vintage chronograph look. Of course if I can have mechanical movement then it would be a bonus.

3k is a respectable budget, plenty of choice. I think u might want to check out ion and Wilma, many many watch shops of various budget to browse, raffles city much fewer.

Daniel.Y

https://www.stowa.de/Chronograph/index.htm

dmitri

Actually i prefer the full black. Too many colours lah the green dial + black bezel + yellow gold.
Seen it a number of times outside Dickson Wisma, every time I'm in awe of it. Quite possibly the only YG watch I'd be interested in.

What's the price like for the YG+black GMT?

yoshi_sx

3k is a respectable budget, plenty of choice. I think u might want to check out ion and Wilma, many many watch shops of various budget to browse, raffles city much fewer.

Cannot see and touch is a no go for him

Thanks!

Indeed, ION would have a wide range of choices from 1st floor upwards. Hopefully the service staff would not belittle my modest budget! (Compared to the rollers here, at least).

Yes. My parents isn't comfortable with online shopping. Call them conservative but I guess that's how they think.

Once again, thank you for your valuable advices!

Cheers

Daniel.Y

Actually i am also hunting for my next watch to buy in year 2014, with a budget of around 2k, maybe more, hopefully don't need to eat grass.

So far my shortlisted ones are..

1. Omega seamaster 300m. Either blue dial, or the design like Omega SM 300m Polished - Lu Ann Vintage Collection Dope.
Below 2k for 2nd hand, almost 4k for new.

2. Brietling SuperOcean Heritage, 42mm with Green Bezel, about 4.5k for new

3. Omega Seamaster Planet Ocean 8500 co-axial, non-James bond edition. about 8k new.

4. Ball Victory - 1.6k new, interested probably due to the classic dial, and lume.

5. Zenith, Glasshutte Original out of budget. Maybe when i am older.

Daniel.Y

Thanks!

Indeed, ION would have a wide range of choices from 1st floor upwards. Hopefully the service staff would not belittle my modest budget! (Compared to the rollers here, at least).

Yes. My parents isn't comfortable with online shopping. Call them conservative but I guess that's how they think.

Once again, thank you for your valuable advices!

Cheers

Teach you one best way to shop.. http://www.sg-roc.com/forums/45-Other-Watch-Garage

Go see what are the watches they have for sale. Ultimately you won't have to buy those pre-owned ones, but you at least know what are their resale prices like, and the demand of it etc. Good to share the poison sometimes.

hwaa

Actually i am also hunting for my next watch to buy in year 2014, with a budget of around 2k, maybe more, hopefully don't need to eat grass.

So far my shortlisted ones are..

1. Omega seamaster 300m. Either blue dial, or the design like Omega SM 300m Polished - Lu Ann Vintage Collection Dope.
Below 2k for 2nd hand, almost 4k for new.

2. Brietling SuperOcean Heritage, 42mm with Green Bezel, about 4.5k for new

3. Omega Seamaster Planet Ocean 8500 co-axial, non-James bond edition. about 8k new.

4. Ball Victory - 1.6k new, interested probably due to the classic dial, and lume.

5. Zenith, Glasshutte Original out of budget. Maybe when i am older.

i also like the planet ocean but i think the price has risen till to abit ki siao.. 8k for a PO... also dunno how to stomach it. best to look for pre-owned on 2500 caliber.

Daniel.Y

i also like the planet ocean but i think the price has risen till to abit ki siao.. 8k for a PO... also dunno how to stomach it. best to look for pre-owned on 2500 caliber.

I have to agree that the Omega PO price has risen quite a fair bit, as compared to the last few years. They are competing against Rolex. Omega's latest movement could be as good as Rolex's in-house movement, however, omega is still lacking behind in terms of branding PR.

PO resale value also not too good. The other PO with orange bezel is way too loud for me personally. i think they are phrasing out 2500 soon. I pretty much liked the watch from lu-ann, due to the classic design, but judging by the patina, and age, i might have to look for another one.

2500 caliber ones, usually costs below 2.5k. Omega speedmaster also not bad imo

yattokame

Seen it a number of times outside Dickson Wisma, every time I'm in awe of it. Quite possibly the only YG watch I'd be interested in.

What's the price like for the YG+black GMT?

hmmmm I vaguely remember my usual sales at THG offered me 30k or ard there? a grey dealer offered me about 20% lower. It's a very masculine watch.

must wait a bit leh. the rolexes all bought this year. need to recover hahaha

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.