The Watch Thread - Part 4

pwillie

From now on anything I see that I get poisoned at all by, I will post to try and poison other people too.. :evil:

Some Reversos

jlc-shot-in-tagaytay-house.jpg

Reverso Squadra , the only reverso series i like... this GMT jin chio

s.22_jaeger-lecoultre_reverso-squadra-hometime-chrono-gmt-black.jpg

Paladium

I read that their hands are black most of the time but sometimes it changes to blue??

been a lurker here for the longest time :D

anw, i have a stowa flieger no logo no date running on eta 2824-2. the hands are temperature blued instead of chemically blued and thus the colour changes under different lighting conditions. it's quite a beauty to behold.

realized i don't have enough post count to post my pictures..

Like what gurgkle said the steel hands are heated to blue which is a very delicate, traditional and time consuming process. This is also the process that higher end brands use.

Some brands like steinhart create blue hands using chemicals which is cheaper and faster.

Which partly explains why steinhart pilot watches are cheaper than stowa's.

gurgkle

just wondering is it possible for a kind fellow watch lover here to help me post the images to share the beauty of the stowa hands? :s11:

TeenTitan01

Please lah. Which part of Big Pilot or Mark Series that do not resemble the b-uhr fleiger. IWC is still one of those few companies who pursue the b-uhren tradition. Overcharging their movement or not has got nothing to do with this tradition.

iwc resemblance to original b-uhe fleigers are straying farther away from the original design, compared to laco/stowa who strives to preserve them, especially with their dial designs. even micro brands do a better job than iwc in terms of design and value for money. :s22:

TeenTitan01

s.22_jaeger-lecoultre_reverso-squadra-hometime-chrono-gmt-black.jpg

apparently in some watch circles, the comparison of jlc reverso squadra vs reverso proper is akin to the hydronaut vs nautilus in the pp range (ie not quite the "original" thing & thus less popular).

but ymmv and what matters is if you're happy with it, can liao!

kinbalight

watch "case" i bought those squarish see-through plastic boxes haha

btw anyone knows where to get those watch "cushions"?

will try to post pic of my GMT tonight hehe

All in a Day

Wah, first time got "called out" to ask opinion on Pams... Paiseh siah. Only got into Panerai about 1-2 years ago... I must have been talking too much...:s34:

Well, for what I know, the modern Luminor classics will be:

1. Pam 372: closest DNA to the 6152
2. Pam 000: cleanest (and also cheapest) Luminor - the quintessential Panerai
3. Pam 233 (dot version)

But my holy grail will be the Pam 127 (Fiddy). :s41: The big daddy that shares the closest DNA to the 6152. So, from what I understand: 6152 > 127 > 372.

Not really into Radiomirs but the classic one that I know of would be the Pam 390, equivalent of the Luminor Pam 000.

Hope this helps!

Thanks everyone who chipped in. Looks like no 47mm no talk for PAMs! The replies also allude to 1 main theme prevalent in luxury watch marketing which is the selling of history and heritage.

If anyone is looking to break into this circle, perhaps a good approach is to 1st study some defunct brands (which there are many), choose the best storied one and milk on the story to re-romanticise and revive the brand.

yattokame

Paladium

3 weeks into my daytona, one thing which still bothers me... on paper the watch is marketed as 40mm case size. but no matter how i measure, i get between abt 38 to 39mm.. and i'm not the only person who question this..

:s11::s11::s11:

Does it look good on your wrist? If it does, why bother about that 1-2mm.

zzyzx

singapore weather hot, so ruler expands and is longer than that in switzerland. :s13:

honestly, dunno. but is that 1-2mm gonna bother you this much?:s11:

:eek: nearly fall off my chair.. :s13:

doesnt really bother la but i'm always wondering how they measure to get 40mm.. good to know also mah.. next time can use in sales tactic to give lesser than what ppl are paying for.. if rolex can do it, why can't we right? :D

next time ppl say AMDK must really pull down the pants and see real thing to confirm. in case they over market. :s13:

Azrielsc

I love the Reverso Squada but I just can't seem to wear it. Due to the rectangular nature of the watch, it just does not sit well on my puny 6.25" wrist.

Haiz, back to the watch safe it goes. :(

Azrielsc

Thanks everyone who chipped in. Looks like no 47mm no talk for PAMs! The replies also allude to 1 main theme prevalent in luxury watch marketing which is the selling of history and heritage.

If anyone is looking to break into this circle, perhaps a good approach is to 1st study some defunct brands (which there are many), choose the best storied one and milk on the story to re-romanticise and revive the brand.

No lah. :)

Panerai do make different sizes to suit different market segments and different wrist sizes. Luminor comes in 40, 44, 47 and 60mm. Radiomir comes in at 42, 43, 45, 46 and 47 and even the huge 60mm. Subs, i think, are in 44 and 47 sizes.

zzyzx

done a quick ps for visualization. need bros' view here. left or right? :D

2cgfncw.png

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.