The Watch Thread - Part 5

yattokame

yyPLtz3.jpg

98yQmqx.jpg

Wife asking for my opinion. I think the bambino matches better.

kwaychapy

somehow or rather, my mind for the last 2 nites rings 'MM300', 'MM300"...

really gian gian dee(act) sian sian...

a562140

somehow or rather, my mind for the last 2 nites rings 'MM300', 'MM300"...

really gian gian dee(act) sian sian...

alternative is the Orient Saturation Divers:

Grp%20Orient%20OS300%20Seiko%20MM300%2029-05-2012%201.jpg

more pics:

https://www.google.com.sg/search?q=...HuATW-IDgBg&ved=0CAgQ_AUoAQ&biw=1266&bih=1281

for these pro diver watches (including the SBDC e.g. blumo) you really have to do a A-B comparison with your SNZH in-hand. Its not just the look, the build quality and the heft of the watch adds to the experience.

kwaychapy

bob83hello

not sure if this has been shared. but some watches do hold value and can fight off inflation.
not sure though. my watch all cheap cheap. no PP no talk. :(

https://sg.finance.yahoo.com/news/thought-buying-watch-could-inflation-160000287.html

the big bang looks great. im impressed how panerai made the list. i think mainly it has been raved up by bankers here owing them.

alange & sohne (my fav) din make the list sia! :eek::eek:

5-7yrs ago, muller was so in tt the prices were q crazy... now like no more rave leh.. what happened?:s22:

yattokame

the big bang looks great. im impressed how panerai made the list. i think mainly it has been raved up by bankers here owing them.

5-7yrs ago, muller was so in tt the prices were q crazy... now like no more rave leh.. what happened?:s22:

Oh yeah now that u mention it......FM was quite the craze then. I also remember a lawyer fren of mine kept bugging me to buy a Lange 1 - which was abt 30k then? And FP Journe as well.

Suddenly everyone seems to be buying Panerai. Will it be a fad like FM too?

And back then the ADs had so many brands to sell. Nowadays the brands all sell their own.

hungpenglee

Hi guys,

Since we are all here for the love of watches, I will like to understand from everyone if there is any intention of passing on a watch as heirloom to your next generation?

I am married for a year and without kids, but I am already planning to source for a watch that I can pass down to my kid(s).

Currently on my shortlist will be:

1) Rolex DJ (Roman White dial)
2) Grand Seiko SBGH022 (Rose Gold)

I will prefer to pass down a dress watch as I feel it is more suitable. Doesn't have to be expensive but suitable. (Cannot be a Camo G-Shock right? :s11:

My wife says it is too early to think about these things... :s22:
But I do it for the massive love for my family, since my late dad did not pass on any stuffs to us due to his sudden "Goodbye".

I wonder if any bros here has given a thought about this and will be planning to do so, can share your intended heirloom watch with us all? :D

bob83hello

Oh yeah now that u mention it......FM was quite the craze then. I also remember a lawyer fren of mine kept bugging me to buy a Lange 1 - which was abt 30k then? And FP Journe as well.

Suddenly everyone seems to be buying Panerai. Will it be a fad like FM too?

And back then the ADs had so many brands to sell. Nowadays the brands all sell their own.

the best ad still goes to pp. it makes the cut above the rest in terms of charisma.

altho i love the pam for its big face and crownguard (and many more :o but it could be a fad coz honestly, the models are really quite similar :s22::s22: and now they dont make it very limited ed. just diff batches. maybe some could hold like the bronzo and rosso.

i see alot of ap flooding the preowned mkt

yattokame

Nice.....part 3 also (can skip part 1 i feel)
Also thinks Hautlence is overrated here.

bob83hello

Hi guys,

Since we are all here for the love of watches, I will like to understand from everyone if there is any intention of passing on a watch as heirloom to your next generation?

I am married for a year and without kids, but I am already planning to source for a watch that I can pass down to my kid(s).

I will prefer to pass down a dress watch as I feel it is more suitable. Doesn't have to be expensive but suitable. (Cannot be a Camo G-Shock right? :s11:

But I do it for the massive love for my family, since my late dad did not pass on any stuffs to us due to his sudden "Goodbye".

I wonder if any bros here has given a thought about this and will be planning to do so, can share your intended heirloom watch with us all? :D

when i bought my 1st luxury watch, i had tt notion in mind.

but i guess when you have a kid, things may change. my colleague was saying tt you have other priorities when you have a kid.

oh ya, having a kid is alr your luxury watch-raising one to abt 18 will set you back 380k.:o:D

a562140

you can never tell with watches. some time back longines, concord, girrard perregaux were all top brands.

yattokame

Hi guys,

We have a pair of twins, so I bought a pair of azimuth NDP2011 ltd ed. it's a local brand so it marks their country and year of birth. I personally find it very meaningful.

Also considered buying a rolex each but I guess I will bring them to the AD and let them choose their own Rolex when they reach 21? They may or may not want to receive an old model for their 21st birthday - that I dunno; jumping the gun here. Haha......

For now the heirloom is probably the Patek and the missus' Rolex; and it seems like our son is more interested in watches. He would look at pictures of watches with me on the computer screen while our daughter prefers playing with cars.

Very nice thought you have there :)

a562140

Hi guys,

i think a proper heirloom watch will be the watch the kids sees you wearing when he/she is growing up i.e. it brings back memories of the good times when young. by this definition then its going to be a daily beater :)

but have you considered that for whatever reason your kids may not value a watch-heirloom as much as you? or if they feel compelled to just keep a $20K watch in the safe with no appreciation at all?

no heirloom watch for me. I'll pass on to them my knowledge and passion for watches and hopefully they take over the collection as a hobby :)

hungpenglee

when i bought my 1st luxury watch, i had tt notion in mind.

but i guess when you have a kid, things may change. my colleague was saying tt you have other priorities when you have a kid.

oh ya, having a kid is alr your luxury watch-raising one to abt 18 will set you back 380k.:o:D

This is why I wanna start this before a kid grand arrival... :s13:

Main idea is to give him/her something that can remember the 2 of us (Dad and Mum) for life and hoping the memories can be passed down for further generations. Be it if the watch is still functioning but something that can identify our family root.

It did not start from my elders but I feel I can start from me... :s8:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.