The Watch Thread - Part 4

All in a Day

I don't recall tangs plaza one have leh.

Paiseh, not speaking fr direct experience. But just thought tangs would have since i know they carry relatively high end brands there eg breguet n PP. If u planning more to try, why not head for the AP boutique at Liat Towers

yattokame

wads the difference when buying frm the actual boutique and AD?

Boutique quoted me $58k for my PP. AD about $45k.
But I understand the boutique gives longer warranty. And like what some of the guys here said....free straps, etc

yattokame

Paiseh, not speaking fr direct experience. But just thought tangs would have since i know they carry relatively high end brands there eg breguet n PP. If u planning more to try, why not head for the AP boutique at Liat Towers

it's a surprise birthday present for the missus and I know what to get already......and AD got discount.

cortina I know where have - my usual sales told me no stock though :(

All in a Day

I see. Hope u can find. U can head down to knightsbridge since someone confirmed the branch there does carry AP. They should have an inventory system that can tell u how many pieces and at which branch your model is available. If their sales model permits, they will offer to bring the piece to u at their branch (if the stock is at elsewhere) if u r committed ie pay deposit haha

tibetmonk

Larsson & Jennings

Hi everyone,

Anybody knows any shops that carry Larsson & Jennings watch in Singapore? Think Carpal Watch in Parklane Shopping Mall used to but they no longer do. Thank you!

99Nylon

Any budget/brand/design in mind? mustafa and bras basah should have a decent variety. U can also consider bencoolen and people's park too.

Budget? Type? Usage?

My budget is around $200 and below but can be adjusted accordingly. Probably for casual wear and looking for straps only

Currently looking at such designs:
t2n677-b.jpg
tissot-t019-430-16-051-00-heritage-visodate-ismail79-1208-27-ismail79@4.jpg

Henabi

in our case, I'm the paranoid one. have never travelled without our kids before. I'd miss them too much - I even asked my boss NOT to send me overseas anymore (yes that somehows affect my performance grade) because I cannot imagine spending a day without them around.

:s13::s13::s13: then this might be a good opportunity to just give your mind a rest and enjoy yourselves. Take it as a holiday away from kids.

tbh, some of my friends who have kids tell me that its important for married couples to spend some quality time together, away from kids, just like "dating"

For me... getting better discounts or cashback beats all those little, little free gifts, as some of those free gifts are not practical at all. Sometimes I can't understand why these shops are giving free gifts which are completely useless. Its machiam like they add them in just for the sake of it and hope that us consumers will be "suckers" and buy from them...
Anyway...sorry for my rants >.<

Coming back... if I am getting my very first luxury watch, then yes, I may want some of those free gifts if they are practical, like T-shirts, cap, keychains, watch display box, simple watch winder, free general servicing for the 1st few visits etc

yattokame

:s13::s13::s13: then this might be a good opportunity to just give your mind a rest and enjoy yourselves. Take it as a holiday away from kids.

tbh, some of my friends who have kids tell me that its important for married couples to spend some quality time together, away from kids, just like "dating"

For me... getting better discounts or cashback beats all those little, little free gifts, as some of those free gifts are not practical at all. Sometimes I can't understand why these shops are giving free gifts which are completely useless. Its machiam like they add them in just for the sake of it and hope that us consumers will be "suckers" and buy from them...

Coming back... if I am getting my very first luxury watch, then yes, I may want some of those free gifts if they are practical, like T-shirts, cap, keychains, watch display box, simple watch winder, free general servicing for the 1st few visits etc

Actually we do. We meet for lunch almost everyday and I send and pick her to and from work everyday.

Henabi

My budget is around $200 and below but can be adjusted accordingly. Probably for casual wear and looking for straps only

Currently looking at such designs:
t2n677-b.jpg
tissot-t019-430-16-051-00-heritage-visodate-ismail79-1208-27-ismail79@4.jpg

You can consider the following as well...
41QZ%2B324%2BJL._SL246_SX190_CR0,0,190,246_.jpg

41y%2Byb1tQpL._SL246_SX190_CR0,0,190,246_.jpg

41MxOoOSUaL._SL246_SX190_CR0,0,190,246_.jpg

Henabi

Actually we do. We meet for lunch almost everyday and I send and pick her to and from work everyday.

