The Watch Thread - Part 4

Azrielsc

Haha, I haven't changed my car yet. Hence the budget to buy watches.

The 1815 chronograph is also sooooooo beautiful!

Lange1815UpDown-4.jpg

I wonder if I can return the car to the dealer... *sob sob*

starian

Different time zones.

The main one is your reference time.

The sub dial tells the time of the country you're in. You can press on the pusher to advance the country depending on where you are and this particular dial will advance the hour accordingly.

There is also the day night indicator for each time zone.

It's damn useful! I like the GL1 moon phase, but this is way better practically.

Hodinkee will explain more.

The unique thing about ALS is that they have a dedicated pusher to advance the dates accordingly as well.

A Week On The Wrist: The A. Lange & Söhne Lange 1 Time Zone Luminous

Wow I just got poisoned by you too! This is pure watch orgasm.

Triste

Wow I just got poisoned by you too! This is pure watch orgasm.

What can I say man.

If anyone asks, Russell will definitely remember my story.:(

Sian TTM

Good price for such a handsome looking piece.

Triste

Lange1815UpDown-4.jpg

Very nice. That's the beauty about ALS watches.

Simplicity at its best.

But as it is, I need another complication other than chronos. Personally.:o

Azrielsc

I wonder if anyone of you have seen a particular watch and it just "speaks" to you?

I am no watch collector nor can I hold any conversation about the movements, style, history, etc, of any watch... a genuine watch goondu.

But once in a blue moon, luckily of course, you come across a watch that just draws you in, every intricacy magnified, and beckons you to hold it, caress it and finally allows you to wear it on your wrist.

I think the ALS 1815 chronograph/Timezone just ticks the right boxes and tugs at your heartstrings, and finally the purse strings too.

Sign.

Kns... any more and I would be writing poetry... Sibei drama.

starian

What can I say man.

If anyone asks, Russell will definitely remember my story.:(

Sian TTM

Good price for such a handsome looking piece.

The guide says price at 50.1k (usd?)

Yap your price is good! Haiz. Never mind another door will open for you. :)

TeenTitan01

boys! boys! (and girl ;))...

didn't unker teentian01 said earlier that ALS will be the new PP?

see lah! unker can see ahead and seldom wrong one. :D

all the elite dai kors and dai lo here all either got one (iceflight dai kor dai), nearly got one (and you will be getting the one you want at the price you like, not to worry triste dai kor), lusting after one (Azrielsc dai kor) and soon will also join the light side of the force and pledge his love to ALS (yeah, i'm referring to you, yattokame dai kor ;)).

PP should be sweating & trembling in fear now with the mass exodus to ALS!!! they better up their game!!!

ALS poison is sibeh tok kong!!!

"we are the ALS. resistance is futile."

:D

ps Azrielsc kor kor, don't forget about the humble omega speedmaster professional moonwatch even as the ALS poison is working its way through you hor, roflmao...

TeenTitan01

Lange1815UpDown-4.jpg

ok... i make an exception regarding the "rule" that dress watches shouldn't have arabic numerals for the ALS 1815 up/down... because it's so sexy!!! :love::love::love:

Henabi

you can change with any aftermarket leather strap, what pattern also have :s13:

I went down to Bras Basah to ask... the uncle say the bracelet very difficult to change cuz need to cut here...cut there...

TeenTitan01

Only reason lusting after the ALS is that I want a dress watch. :)

ALS is the preeminent choice if you asked me.

ALS, while having established itself with uber sexy models in its lineup, is working hard and consistently outdoing itself every year.

you gotta hand it to the germans for their relentless pursuit of excellence & perfection, besides over-engineering stuff to a fault (which is a good thing).

going by how things are moving, ALS can easily take the place of PP in time to come. as it is, the beauty of their designs, their fine finish on both their movements and everything else is, dare i say, even better than PP, and with their output being less than PP, more exclusive & desirable as well. also, they've already announced the planned production of 6 only usd2.7mil grand complication. their lucky owners are definitely assured of a good return should they ever want to release it at antiquorium or christies or sothebys in the future.

