The Watch Thread - Part 4

Donten

Picked up a Sinn UX from the THG sale today. Just one small room with many many staff... Some nice speedmaster sapphire sandwich, no popular Tudors, nice iwc pilots, didn't have the FC slim line moonphase that I was gunning for as well..

what other sinn available?

Paladium

Hmm ok. If that's really the reason, suggest you can check out invicta watches. These are designed to look even closer to the submariner.

Personally like the seiko divers with the signature crown at 4 o'clock and g-shock style rubber strap but was always too expensive to get as a kid. With lifestyle/life cycle changes, forgot about this watch already.. Now the temptation has been re-kindled.. heh

Haha I will never buy an invicta. I like how the skx031 homages the submariner but still look different. A gd alternative when I want to wear a watch with the sub aesthetics without wearing my actual sub. ;)

Paladium

Ok, today I went to the AP Boutique. Actually was quite skeptical to go in as feel a bit uneasy.

Anyway, I was really surprise by the SA friendly hospitality and did not really looked down on me as I am only wearing a T-shirt and jean but wearing my UN. He even offered me a drink.

I've always been hesitant to step into AP boutique but might try after reading their friendliness towards you. Want to check out the ROs.

exxondus

Still outside.

Later when i go home then report to u all.

By the way, those going to ChinaTown to buy things for CNY.
Please do not get con. I nearly did so but at last walk off without buying the jelly sweet. They charged me $108 for buying 10Kg of the jelly sweet..................:eek:

Ya dun get conned. Last time i go eat then wanna buy thinking cheap. But when make payment that time, they will right in front of u add more so that they can charge u siao siao prices.

exxondus

AP only got 1 rose gold RO.

For those interested to get a Tudor, IWC, Breitling, Tag Heuer, Sinn, Harry Winston, Glashuette can go down and take a look. The discount is good.

Hope my memory is correct.......................:s8:

Thking of gg during my lunch break. But q long or not? I recall last time q till lift there. Damn jia lak

Henabi

Ya dun get conned. Last time i go eat then wanna buy thinking cheap. But when make payment that time, they will right in front of u add more so that they can charge u siao siao prices.

For a long long time I nv go chinatown buy CNY stuff liao... cuz really ex

Henabi

Picked up a Sinn UX from the THG sale today. Just one small room with many many staff... Some nice speedmaster sapphire sandwich, no popular Tudors, nice iwc pilots, didn't have the FC slim line moonphase that I was gunning for as well..

Nice hoot :)

hwaa

For a long long time I nv go chinatown buy CNY stuff liao... cuz really ex

once a year must go rah.. go soak soak into the atmosphere.

cny stuffs also neber buy much, go look see look see buy some cute cute angbaos to bao.

Optrex

u will never get pelagos and blackbay at those discount one lah... :D

cos even at retail with 5-10% discount it's already very popular and hard to find one in stocks.

Probably ba.. Cause the stocks sell quite fast for these models. Are they still so short of stock now? Havent checked since i made my purchase of the Pelagos late last year. Bought at a good price with slightly higher that 10% discount and maybank installment waiver.

balzebub

what other sinn available?

I saw the 6100, 6110 series, plenty of 556, 856, 857 with UTC, a u200 in white that's about it i think. No U1, U2 or other U series. Anyone looking to buy u2 can look for me haha..

Anyway the THG sales staff were actively asking if you want to pay by instalment with POSB/DBS, ciitibank etc with the same sale discounts applied.

ComicBoy

Ok, today I went to the AP Boutique. Actually was quite skeptical to go in as feel a bit uneasy.

Anyway, I was really surprise by the SA friendly hospitality and did not really looked down on me as I am only wearing a T-shirt and jean but wearing my UN. He even offered me a drink.

Actually my intention was to check up the price of this latest ceramic model :

aud-2013-26402ce-oo-a002ca-2-f2-3-jpg_1007884.jpg

Price was $54400 but with 5% discount so about $51.5K after that.

He told me that all AP models price had went up since First of Jan but he doesn't know by how much as he told me it's depend on model.

The demand for Rose gold watches also on the rise since GOLD price is low now as he told me.

I also asked the stainless steel version which is at $43.4K, Bro Triste one, ceramic with forge carbon at $48.4K and the gold with ceramic at $61.4K. All prices haven't discounted 5% yet.

The surprise one is the bumblebee is selling at $46.1K......................:s22:
He told me this one had raised a lot due to high demand.

All watches come with 5 years warranty. If getting from THG maybe can get more discount up to 15 or 20% but warranty only 2 years.

After that I went to luxurytime and take a look and surprisingly I saw a brand new seal PP. Think it's bro yattokame one. The price is really very very good but I had no money.......................:o

The difference in discounts offered by the boutique versus those offered by ADs can be quite substantial. So for a $50k watch, it could be S$2.5k from boutique vs S$10k by ADs. However, because the boutique has got an extra 3 years of warranty, is it worth the extra money that we need to fork out???

All in a Day

Sorry.. swaku.. what is UN ah?

yattokame

The difference in discounts offered by the boutique versus those offered by ADs can be quite substantial. So for a $50k watch, it could be S$2.5k from boutique vs S$10k by ADs. However, because the boutique has got an extra 3 years of warranty, is it worth the extra money that we need to fork out???

Ya that was my concern also.

The patek boutique quoted me $58k while THG gave me a good discount, lets put it ard $45k.

13k......is it worth that 3yrs extra of warranty? I dunno man.

All in a Day

The price difference is alot. Personally, I would get from boutique rather than AD only if the model is boutique exclusive or I really need it urgently and cannot afford to wait till AD has stock.

The extended warranty is probably useful for sending in for a servicing in the 4th or 5th year (worth maybe couple of thousands), but otherwise how often will your watch breakdown (*touchwood) to benefit from extended warranty? In fact, I am sure both seller or buyer would rather prefer not to encounter the situations where they have to make use of this "benefit".

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.