:s13: lolx yattokame bro... not this type lah hahaha... like staycation or overseas vacation lah =:p

ralliart12

Buying from Seiya Japan

Hi fellows. Thinking of getting a Seiko from Seiya Japan. Anything I need to take note when ordering from Seiya? Examples"

1. Are their Seiko grey sets? Will I have difficulty getting Seiya purchases serviced here in SG?

2. Can I buy insurance on top of the shipping?

3. How come some of the Seikos offered by Seiya are way lower than retail? Even lower than Amazon's pricing, for example.

Generally, anybody has experiences buying from Seiya to share?

patryn33

]

Look at orient
Ie
http://www.longislandwatch.com/Orient_Watches_s/1834.htm?searching=Y&sort=11&cat=1834&show=12&page=6

sky00sky

Maybe i share this...on the Free Gifts and Discounts
Me deals with consumer products so mih have some similarities.

Dunno the situation for watches but generally from what i know
AD usually not supposed give discount more then wat the brand owner stipulated. Else the price war and complains will go haywire.
(think NTUC,Giant, Sheng Song).

Since technically all same margin what they can do is give intangible things or even membership perks those kinda stuff to hide the dollars and cents.

But most of the time, pple in marketing changes frequently (use the product) and most of the time cant really have a feel of what actually the customer wants. So usually u will get something that fits into their budget and they feel it is the BEST BANG for the buck.

*how many of those pple there doing marketing are watch collectors u feel?*

For the other dealers since they dun fall under the AD tagging, they are pretty free-er to do what they want but unless the are giving too much discount which made them too famous or have some effect on the ADs business they can get away abit.
Unless the company is headed by a very experienced person in the field.

All in a Day

Maybe i share this...on the Free Gifts and Discounts
Me deals with consumer products so mih have some similarities.

Dunno the situation for watches but generally from what i know
AD usually not supposed give discount more then wat the brand owner stipulated. Else the price war and complains will go haywire.
(think NTUC,Giant, Sheng Song).

Since technically all same margin what they can do is give intangible things or even membership perks those kinda stuff to hide the dollars and cents.

But most of the time, pple in marketing changes frequently (use the product) and most of the time cant really have a feel of what actually the customer wants.

For the other dealers since they dun fall under the AD tagging, they are pretty free-er to do what they want but unless the are giving too much discount which made them too famous or have some effect on the ADs business they can get away abit.
Unless the company is headed by a very experienced person in the field.

Anybody have good experience w grey dealers bringing in BNIB? I guess for buying locally, grey will have the best prices?

techead

Well.... need to coordinate with your in laws or your parents to help take care of them for a few days and remember to tbe appreciative when you're back....
As for your wife... her mind will definitely be on your kids even when overseas.. so make it a point to do daily check in with a simple phone call.
You will definitely need to give a lot of assurance and reassurance to her throughout the trip that everything is gonna be fine... don't worry... just relax and enjoy this surprise... let her know that it has been years since both of you are able to enjoy some quiet and private moments together...

Oh one more thing. In case your kids fell ill... ask your in laws to keep it quiet first And settle it...
otherwise your wife will definitely wanna fly back asap. If she can't, probably you can call off the whole trip as her mind is no longer on "holiday mode"
And probably she may even scold you for arranging such things and warn you against doing so in future...

Wah Bro

you jin romantic =:p

yattokame

:s13: lolx yattokame bro... not this type lah hahaha... like staycation or overseas vacation lah =:p

Yeah we usually do staycation at MBS or RWS 3D2N.

But with the kids though.

Its me lah I cannot let go of the kids.

xtwis7

Between the Rolex TT blue and gold sub and a AP RO day date, which one would you all choose?

ap055_im.jpg

rolex_submariner_16613_f_tisd1q_1_1.jpg

hwaa

Yeah we usually do staycation at MBS or RWS 3D2N.

But with the kids though.

Its me lah I cannot let go of the kids.

yalor can understand... cos years later the kids will not wanna hang out with us already. :o

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.