The Watch Thread - Part 4

TeenTitan01

Taking a break at Starbucks before meeting my friend, didn't expect my time at AP to be so short .. However, totally enjoyed my time in ALS just now :o, the staff was kind and I do not have any "guilt" of wasting my time, totally appreciate their time(no pun intended) and watch.

I remember ALS was the first high end boutique I ever enter (Unless you count IWC as a high end, then ALS will be second). When I first enter, I know nuts about the brand, all I did was ask if I take a look at Lange.

And how do I pronounce it?

Lange. Lange. Lange. Not Lan-ge. :s8:... bet they had a good laugh at me.=:p... and I felt nervous handling their watch, I mean... 10k for a watch!!! Crazy!!!

Fast forward today, I stepped in with more knowledge with the brand and watch in general. Browse around, requested to take a look at Grand Lange 1(Yes!!! I pronounce as Lan-ge this time :s8:), Zeitwerk Striking Time and as well as Richard Lange Terraluna.

I took it up and molested them, put them on my wrist, knowing that some of them even cost six digits and above. Damn, what was I doing few months ago when I know a watch is over 10k? :s13:...

Had a great experience and time today ... topped my experience at Vaheron already. Guess what? Zeitwerk Rose gold overtake 5712R as my holy grail :D....

Wow Richard Lange Terraluna... just wow. From build quality to price all wow... much wow. /doge

Hmmmmm

Ok maybe I shld relook at ALS. RG with brown strap.

i predict that ALS will be the new PP, if not already eclipsing it. it just that the public doesn't know it yet.

their annual production is less than PP, making them more exclusive.

but what merits their ascendancy over PP is their relentless, continual effort to outdo themselves each time, which outpaces PP. their beautiful movements already stand toe to toe with PP, with meticulous and fine fit & finish.

as an aside, i dropped by vc boutique at mbs again recently. their patrimony is nice, the lady SA was ok, but one of the male SA was a snooty little prick.

the SA at chopard boutique @ mbs on the other hand is warm, friendly and knowledgeable. a pleasure interacting with him. do check out L.U.C watches, especially their XPS. beautiful inhouse movements with micro rotor like PP, and dual stacked barrels giving it 65 hrs power reserve. geneva seal pieces abound.

The Wristwatch Blog: REVIEW: Chopard L.U.C. XPS 18K White Gold

Chopard-LUC-XPS-18_White-Gold-wristshot-5-thumb-660x440-20109.jpg

Chopard-LUC-XPS-18_White-Gold-movement-3-thumb-660x440-20111.jpg

they also have an 8Hz(!) watch, the L.U.C. 8HF with silicium parts and their prices are in vc's territory.

Pulse-Quickening Timepieces | Watches | Robb Report - The Global Luxury Source

the piaget boutique is also not bad, although their 38mm altiplano doesn't have a sapphire caseback.

ALS as a brand is exciting & energetic. my lone experience at their boutique team is professional. must drop by ion soon. maybe.

TeenTitan01

Used to have a lawyer friend who is a watch connoisseur and he has been nagging at me to get an ALS Lange 1 or an F.P. Journe.

Just graduated then how to afford? Have lost touch since then. Now then finally understand why he keep pushing to me.

told you folks yattokame kor kor is lawyer lor!

:D

yattokame

But still.....If it doesnt speak to you its not meant to be. Even if its a PP or ALS.

Unless you're a brand ***** like me.

TeenTitan01

Hi All,

went to see the watch today, cannot resist the poison, went there to see see and tempt myself but in the end cannot resist ............ end up with me now.....haizzzz!!!!

Also that there are only 2 pieces in Singapore and the price of ALS is going up by 8% in April..... see all this sales tactics!!!

The box that is also a winder is magnificent!!! Really beautiful!!!

Pardon the pics, camera no battery so use iphone....

a2673bab-7a44-4a09-9164-d11ccd5cc14e.jpg

IMG_0722.jpg

Lots of stuff to read to justify to yourself it's a good buy!!!

IMG_0724.jpg

The Dial is actually much whiter than this pics, I compared with the Platinum piece over and over and the Platinum piece in real life just do not stand out, really not nice, if platinum the dial should be in Black then it's a killer

IMG_0729.jpg

The back is really nicely made, got the deployant clasp, again I say it's a silly policy to charge on top of tang buckle, deployant clasp is friction lock and very difficult to close, that's a minus one for an almost S$3k top up.

IMG_0730.jpg

IMG_0731.jpg

Finally the 2 side by side, I'm glad I bought or I'll be thinking of it for the next few days...

