The Watch Thread - Part 5

izacizacizac

Ya city chain seagull watch is amazingly expensive one...but i guess you do get better after sales and warranty should anything go wrong. Honestly seagull sg at Adelphi i am not sure if he is truly the authorized dealer for segaull tianjin? He doesn't even bother to stamp his seagull warranty booklets one, just hand write seagull singapore..kind of scares me a little as seagulls i bought from Tmall has the official seagull tianjin red ink stamp on the warranty booklet..

No lah Seagull website puts that location as one of them. And I doubt Jaben would want a fake watch seller in their shop. Then again stamps can be made.

balzebub

might be fake Seagull...

its mind ***** to know that china people are making fake watches of china watches :s13:

I wouldn't say fake just not from Seagull Tianjin.

I am sure many of the seagulls ranging from 1963 chronos to tourbillon models bought from outside the official Seagull distribution network i.e. Seagull Tmall store, physical boutique in China are made from genuine seagull movements and generic case, dials, hands and other parts sourced from the same suppliers that supply Seagull Tianjin..Only concern i would have is the warranty, the level of QC and care taken to assemble the watch, the amount of regulation/adjustment done to the movement and also i believe Seagull keeps their best QC parts for their own use; hence i always have this nagging feeling that seagulls purchased from other sources contain "inferior" grade movement put together in who knows where?

And this i feel is one of the reasons why Seagull watches do not get much respect or acceptance by general public. They just do not have a clearly defined distribution network with no official dealer/distributor lists etc, no RRP etc which tells me that they don't really care about selling watches..they only care about selling movements...?

slow_mo

utvxm9L.jpg

Happy SAF Day..
Civilian but in green.. for ORNS responsibilities..

Here's mine.

patryn33

I wouldn't say fake just not from Seagull Tianjin.

I am sure many of the seagulls ranging from 1963 chronos to tourbillon models bought from outside the official Seagull distribution network i.e. Seagull Tmall store, physical boutique in China are made from genuine seagull movements and generic case, dials, hands and other parts sourced from the same suppliers that supply Seagull Tianjin..Only concern i would have is the warranty, the level of QC and care taken to assemble the watch, the amount of regulation/adjustment done to the movement and also i believe Seagull keeps their best QC parts for their own use; hence i always have this nagging feeling that seagulls purchased from other sources contain "inferior" grade movement put together in who knows where?

And this i feel is one of the reasons why Seagull watches do not get much respect or acceptance by general public. They just do not have a clearly defined distribution network with no official dealer/distributor lists etc, no RRP etc which tells me that they don't really care about selling watches..they only care about selling movements...?

Iirc Seagull USA has to perform it's own QC before shipping watches. Their prices not cheap, I wouldn't rate seagull having the best QC today.

balzebub

Just had an interesting conversation with David from seagull sg. I was there to see if he had stock of the 1963 chronograph, which he was sold out of. I asked him what's the difference with the 1963 he sells for 400 or so and the 1963 being sold by seagull tianjin for around 700? His reply was very candid and also interesting. He said...same movement..so quality of movement and functionality is identical..BUT...the cheaper 1963s are not manufactured by Seagull tianjin but Seagull HK and they use inferior materials for the case, a lower grade of steel, so the HK 1963 will feel less solid and wee bit lighter. Food for thought..

This likely means that any seagull model not found on the tmall seagull official store would be special order from seagull HK....would they all be of lower quality hence lower priced?

kiosai

Lai liao lor..
Y does discussion of seagull watches by fans always end up with such a line of discussion of Tianjin factory, HK Tsienlin, authenticity yada yada? too much vested commercial interest involved methinks..

Im in no position to comment on or care abt the source and supply chain. It is as murky and mysterious as how Li-Ning went from Nike homage to premium chinese brand today.

As long as the quality and durability of the product is acceptable for its price and the price is competitive, I will purchase it. Commemorative or not, my $700 wun go to a Chinese 1963 Chrono. There r a lot more choices at that price level..

And sth like Liverpool and Man U fans.. will always agree to disagree.. Chillax ppl.. :)

sharkapl

Good Morning All!

IMG_20140701_092338.jpg

Some of you might have known that I hooted a Seagull yesterday.
Im too busy to do a full review now, but i think theres a possibility that it will be the next poison watch. Heres a quick breakdown. I paid 168 SGD for the watch and it came with a very beautiful laquered box. Its functions are, day, date, month, 24hr, day and night. Best part, automatic.

I believe some of you here has heard of seagull, but if you really pay attention to fashion watches, most of them are using seagull movement. So why not buy the original!

Cheers and have a good tuesday. (Damn Huat Liao!)

bro the back case of the watch, any spelling error?

patryn33

Lai liao lor..
Y does discussion of seagull watches by fans always end up with such a line of discussion of Tianjin factory, HK Tsienlin, authenticity yada yada? too much vested commercial interest involved methinks..

Im in no position to comment on or care abt the source and supply chain. It is as murky and mysterious as how Li-Ning went from Nike homage to premium chinese brand today.

As long as the quality and durability of the product is acceptable for its price and the price is competitive, I will purchase it. Commemorative or not, my $700 wun go to a Chinese 1963 Chrono. There r a lot more choices at that price level..

And sth like Liverpool and Man U fans.. will always agree to disagree.. Chillax ppl.. :)

only in china.. when u said that its like globally its premium and out from china. LOL =:p yes today their shoes can go over US$200 on the bay. really that popular? in states not seen ppl wearing them.. those PRC students here still love their Nike

I am chill, they not? no need to loose sleep over such matter. :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.