The Watch Thread - Part 5

hungpenglee

A very small flat screwdriver can be done. I bought my tool at eBay for $5 nia. Haha. Free shipping.

Tats provide one does not scratch the case when changing.

Brady's include this for convenience, I will miss cue and scratch my cases too after so many changes with a screwdriver... lol

wwarrior

one quick question, do you guys change your watch strap yourself?
i tried using a small flat screwdriver to get the spring bar out but couldn't :(

what's the usual cost of changing straps at watch shops in malls?

Donten

No pal, thank YOU for your kindness.
When I told u my cousin has a limited budget as a freshly ord personnel you readily obliged to his offer price without any hesitation. That was really kind of you.

And in any transaction, I saw the item, accepted it as-is, and walked away after paying, a satisfied customer. Anyway it was a small issue lah. Good excuse to visit mr goh muahahahaha

did he poison you with any watches? the last time i went he showed me a historical tuna from the vault.

yattokame

i tried using a small flat screwdriver to get the spring bar out but couldn't :(

I think a penknife is thinner and easier. But be careful of course.

yattokame

did he poison you with any watches? the last time i went he showed me a historical tuna from the vault.

Errr no leh
But we discussed quite a bit about his oysterquartz. I saw a full gold one near bencoolen and asked for his opinion - which he suggested against due to servicing issues.

hungpenglee

I always change straps to give my watches a refresh look. A way to avoid buying more. Haha.
Watches with end lugs can be quite hard to change if not careful. As the spring bars can click back into place again when removing the other side.
Spring bars come with different thickness.

I saw on watchuseek, someone uses thicker spring bars to replace normal ones, in the end the lug holes are enlarged.

Donten

Errr no leh
But we discussed quite a bit about his oysterquartz. I saw a full gold one near bencoolen and asked for his opinion - which he suggested against due to servicing issues.

LOL. I KNEW I SAW HIM wore a oysterquartz. maybe his vault nothing at the moment. anyway glad you board the seiko boat. looks like its inevitable that a grandseiko or tuna appear very soon.

Optrex

I think if u change it often then better go and get the correct tool. Later miscue and scratch the case then heart pain.

Optrex

I always change straps to give my watches a refresh look. A way to avoid buying more. Haha.
Watches with end lugs can be quite hard to change if not careful. As the spring bars can click back into place again when removing the other side.
Spring bars come with different thickness.

I saw on watchuseek, someone uses thicker spring bars to replace normal ones, in the end the lug holes are enlarged.

Actually i try to apply an upward force so as to prevent the side that is out already from clicking back in place again. Of course some sticky tape is an extra precaution to prevent the spring bars from flying into oblivion.

yattokame

LOL. I KNEW I SAW HIM wore a oysterquartz. maybe his vault nothing at the moment. anyway glad you board the seiko boat. looks like its inevitable that a grandseiko or tuna appear very soon.

I just had never been exposed to watches on this side - the dark side. LOL.
Will see how it progress man. Hahaha.....

Paladium

If you are intending to switch it up every now and then it's better and cheaper to invest in a springbar tool.

hungpenglee

A lume shot of my FFF to share with bros whom going to mod... :D

VGHmYnb.jpg

Pagani_Z0nda

Wah lao eh... i must bar mself from this thread. Everyday poison gao gao.... :(

Seiko monster or the seiko FFF leh ?? :s8::s22:

siggy28

Used the bergeon spring bar tool. Bought at rochor center at a shop called khatena.

Scratched the lug because forgot to paste tape before removal. So if u want to DIY, remember to tape it before attempting.

After a few tries, u will get the hang of it.

Thanks for the advice bro :). Was looking at the bergeon compass type. I think it is 6785 or something like that.

yattokame

Wah lao eh... i must bar mself from this thread. Everyday poison gao gao.... :(

Seiko monster or the seiko FFF leh ?? :s8::s22:

Thank you for the chance!!!!

Shiok. :s13:

I'd say both. The monster is quite......in the words of one of my cousins, "chunky and funky". I showed them the pica of the 53 and 57 and it can be a casual/dressy watch when fitted with the sailcloth strap.

Mr goh has a white mini with blue circumference at the dial, and the numerals on the bezel is colored blue from 0 to 20, the rest being black. Quite nice IMHO.

kazuki666

Hi guys. If I want to change my snzh57 day wheel to kanji, where can I get them and what details should I take note? TIA

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.