IMG_0732.jpg

ho..................ly !!!!!!!! :eek:

CONGRATULATIONS ON YOUR FINE, FINE ACQUISITION, ICEFLIGHT KOR KOR !!!!!!!!

WHAT BEAUTIFUL, BEAUTIFUL, BEAUTIFUL TIMEPIECES !!!!!!!!

ICEFLIGHT KOR KOR VERY SATKI & TOK KONG !!!!!!!!

HOOT MEANS HOOT LIAO !!!!!!!!

THANKS FOR SHARING YOUR JOY WITH US !!!!!!!!

aerolord

Just now I type half way nia!

Then later on I walk to AP boutique at liat tower... my experience is not very nice as compared to other higher end boutique... firstly their door is auto lock and I jerk the door a few times... /paiseh

Then the person inside press the button to release the lock... The SA inside not very knowledgeable enough, in terms of AP and watch in general as she kept referring to the book and have no idea of the newer releases.

Plus she thought my Black Bay is rolex...

After testing ALS, AP like bo fweel riao :(

yattokame

What kor kor

Pls call him
Dai kor dai

iceflight

Thanks thanks:D:D. Actually dun wan to hoot so fast but the flesh is weak....

Just now I type half way nia!

Then later on I walk to AP boutique at liat tower... my experience is not very nice as compared to other higher end boutique... firstly their door is auto lock and I jerk the door a few times... /paiseh

Then the person inside press the button to release the lock... The SA inside not very knowledgeable enough, in terms of AP and watch in general as she kept referring to the book and have no idea of the newer releases.

Plus she thought my Black Bay is rolex...

After testing ALS, AP like bo fweel riao :(

I've never have any love for AP, even though they make good movements, just looks blocky to me , as Yatto says this one brand do not sing to me, all I hear are croaks:eek:

beerope

Anyone here can share opinions on the perrelet turbine? Does it look gimicky and toy-like or is it unique? Would you buy it?

yattokame

Thanks thanks:D:D. Actually dun wan to hoot so fast but the flesh is weak....

I've never have any love for AP, even though they make good movements, just looks blocky to me , as Yatto says this one brand do not sing to me, all I hear are croaks:eek:

Some look like G shocks to me. Seriously.

Nakedtoes

I still hesitate to ask my grey seller to order the daytona.. Sad sad
But really thanks ICEFLIGHT for sharing his hoot

yattokame

Anyone here can share opinions on the perrelet turbine? Does it look gimicky and toy-like or is it unique? Would you buy it?

I rem collectorstime was selling a few pcs of the erotic LE turbine.
I wouldnt buy it. Gimmicky.

iceflight

Just making sure u are paying attention.

But seriously.....ALS on par with patek? Brand wise.

Yes, brand hor like me check thoroughly before decision, as such when I went looking for perpetual, it was between PP and ALS.

Why I didn't take PP?

No digits date, only on needle pointer like nautilus, I cannot see clearly.

No seconds hands , dunno watch moving or not???

Very dressy but do look classy, a bit too simple

Of course I found a PP I like with instantaneous digit date perpetual, also comes with minute repeater and tourbillon. But must order and wait for 1 year... Price 900k Swiss francs.... I'm sorry but at my level I cannot justify paying for it equal to a Ferrari F12 Berlinetta... I rather get the Ferrari :eek:

TeenTitan01

ok i am sure I'll kena left right centre up down for this but......
just from pics alone I still prefer the IWC perpetual over the ALS perpetual leh. :s22:

why?! yattokame, kor kor?! why?! oh, why?!!!

arrrggghhh..........!!!

:s22:

but you happy can liao!

yattokame

Yes, brand hor like me check thoroughly before decision, as such when I went looking for perpetual, it was between PP and ALS.

Why I didn't take PP?

No digits date, only on needle pointer like nautilus, I cannot see clearly.

No seconds hands , dunno watch moving or not???

Very dressy but do look classy, a bit too simple

Of course I found a PP I like with instantaneous digit date perpetual, also comes with minute repeater and tourbillon. But must order and wait for 1 year... Price 900k Swiss francs.... I'm sorry but at my level I cannot justify paying for it equal to a Ferrari F12 Berlinetta... I rather get the Ferrari :eek:

Honestly i havent found a PP dress watch that I like, within or beyond my budget. Its just not me.

But the IWC really sings to me.

yattokame

why?! yattokame, kor kor?! why?! oh, why?!!!

arrrggghhh..........!!!

:s22:

but you happy can liao!

勉强。。。是没有幸福的

Hahahahaha

Honestly lah. I preferred the la tradition and YG GMT over the nautilus. But i still bought the nautilus. You all already know the reason.
I guess I will end up NOT buying the iwc too.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.