The Watch Thread - Part 5

Nakedtoes

Fingers crossed... Mine is running well... Just that it has lotsa scratches and dings. I don't take special care when wearing them!!!

Cool.. The worst case I heard is sending in for repairs 5 times within warranty period. The watch can just stop functionimg or can run faster by minutes per day..After warranty over he give up n put it in the safe as white elephant. It is a gift so he didn't want to sell.lol

Pagani_Z0nda

it's gonna be an SEXPENSIVE present woooohoooooo!! :D
Wa.. bro you tonight jin high hor ? But agreed , it will be a sentimental gift of <3 :)
SEXPENSIVE for who!?!?! :D
Kee kee. Me lo... :(
i'm not so sure too. while prices increase, modifications are also added time and again. Things like chapter ring, pinholes etc also affect the preowned prices.
If i not wrong, Rolex and Patek are 2 that i heard will not depreciate that much. Omega speedmaster moonwatch maybe ? The rest like breitling , iwc etc will go lower
haha looks better on you. i wear sub people thought its Homage! :(
But i not yan dao bro. Pam on you looks good , so sub will too !

yattokame

not sure if this has been shared. but some watches do hold value and can fight off inflation.
not sure though. my watch all cheap cheap. no PP no talk. :(

https://sg.finance.yahoo.com/news/thought-buying-watch-could-inflation-160000287.html

While the brands above are good for daily wear and keep their value well, Patek Philippe watches are NOT timepieces you want to wear around Orchard Road (or in public for that matter). It’s like wearing someone’s yearly pay around your wrist, and that’s not something you want to risk damaging with daily use.
They’re insanely expensive because they’re incredibly complex works of timekeeping art. Some even take up to one year to assemble! Not only that, they’re also made from the finest materials money can buy, and they’re scarce – only 50,000 are made annually!
If you’re purely focused on the investment aspect of watch buying (15K for entry models) – this is the brand to get.

sorry lor I wear my nautilus all the time leh. :s13:

looks like I better keep it in my safe from now....... THEN BUY FOR WHAT!!?!?!?!:s22:

and the article says Hublot big bang is top 3?!?!? SINCE WHEN?!?!?!

Pagani_Z0nda

While the brands above are good for daily wear and keep their value well, Patek Philippe watches are NOT timepieces you want to wear around Orchard Road (or in public for that matter). It’s like wearing someone’s yearly pay around your wrist, and that’s not something you want to risk damaging with daily use.
They’re insanely expensive because they’re incredibly complex works of timekeeping art. Some even take up to one year to assemble! Not only that, they’re also made from the finest materials money can buy, and they’re scarce – only 50,000 are made annually!
If you’re purely focused on the investment aspect of watch buying (15K for entry models) – this is the brand to get.

looks like I better keep it in my safe from now....... THEN BUY FOR WHAT!!?!?!?!:s22:

Yaaaaa loooooorrrrrrrr.... spent so much $$$ and keep in safe (collect dust). Might as well invest in other stuff.:s22:

Buy le jiu wear... and be happy :D

Donten

not sure is investment anot. buy already confirm take hit already. how is that an investment? i only know is those really rare rolex then wont depreciate.

DaBenDan

Hublot Big Bang is catching up because AP ROO is getting monotonous. And hublot sits better on the wrist.

kazuki666

I see quite a few whom bought the snzh57 are getting the fff mod. Just curious, such mods are usually done to replicate the original timepiece or challenge the original de? Paiseh for the noob qns because it never crossed my mind that I can mod a simple watch to look like very expensive watches... :p

rachdanon

Hublot Big Bang is catching up because AP ROO is getting monotonous. And hublot sits better on the wrist.

To wear Hublot cannot get over this mental hurdle leh : :s22:

59e5a80d7b8be17f40e87e68a6ab20aa_zps34410136.jpg

714b653b586f70fee128f2d98eaa8b09_zpsbd8d940e.jpg

1647595fac41601dc6299f6a261e61da_zps7eb68d93.jpg

yattokame

I see quite a few whom bought the snzh57 are getting the fff mod. Just curious, such mods are usually done to replicate the original timepiece or challenge the original de? Paiseh for the noob qns because it never crossed my mind that I can mod a simple watch to look like very expensive watches... :p

i'm doing a 53 and 55......
not wanting to copy anything but just feel the dial looks nicer. am keeping my 57 stock :)

gaoxing84

you the true zai one. PP take and hoot.
hahaha. need save money first before i can talk about the five matches

a562140

Nice Seamaster. Like the blue hands and rings.

How old is a watch to be called a vintage?

good question, never really thought about an exact definition. but here's how ebay has defined it, that has more or less been accepted as a number of dealers list on ebay as well:

Antique (pre 1920)
Vintage (1920-1970)
Vintage (1971-1983)
Retro (1984-1999)
Modern (2000-present)​

i don't think "retro" has caught on yet :s13:

yattokame

you the true zai one. PP take and hoot.
hahaha. need save money first before i can talk about the five matches

got more zai ppl here leh. I only one PP.

but I really think hublot is popular lately because of the marketing by THG. Top 3 is usually PP, AP and VC; or even JLC.

I also noticed my SA's tone for hublot changed quite a bit over the years. nowadays say until very good like that. :s22:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.