The Watch Thread - Part 4

fabiaN__

Am thinking of selling my roboto and maurice lacroix skeleton because I have not been wearing them for more than 6 months. But then again the latter is my first luxury watch and the roboto is quite an interesting piece.

Should I sell them away? Can free up some cash for another watch than leave it there sitting pretty in the winder. Like I said I'm a brand ***** so I end up wearing the PP most of the time :p

haha same here lor, me thinking to sell away 2 of my watches as well... a BALL EM-II Diver Chronometer and a Maurice Lacroix Pontos Reserve de Marche. not as high-end as your watches... but well, they sort of "mark" the "milestones" in my life. Haha..

unfortunately, they aren't getting enuff wrist time ever since I got my PAM312... and a humble Seiko SKX007. :s22:

oh well, good luck, mate! :D

TeenTitan01

After overspending last year, recently I made a humble acquisition: Seiko 5 Sports Auto

12447503885_e9ebb25792_c.jpg

12448004004_3d8d137658_c.jpg

A nice budget auto. Bought it to replace my Timex but realized its too nice to be used in the pool and in the rough. So will be switching to leather strap once the current nylon one start to wear. Now looking for a even lower budget Casio ....

an excellent choice! i have the exact same model! welcome to the club!

top value for money. superbly legible dial with decent lume. useful day-date complication. in-house (albeit undecorated) movement. properly adjusted, some fortunate owners can have pieces that can come very close to cosc standard.

i've dropped mine on hard tile floors pretty hard more than once and it just keeps on ticking. seiko diashock proven to work. the crystal remain intact with only very mild chipping on the edge of the mineral glass and slightest of dent on the bottom edge of the case

i feel the nylon strap is more in keeping with the rugged image of this field watch.

initially considered the beige dial with khaki strap. but settled on the black because it looks more versatile, classic & serious. the beige/khaki looks more casual/weekend watch. plus the lighter colored strap is a dirt magnet.

love mine to bits!

Daniel.Y

consider the hamilton intra-matic @ 38mm.

- a classic, minimalist, timeless dial design with baton/stick hour markers (you're spared the modern arabic numeral vs ancient roman numeral debate).
- at 38mm, the perfect dress watch size: not too big nor too small.
- thin & low-profile enough to slip under your long sleeve cuff: again a key trait of dress watches.
- date at 6 o'clock that preserves symmetry to the watch.
- no seconds hand. this is a deal breaker for some, but let's face it: a hour-minute hands only watch tell others you're not a hurried & harried individual who needs a second hand. heck, there're even hour hand only watches that carries this concept even further.

Hamilton Intra-matic 38mm Watch Review | aBlogtoWatch

Hamilton Intra-matic Reviewwatch reviews on worn&wound

slightly > sgd1k.

I was also contemplating on this model, before identifying that hey, there is this Daniel Wellington which costs around $200 bucks.

Just tried on omega speedmaster pro over the weekend. Too big for my wrist. The speedmaster reduced version seem to fit better, and cheaper in cost as well for pre own piece. Any reviews on that?

yattokame

haha same here lor, me thinking to sell away 2 of my watches as well... a BALL EM-II Diver Chronometer and a Maurice Lacroix Pontos Reserve de Marche. not as high-end as your watches... but well, they sort of "mark" the "milestones" in my life. Haha..

unfortunately, they aren't getting enuff wrist time ever since I got my PAM312... and a humble Seiko SKX007. :s22:

oh well, good luck, mate! :D

ya it's really sitting there doing nothing much isn't it? but then again you're worried you'd regret your sale eh? sigh.

TeenTitan01

They buy wor not I buy

I noticed grass tastes best with wasabi. Gives it a more bang in the mouth, and the manure smell is gone too.

you're being too modest.

anyway you got a pp nautilus for yourself and diamond rolexes for your wife and mum within a short span of time hor. like that not tok kong, i chop.

but i like a man who's man/brave/humble/smart enough to avoid the traffic/parking woes to travel by sbs bus/mrt when necessary while rocking a pp nautilus (to show up the other pp owners who're too pu55ified/soft to dislodge themselves from their cushy, luxury rides).

but please don't do that in dodgy places especially overseas. some animals after robbing will proceed to maim/injure/even kill their victims.

anyway, your grass (if ever) is atas grass like healthy, organic wheat grass lah.

your seasoning also so atas one. simi is wasabi ah?

true peasant is no seasoning one or at best coarse salt/cheap tau yew niah.

