The Watch Thread - Part 4

fade_white

I'm not sure how they check it though.
What u get is a receipt stating the cost paid as $107 and they tell u verbally its verified.

I think its ok. Thats why u need to view the watch and stuff. No wear and tear mah. But another school of thought says the best way to maintain a watch is to let it run.

Rolex will open up the watch and check in the movements. Check the serial number on the watch, on the strap etc

then issue you a receipt telling you if this watch is real rolex or fake rolex

OMB: What Rolex Service Centre does???

whether is it recommended to get from the open market?! well... its up to you and how comfortable you are...
a 2010 rolex shouldn't be difficult to get it Brand new in a Rolex shop. although its gonna cost you a few thousands more but at least it gives you the confirmation that its real.
plus, if you buy repeatedly from the same person in the same shop like Yatto dai dai kor... the person might be able to flex some muscle and do some magic ^.^

Thanks bencheongcm...

My dad's rolex sat in the safe for 8 years before he passed to me and it's still working fine. So i reckon it should be fine. Just be sure to get it oiled up if u are afraid.

Thanks... BTW anyone bought from yeokimchoy from sgroc? really not necessary for authentication if get from him? Paiseh... first time getting from grey... PM me if not convenient to post..

socketer

Thanks... BTW anyone bought from yeokimchoy from sgroc? really not necessary for authentication if get from him? Paiseh... first time getting from grey... PM me if not convenient to post..

he really quite reputable one... but but, if you really wanna have a peace of mind, can go independent watchmakers like tophour or those golden landmark shops who can open up the case back and verify for you... you can even take photos and take down your movement serial number* (to buy 4D)... waterproofing test at the independent watchmakers is optional (and chargeable if you are not on good terms with them, of coz dun expect testing to sea dweller depths, typically 100-200m is no issue). They probably will charge you $30 thereabts, and take much less time than rolex....

Note that rolex maintains a database of movement serial number to case number, so if your movement gets swapped, rolex will know.... but they will still service the watch (if its genuine) nonetheless lars...

Nakedtoes

Sounds good to me but maybe next time will consider haha.
Thanks for sharing and appreciate it.
still kinda scare kena conned or seller change parts.

The watch I bought is wrapped tightly by factory stickers need to remove sticker so that RSC can open the caseback to check authentic or not.

Nakedtoes

I bought from another grey n meet at RSC. After authentication I then pass them the cash..Peace of mind. What model u buying. Different grey got cheaper price for different model.

info_guy

My advice is to always get it authenticated when u buy any watch other than an AD or a boutique.

Why? Because even if the seller is reputable and honest, his source may not be as clean and might throw in a bogey amongst the gems

vtkm613

1. Can someone tell me the look/class/prestige feel of
Jaeger LeCoultre Grande Reverso Ultra Thin Duoface & Grande Reservo Duo?(Looking to purchase brand new for business meetings and formal events)

2.Places/shops/stores to purchase brand new Jaeger Lecoultre watches but cheaper?

3. Can someone list down the shops or stores(locations) that carry lots of used Jaeger LeCoultre/Omega watches?(Looking for Jaeger LeCoultre/Omega ones but for work and daily walk about so won't feel emotional or waste time harbouring over some scratches when during those process)

Thanks

info_guy

Starting on another case watch project :o

4412049ae06d30194a037c0094e9c01b_zpsa6e4adca.jpg

Henabi

jin expert man......i cant tell the difference in the dial and the strap leh :(

carrera.jpg

24YpUaUh.jpg

Why compare with an official advertising picture which has been heavily photoshopped?
Please Use real ones instead to compare.

If you wanna find out how to tell the difference then bring this replicate and compare with a real Calibre 1 vintage.

But if your motive of posting this replicate is to discuss how to spot real n fake... I'm sure there are many TH lovers who are willing to share

Oceania

yeokimchoy is very reputable, i can vouch for him as I dealt with him before. True to his words, no gimmicks, no nonsense. But if you really need a peace of mind, just deal at RSC and have it authenticated if you wish, but you have to buy 2 eggs and kopi for him while he waits :s13:

Henabi

yeokimchoy is very reputable, i can vouch for him as I dealt with him before. True to his words, no gimmicks, no nonsense. But if you really need a peace of mind, just deal at RSC and have it authenticated if you wish, but you have to buy 2 eggs and kopi for him while he waits :s13:

I think he is famous for the last sentence ^.^

fade_white

Wah he's serious about that? I thought it's joking one.

But nowadays authentication take a day right?

trd2970

My advice is to always get it authenticated when u buy any watch other than an AD or a boutique.

Why? Because even if the seller is reputable and honest, his source may not be as clean and might throw in a bogey amongst the gems
I second that.

josephkjc

Bought from him before. Very good reputation and very nice guy to deal with. Didn't do authentication when I get from him.
All up to you whether you wanna have a piece of kind and better sleep Lol.

trd2970

The model you bought is a current one. While recently there have been pictures of your model with the new "dssd" bezel, there's never been any official announcement of change nor was Rolex's website updated. It could be a new variant but no one knows if it's here to stay.

My suggestion is to enjoy the watch you bought. Personally i prefer the older bezel but it's really up to individual preference.

If it really bothers you so much till you are unable to eat, sleep, etc to a point where it is interfering with your daily life you may want to consider selling it then sourcing out the newer bezel variants. :D

I won't be surprise the ADs have not gotten hold of the "dssd' bezel variant seeing they probably have to clear their existing stocks first.

The link below is a thread on Sgroc discussing the new bezel.
Latest Submariner variant: new bezel for 116613LN
The dial has also been changed to a sunburst one :) lovely!

pwillie

Blancpain FF Bathyscaphe... this or the regular FF?

France_6_190.jpg

France_6_135.jpg

vtkm613

1. Can someone tell me the look/class/prestige feel of
Jaeger LeCoultre Grande Reverso Ultra Thin Duoface & Grande Reservo Duo?(Looking to purchase brand new for business meetings and formal events)

2.Places/shops/stores to purchase brand new Jaeger Lecoultre watches but cheaper?

3. Can someone list down the shops or stores(locations) that carry lots of used Jaeger LeCoultre/Omega watches?(Looking for Jaeger LeCoultre/Omega ones but for work and daily walk about so won't feel emotional or waste time harbouring over some scratches when during those process)

Thanks

Any watch Ginic?Mind provide some info?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.