ALS. the new PP in the making.

all ALS needs now is some deep-pocketed billionnaire watch nut/nerd(s) to present a similar henry graves jr / james ward packard rivalry/challenge for them to further cement their ascendency to the top of haute horology!

rboyboy

The ALS World Time is really nice! OMG POISON AT ITS BEST but I have a cure. The cure is an empty bank account. :D

iceflight

SICC security very on the ball btw.. LOL..

No problem getting in.... If really ask then say invited by member.. Call me

I would want to wear my casio but I dropped it while in HKG. Sentimental value of all the mud, sweat and tears gone. :(

Anyway, SICC is quite an intimidating place especially to meet people especially if it's all their first time. To me, somewhere outdoor would be better. I'm very 'uncle' even though only 27 so if can I'll suggest kopi tiam or even hawker centre one.

I wouldn't meet kopi tiam if I can attend, the watches are quite costly, security is important when showing watches...

SICC nobody will take a second look at the tables unless u become rowdy or talk too loud

did you counter-offer with a higher bid?

anyway, dai dai kor triste, maybe you can catch up with dai kor dai iceflight during the outing or PM him and ask how he can help.

serious.

if you look through his helpful posts couple of days ago! :eek:

maybe give him a nice ang pao as a lucky token or any present he might like as an appreciation gift??

To help at good price. ... No problem...no need gift... Thanks anyway for the suggestion

that was a couple of yrs ago..... have u seen an RM010 RG for 40k-ish now? my fren just bought hers, preowned for close to 60k.

I didn't think I would pull the trigger then, as much as I liked RM but 40k was unchartered territory for watches for me then. But then I realized listed price at the boutique were like 90k+ then I decided I should go for one.

preowned RM010 RG for 50k. dont think it's possible now.

See ! RM resale in few year some more appreciate, in fact my limited ed RM11 now sell, I actually make money... Only 2 months old...

Boutique's list is 67k i think. It's a complication that I actually would use too!

I managed to find it for 45k.:( This is a nice size some more, 41.9mm.

Brand new, local AD.

I rather get the savings than to enjoy champagne at ALS boutique.:(

I will never get from grey market for the money u r going to pay, warranty, parts dunno got Kenna change, dunno got drop Kenna micro damage, some many uncertainties, rather pay a bit more for brand new from AD, from wat I see on line prices, many are even more ex or about the same as brand new from local AD, from the discounted price. If 45k and local AD 49k I rather buy local, peace of mind..

TeenTitan01

No problem getting in.... If really ask then say invited by member.. Call me

I wouldn't meet kopi tiam if I can attend, the watches are quite costly, security is important when showing watches...

SICC nobody will take a second look at the tables unless u become rowdy or talk too loud

To help at good price. ... No problem...no need gift... Thanks anyway for the suggestion

See ! RM resale in few year some more appreciate, in fact my limited ed RM11 now sell, I actually make money... Only 2 months old...

I will never get from grey market for the money u r going to pay, warranty, parts dunno got Kenna change, dunno got drop Kenna micro damage, some many uncertainties, rather pay a bit more for brand new from AD, from wat I see on line prices, many are even more ex or about the same as brand new from local AD, from the discounted price. If 45k and local AD 49k I rather buy local, peace of mind..

elite dai lo iceflight always so dai fong (da4 fang1) one! respect!!! :D

ok boys, take home message from the watch gods for the day is: hoot ALS & RM and huat big big ah!!!

huat ah!!!!!!!!

iceflight

If u can bring us all into SICC (am sure u can since u suggested it?), it will be a nice venue (and an eye opener at least for me). I need to lompang somebody's car in/out though. Too far in to walk! And must tell us the dress code cos we don't want to be left at the door!

Of course to suggest means I'm a member.. No dress code, t shirt and jeans ok... Actually go there not atas place, nobody wil give a second look

If the boutique can do 20-25%, no qualms about it.

But as it is, even ADs are hard pressed to give a higher discount. Plus ALS is taking back the distributorship locally.

The brand can only grow and purchasing one at a good price to me makes perfect sense.