yattokame

you're being too modest.

anyway you got a pp nautilus for yourself and diamond rolexes for your wife and mum within a short span of time hor. like that not tok kong, i chop.

but i like a man who's man/brave/humble/smart enough to avoid the traffic/parking woes to travel by sbs bus/mrt when necessary while rocking a pp nautilus (to show up the other pp owners who're too pu55ified/soft to dislodge themselves from their cushy, luxury rides).

but please don't do that in dodgy places especially overseas. some animals after robbing will proceed to maim/injure/even kill their victims.

anyway, your grass (if ever) is atas grass like healthy, organic wheat grass lah.

your seasoning also so atas one. simi is wasabi ah?

true peasant is no seasoning one or at best coarse salt/cheap tau yew niah.

actually I'm just lazy to drive. been driving since I was 21.

public transport, other than standing through the journey, is very accessible and easy to get around town. Driving mean encountering bad drivers, jams, etc and have to decide where to park. Not to mention on some days when my temper gets the better of me and I become an idiot driver myself.

Nowadays I always end up taking train to somerset and walk/shop till orchard station; if I had driven I'd have to walk all the way back to where I parked.

still thinking whether to wear my PP to Japan. should be quite safe hor?

hwaa

japan shld be quite safe. seldom see yakuzas on the streets..

TeenTitan01

Am thinking of selling my roboto and maurice lacroix skeleton because I have not been wearing them for more than 6 months. But then again the latter is my first luxury watch and the roboto is quite an interesting piece.

Should I sell them away? Can free up some cash for another watch than leave it there sitting pretty in the winder. Like I said I'm a brand ***** so I end up wearing the PP most of the time :p

when you got more than 1 wife, sure got favourite one. now still honeymoon what.

anyway brand whores are those lemmings who don't know any better & just ape others without appreciating the finer side of their purchases and acquiring better taste & discernment along the way.

they're stuck at the vulgar, guady level with huge, in-you-face logos - scared that no one knows they can afford (or scrape together their pennies for) their purchases.

if you ever decide to part with them, ask yourself this question: "will i ever, EVER regret my decision to sell it away?"

if your answer is yes (like your dd), then don't.

yes i like poking fun at the full, solid yellow gold dd (esp with diamonds) on a male because of its unfortunate association with the baser strata of its owning demographic: the coarse, loud & crude towkays, gangsters & the mafia. but if you truly like and enjoy it (as do i - but in rose gold, and no diamonds, thank you very much) - get it & keep it!

oh and aspire to be/beat the next $15 million watch collection man, okay? :D

game plan: complete all iconic/staple pieces 1st: rolex sub, speedy moonwatch, blancpain fifty fathoms, cartier santos, cartier tank, jlc reverso, vc patrimony, ap ro, pp calatrava, pp nautilus (you got alr), doxa diver, b-uhr flieger observation watch, some marine chronometer, un freak, seiko springdrive, seiko marinemaster, maybe still got room somewhere in there for an ingersoll mickey mouse watch ... arggghhh........ too many liao!

next stop: a lange & sohne!... and more atas/obscure makes.

Nakedtoes

public transport, other than standing through the journey, is very accessible and easy to get around town. Driving mean encountering bad drivers, jams, etc and have to decide where to park. Not to mention on some days when my temper gets the better of me and I become an idiot driver myself.

Nowadays I always end up taking train to somerset and walk/shop till orchard station; if I had driven I'd have to walk all the way back to where I parked.

i m same like u i actually dislike driving also.. but with baby i boh pain

yattokame

when you got more than 1 wife, sure got favourite one. now still honeymoon what.

anyway brand whores are those lemmings who don't know any better & just ape others without appreciating the finer side of their purchases and acquiring better taste & discernment along the way.

they're stuck at the vulgar, guady level with huge, in-you-face logos - scared that no one knows they can afford (or scrape together their pennies for) their purchases.

if you ever decide to part with them, ask yourself this question: "will i ever, EVER regret my decision to sell it away?"

yes i like poking fun at the full, solid yellow gold dd (esp with diamonds) on a male because of its unfortunate association with the baser strata of its owning demographic: the coarse, loud & crude towkays, gangsters & the mafia. but if you truly like and enjoy it (as do i - but in rose gold, and no diamonds, thank you very much) - get it & keep it!

game plan: complete all iconic/staple pieces 1st: rolex sub, speedy moonwatch, blancpain fifty fathoms, cartier santos, cartier tank, jlc reverso, vc patrimony, ap ro, pp calatrava, pp nautilus (you got alr), doxa diver, b-uhr flieger observation watch, some marine chronometer, un freak, seiko springdrive, seiko marinemaster, maybe still got room somewhere in there for an ingersoll mickey mouse watch ... arggghhh........ too many liao!

yup sounds like me alright. :s13:

I somehow like how the older DDs look; without diamonds of course.

