The Watch Thread - Part 3

Henabi

what's there to worry abt the dealers? just get it auth in rsc thot ok le mah...

more on the dealers' service level, attitude etc
like ebay, usually we will buy from "power seller" or seller with very high positive feedback...

i will explore a bit more ^.^

Seannie

IMO the quality, finishing is on par with most Swiss brands, just that their marketing, packaging hasn't quite caught up

So if you buy a watch for your own appreciation and enjoyment and not as a status piece then rest assured that the GS pieces are just as good as Swiss or German equivalents.

If it's important for you that the people around you know that you have an expensive watch strapped on your wrist then don't buy Japanese, buy a high visibility Swiss brand.

Thks! U just nailed it. Y would i want to let others know i have an expensive watch? To feed my own ego? Liketat my boss will give me more increments & bonuses? No la, i rather ppl look at me in lesser light. I want a watch with the best bang for buck. Not just functional. Looks good as well. I want to enjoy Seiko and Casio liao. :) feels like ditching my swiss watch. :(

Alpha_Hippo

Aiya....was just at jem last night....

limited at JEM. Vivo more choices. Can get about 20% discount without trying hard for GS models. Maybe 30% if try very hard.

But cheapest still fly to Japan to buy then every 3~5 years fly to Japan for holiday and also send GS for servicing. Dun need to go through Thong Sia like this.

Henabi

I going for seiko liao. Best bang for my buck?

depends what kind of watch you love. Sports, Dress, Casual, Diver, Unique.

limited at JEM. Vivo more choices. Can get about 20% discount without trying hard for GS models. Maybe 30% if try very hard.

But cheapest still fly to Japan to buy then every 3~5 years fly to Japan for holiday and also send GS for servicing. Dun need to go through Thong Sia like this.

servicing so fast ah? is it a must to do it every 3-5 yrs?

balzebub

i'm not too worried about the $107 ^.^ its more about the dealers...

Umm if the watch is authentic then the dealer not important as long as you think you paid a fair price. After all if there is any problem with the watch u can always get it looked at by RSC?

staedtler_07

Thks! U just nailed it. Y would i want to let others know i have an expensive watch? To feed my own ego? Liketat my boss will give me more increments & bonuses? No la, i rather ppl look at me in lesser light. I want a watch with the best bang for buck. Not just functional. Looks good as well. I want to enjoy Seiko and Casio liao. :) feels like ditching my swiss watch. :(

Good attitude, why bother what others think of you. Get what you appreciate and please yourself

Jeremy1

hey all...
i'm looking at a few 2nd-hand rolex watches in sg-roc but its my first time buying a luxury watch.

wanna check with you guys whether if any of you have deal in sg-roc before and is familiar or trust any of the dealers there...

I think it's good enough if it come with the Full Set with the original receipt.

:)

Jeremy1

There is no discount on LE model as what the SA told me.........................................:)

Jeremy1

Depend on individual but I would rather get a Swiss brand with the kind of price I am paying as it's much easier to sell at a better resale value.

flame2000

So....if you had to choose between getting BOTH of these watches

grand-seiko-gmt-blue-sbgm031-automatic.jpg

OR

just one JLC Reverso

what do ?

Frankly, there are very few watches capable of 72hrs PR on a SINGLE barrel, running at 28800bph and with a spec tighter than COSC. Most other Swiss brands manage >70hrs PR on double barrel.
I have to agree the Seiko GS automatic movements are a technological marvel! :D

highsulphur

if i buy GS from Japan, does Seiko singapore recognise the warranty?

Just curious, what's everyone's favourite GS?

Samfreak

There are times when you DO want to let others know you are wearing an expensive watch. Your watch is an extension of the impression you project. It is not as obvious as your personal grooming, clothes or, very importantly, shoes. But when you are moving in certain circles, you'll be surprised people will look at your watch. Your employer/job may require you to project success! For some, this is a daily necessity.

Jeremy1

There are times when you DO want to let others know you are wearing an expensive watch. Your watch is an extension of the impression you project. It is not as obvious as your personal grooming, clothes or, very importantly, shoes. But when you are moving in certain circles, you'll be surprised people will look at your watch. Your employer/job may require you to project success! For some, this is a daily necessity.

Just wondering those SA working in THG or Cortina, they are all wearing branded watch. Don't know is the watch given free to them or they need to buy it at a discount price ? :s8:

Alpha_Hippo

Sounds insecure and crave acceptance

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.