I was about to get the Skydweller if anyone recalls, but man, ALS is so darn swee that I have cast aside plans to get the rollie. But ONLY and ONLY if it's at a good price.

I actually saw a Langematik perpetual for 56K sgd as well....

BUT SOLD!!!!!!!

My fiancé knows how sad I was yesterday.=(

Langematik perpetual at 56k, I buy 10... All resale market online cannot hit this price for a 10 year old piece.. Of course I say it's sold out... Or that there's something really wrong with the watch that u will land into costly repairs.... Good deals exist only with ah longs in casinos.. Haha

Sincere is the only AD dealing ALS and as far as I just checked is fully stocked, they now get to control their market outside boutique to easily give up? This is their competition against THG PP.
I just spoken to the top gun in sincere now... He assures me it's BS...

You might have hit a con man... No offense... I can help u get a discount to make u smile and get your watch... Cheers....

Btw. ALS will increase price by 8% in April

TeenTitan01

How A. Lange & Söhne goes about making watches - Livemint

How A. Lange & Söhne goes about making watches

A step-by-step guide to how A. Lange & Söhne makes a wristwatch

ALS_family_building--621x414.jpg

A. Lange & Söhne family building in Glashütte in Germany’s Saxony province.
Hidden away in Glashütte in Germany’s Saxony province, A. Lange & Söhne is one of the world’s finest watch brands. In an industry dominated by Swiss brands, Lange is a quintessentially German brand that makes magnificent timepieces in a quintessentially German way. On a recent visit to the brand’s manufacturing facilities in Glashütte, we were surprised by how un-industrial the workshops and production facilities look like.

In many ways, the watchmakers at Lange continue to put together their watches, both simple and complex, in methods that have changed very little over the 168 years of the brand’s existence. Of course, state-of-the-art machines are used to make certain components and strategic parts, and watchmakers no longer toil with ancient hand tools. Still, every single watch that comes out of the Lange factory is lavished attention by several pairs of hands over several manhours. These hands belong to engineers, technicians, watchmakers, electroplaters, jewellers, micro-mechanics and even fine artists.

So how does a brand like A. Lange & Söhne go about making watches? This is what we were told:

1. A big idea

All Lange watches live at least two lives. Before even a single part of a watch has been manufactured, let alone assembled, the designers and watchmakers sit together to first create a concept. After weeks, months and even years of agonizing over every little detail, this concept is then translated into a series of drawings that outline every single component. And watches run into hundreds of components.

2. Prototype

Each new concept is brought to life in the form of a prototype piece. Prototypes are often entirely made by hand and involve a significant investment in time, manpower and material. But the idea is to make sure that a particular watch concept is ready to be produced at scale.

3. Part by part

The first real step in actually making a watch is cutting hundreds of little pieces out of sheet metal. Most of this cutting is done by machines that are precise to fractions of a fraction of a millimetre. Modern watch movements are getting both smaller and more complex at the same time. This means that most of these parts have almost no tolerance for deviations in shape or size. The base plate—the main piece of metal on which the movement is mounted and which is usually visible through the glass caseback—is itself measured at more than 100 different places in order to make sure that every hole, curve and facet is perfectly machined.

4. Finishing

The manufactured parts then go through several stages of finishing. Initially, this involves smoothing off edges, rounding off holes, removing burrs, and eliminating any minor imperfections left over from the manufacturing process.

5. Cosmetic finishing

Next, several components are subjected to cosmetic surface finishes such as stripes or pearlage—a series of overlapping circular polishes. It is common for many brands to only use these time-consuming finishes on parts that are visible on the outside. At Lange, however, surface finishes are mandatory on many parts that are enclosed within the movement. Lange watchmakers claim this is both a certain obsession with perfection and can also have beneficial impact on the watch’s operation.

6. Micro art

Certain timepieces are decorated with little flourishes of art. Lange has a team of engravers who finish certain parts, such as balance cocks, with hand-engraving. The effect is visually superb. But they also add an element of uniqueness to the watch: each engraver has an individual style, and no two engravings are ever the same. Also, some customers place orders for personalized engraved designs.