All in a Day

Hey TeenTitan, can share with us a few of your favourite watches in your collection apart from the seiko that u mentioned earlier?

yattokame

i m same like u i actually dislike driving also.. but with baby i boh pain

same here. ended up with the grand picasso for 2yrs because of the kids. then the brand ***** in me was screaming to change car. now i miss the space in the grand picasso.

actually I still do take them on the trains every now and then; to orchard for lunch and back. Usually at ION foodcourt since it's just outside MRT gantry and down the escalator. orchard is just a few stops from my place, also next to an MRT station. super convenient.

TeenTitan01

stowa do not distro to shops
they only sell on9
take leap of faith la :s13:
u can go try laco then imagine a bigger version of it maybe with a slight different, as they are somewhat the same
laco is 36mm
stowa 40mm

it's the same size as tissot visodate
maybe abit thicker

i prefer laco over stowa simply because their straight lug, bead blasted case is closer to the original b-uhr flieger observation watch.

they've various sizes, not only 36mm, including the original 55mm dinner plate.

https://shop.laco.de/en/Fliegeruhren-A.html

https://shop.laco.de/en/Fliegeruhren-B.html

fabiaN__

ya it's really sitting there doing nothing much isn't it? but then again you're worried you'd regret your sale eh? sigh.

precisely! sit in my watch box (no watch winder) and sometimes take out and wear... but somehow, the PAM 312 seems to be more of a daily watch to me now and got scratches on the polished bezel after months of wearing :(

anw.. if wanna sell, also must have ppl who wanna buy mah. hehe but i guess if wanna sell and if someone offers, then better not regret if one decides to go ahead with the deal. :)

TeenTitan01

I was also contemplating on this model, before identifying that hey, there is this Daniel Wellington which costs around $200 bucks.

Just tried on omega speedmaster pro over the weekend. Too big for my wrist. The speedmaster reduced version seem to fit better, and cheaper in cost as well for pre own piece. Any reviews on that?

care to elaborate? thanks.

Samfreak

an excellent choice! i have the exact same model! welcome to the club!

top value for money. superbly legible dial with decent lume. useful day-date complication. in-house (albeit undecorated) movement. properly adjusted, some fortunate owners can have pieces that can come very close to cosc standard.

i've dropped mine on hard tile floors pretty hard more than once and it just keeps on ticking. seiko diashock proven to work. the crystal remain intact with only very mild chipping on the edge of the mineral glass and slightest of dent on the bottom edge of the case

i feel the nylon strap is more in keeping with the rugged image of this field watch.

initially considered the beige dial with khaki strap. but settled on the black because it looks more versatile, classic & serious. the beige/khaki looks more casual/weekend watch. plus the lighter colored strap is a dirt magnet.

love mine to bits!
Thanks! I think the lume is more than decent. Pity about the poor PR though since I do not wear it everyday and do not use winders. But for the price I paid ... no complain!
This will receive the usual TLC from me. So won't be a 'field' watch. I'll wear it at least once a week to the office - leather strap will look better.
I was initially eyeing the beige version too! Until my family 'fashion police' said it looks feminine and yes, the beige will soon turn grey/black.
Now I'm looking for a <$100 quartz field watch that will survive jungle training, 100m WR and dips in 42C hot springs! Any recommendations? Not interested in all digital, but analog-digital is OK. NO G-shocks too!

TeenTitan01

well, used or not, the extortionary "see hor e" you paid for your car is still being amortized as we speak.

to quote the sg poodle farce: "low crime doesn't mean no crime". crimes of opportunity will exist.

seikos are good travel watches: respectable, reliable, replaceable and they don't attract the wrong attention.

of course they're times you need to haul your bling to impress at your business meetings.

question to watch owners who travel with more than one watch: how do your watches travel and get secured while you're away from them at meetings or having fun, especially your more expensive pieces? afterall, you can only wear one watch at a time unless you want to look silly.

hotel safes even if available are notoriously flimsy.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.