The Watch Thread - Part 4

All in a Day

Over priced for whatever the watch maker has to offer. Watches in the 1k to 5k range don't value add much to their watch after putting in a stock eta. So, it doesn't really worth the money to spend 5k on an exact same movement when you can get some under 1k. Or use the 5k on a vintage respectable brand

I can follow that rationale but i find that quite a generalisation. Apart from movement, there are factors like design, materials used that may hold value to people. Comparing to pre owned/vintage is not very fair as all things equal, the pre owned will def cost less (not considering cult/LE discontinued models)

Azrielsc

thumbs up! the nxt time I see someone with a pam in funky strap colours its probably gonna be you!

Wave and introduce yourself! I don't see many others having funky colours for their Pams, maybe only Arcfire! :)

You all can differentiate the various Pam models? They all look the same to me leh

Different. Based on my understanding different models have different casing and dial type, some with power reserve function etc some do not. Must ask the pam experts here for detailed explanation.

Try this website: http://paneraisource.com/

It explains the differences between Pam models. Before I was interested in Pams, I was also confused as they all "look the same", but the more I delved into them, then the differences started to show.

xtwis7

I think an Orient Star will look very nice on a lady's wrist. Can I confirm that the watch is about 39mm?

Paladium

Can we get better price for sure for group buy? If yes I am in, available this weekend. Sat noon or early afternoon.

Dayum! That blued-hand Orient watch is so sweet! Will make the perfect birthday present for the other half.

Thanks guys for pointing it out and also for the where-to-buy info, but does anyone know which shop to go to exactly?

And Anyone wanna do a possible group buy?

See now you two can go and bargain for more discount. :D

Hmm...so of all the places you listed above. Which one confirm have the blue hands orient star? Or which place is the best to visit for purchase?

This is where your legwork comes into play. ;)

lingalong

i think this one quite chio~~ :love:
orient_zps2832aa0b.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]

this also
orient2_zps4a9b1710.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]

any views?

Vanilla Way

First rolex.... then stowa...now orient star...

opps... seems like the poison is working lolx

I'm not so scary lol. Effectively I'm only buying 2 watches for myself :s13: Still alright cause despite getting both it's well within my budget :D

Henabi

I think an Orient Star will look very nice on a lady's wrist. Can I confirm that the watch is about 39mm?

For orient star classic The dial face is 39mm. If including the metal casing abt 41mm.

just one more thing is that the glass cover is dome shape. ... so try not to avoid hard objects knocking against it hard

xtwis7

For orient star classic The dial face is 39mm. If including the metal casing abt 41mm.

Thanks for the accurate description. May get one for the gf on our 5th year anniversary. Would have loved to get her a Celine mini luggage but that will probably be reserved for a few more years.

Besides bambino and orient star, are there other recommended models?

Henabi

i think this one quite chio~~ :love:
orient_zps2832aa0b.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]

this also
orient2_zps4a9b1710.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]

any views?

Very nice Choice on the Orient calender. Mustafa bencoolen carry this model

for the open heart...I'm not too sure. I prefer full skelly

Henabi

Thanks for the accurate description. May get one for the gf on our 5th year anniversary. Would have loved to get her a Celine mini luggage but that will probably be reserved for a few more years.

Besides bambino and orient star, are there other recommended models?

Bambino is great affordable dress watch. Two versions iirc... before 2012 & after 2012. Better movement and colours different.

Into sports? Look at m force

lingalong

Very nice Choice on the Orient calender. Mustafa bencoolen carry this model

for the open heart...I'm not too sure. I prefer full skelly

Why are orient watches so much cheaper than other brands is it because of the movement or..?:s11::s11:

Oceania

Wins United Watch Pte Ltd
180 Bencoolen Street
#01-74, Bencoolen Shopping Mall
Singapore 189646
Tel: 6336 7248 / 6341 9828
Opening Hours
Mon – Sun 11am – 9pm
show_resize_image.php

wow... anyone knows how long has Wins United Watch been ard at bencoolen? I can't really remember but i think i may have purchased my dad's seiko kinetic from here 18 years ago...

takuyazzz

Since we're on this topic, here are the straps currently on a few of my watches now. Most satisfied with the 7F baby hornback one custom made by strap66.

IMG_20140304_212518_zps4irv4uvu.jpg

fabiaN__

Different. Based on my understanding different models have different casing and dial type, some with power reserve function etc some do not. Must ask the pam experts here for detailed explanation.

Yeah lor. Got many casings and sizes.. e.g. Luminor, Luminor 1950, Radomir, Submersible... from 40mm to 47mm...

Movements range from ETA (?) to in house movements P.3000, 5000, 9000 etc..

Dials got painted and sandwich dials.. "Luminor" on dial means no second hand.. "Luminor Marina" will have a second hand.. haha

Many stuff ah.. me also blur. :o

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.