7. A good polish

The final treatment on a component, usually, is a thorough polish. And depending on the part and its shape, this can take from a few hours to several days. The process is not only exhausting, but also fraught with frustration—a perfectly hand-polished part can often be scratched during assembly. This means it is sent back to be polished all over again. Over-polish it, though, and it becomes unfit for use. You have to start all over again. Nein!

8. Modules

A Lange mechanical watch has hundreds of parts. And many of these parts are grouped into individual modules. In the next stage of manufacturing, and the first stage of assembly, these modules are painstakingly put together. Modules can range from the exceedingly simple to the nerve-shreddingly complex that requires an expert to spend hours peering through a microscope.

9. First assembly

Every Lange watch is assembled not once, but twice. In the first assembly, all the modules and parts are put together to ensure structural and operational integrity. If anything doesn’t work perfectly, it is repaired or replaced. Some of Lange’s more complicated watches can take weeks to assemble, and these are usually reserved for only the most experienced master watchmakers.

10. Second assembly

If the assembly proceeds without incident…the watch is broken down again to the smallest parts, cleaned, oiled, double-checked, sometimes refinished and decorated, and then put together again. Most brands are happy to assemble a watch just once. Lange is not like most brands. And like we said before, even the slightest scratch or dent…and it’s back to Step 8.

11. A case for quality

Now that we have a functioning movement, the beating heart of the watch is encased and subjected to a quality control system that runs for up to six weeks. Only after it passes a battery of tests is the watch ready to be packed and shipped.

Triste

Of course to suggest means I'm a member.. No dress code, t shirt and jeans ok... Actually go there not atas place, nobody wil give a second look

Langematik perpetual at 56k, I buy 10... All resale market online cannot hit this price for a 10 year old piece.. Of course I say it's sold out... Or that there's something really wrong with the watch that u will land into costly repairs.... Good deals exist only with ah longs in casinos.. Haha

Sincere is the only AD dealing ALS and as far as I just checked is fully stocked, they now get to control their market outside boutique to easily give up? This is their competition against THG PP.
I just spoken to the top gun in sincere now... He assures me it's BS...

You might have hit a con man... No offense... I can help u get a discount to make u smile and get your watch... Cheers....

Btw. ALS will increase price by 8% in April

Thanks ice flight,

But honestly I can't stomach the boutique's discount of max 5-9.9%. If Sincere can offer 20%-25%, it'll be great and I'll be glad to use your reference. I really want that discount and don't paying a bit more premium at a local AD. I know that richemont will raise their prices again in April.

I could be wrong, but that's what i heard anyway for the timezone piece and how it got its awesome pricing. My main concern is getting one at a good price because I want my money to stretch. I'm really looking for a good price on the RG timezone which I just missed out.

For the Langematik perpetual, the price which I saw isn't too far fetched as well

This particular piece's price which I saw wasn't in Singapore. It was where I visited last year in Japan, Kame-kichi. They're extremely reliable. I've been there and viewed their Lange pieces as well, the arkade and Lange1 where I was there to buy my rolex.

¥é¥ó¥²¡õ¥¾¡¼¥Í ¥é¥ó¥²¥Þ¥Æ¥£¥Ã¥¯¥Ñ¡¼¥Ú¥Á¥å¥¢¥ë 310.021 - ¤Þ¤¸¤á¤Ê¤È¤±¤¤¤ä ¤«¤áµÈ

Now if one cross-references and checks on chrono24.sg, the prices don't deviate too far off as well for the YG version. Is it a con-job? I doubt so.

Prices for A. Lange & Söhne Langematik Perpetual watches | prices for Langematik Perpetual watches at Chrono24

I've viewed other forums such as rolexforums and some articles and it is a common topic that ALS's resale value is lower than that of PP, in the secondary market.

ALS is definitely an up and coming brand, but I will only get a piece at the right price. I cannot afford paying that extra 10-15k.

All in a Day

Just fell in love with the ALS 1 Time Zone and the ALS 1815 Chronograph.

I think I just died and gone to heaven... Will be dreaming of these pieces for the longest time.

Damn this forum is poisonous!

I've got the best poison antidote: i cannot afford those poisonous watches! Hahaha

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.