The Watch Thread - Part 5

yattokame

Just finished shopping at Big Time. Immediately the first I noticed about the MM300 is the hand applied lume which really draws me to it. Will do an in depth review once I have spent more time with it!

Yatto, any place to introduce for nice grass? :s22:

Zv6G5rN.jpg

I found this place with variety! 3 types together!
LOL

Congrats on your new watch!! Pls do an in-dept review soon! :) more pics!

chickenbackside

For me. High protein, moderate fat and low carb. Protein eat like free flow. Haha
Sure! I understand.

I was however a diabetic with liver/kidney problems, arthritis, osteoporosis...etc. I needed a ketotic diet to heal myself.

Now that I'm healed, I tend to cycle my diet. Mostly low carb still. But there's more flexibility in terms of macronutrients.

One thing that has to be maintained is food quality and nutrient density.

dominicwor2

sorry no experience with vostok and no experience. have dived into the subject now and then, and nearly picked up that one posted by vw and others (sturmanskie 3133 aviator) but never made the move.

cheap and cheerful, someone should give it a go and provide a review. meranom is a reputable dealer and sometimes stocks up some collectible limited editions.

Bought mine from meranom.
A no frills watch, some may not be used to its weird winding movement but all in all gd value for a daily beater in short.
20140524_153828.jpg

A more detailed review of the amphibian: http://www.gmtminusfive.com/review-the-vostok-amphibia-scuba-dude-060634/

Bonus pic of my 3133 :crazy:
20131219_110310.jpg

gurgkle

MM300 Review

Okay, here goes. My amateur review/first impressions of the Seiko SBDX001 Marine Master 300. This is a JDM model and I bought this at Big Time for $2.8k. It can also be gotten for around $2.5k from grey dealers who bring them in from Indonesia. Reason I paid the premium was peace of mind (It is under Big Time 1 year in-house warranty). They will have to send it back to Japan if there's anything wrong with it though. Service there was excellent, had a good coffee while examining the watch. Special shoutout to socketer bro who also owns this and helped me with the purchase decision. :D

Watch comes in a rather simple box but does the job well.

DQj3zgO.jpg

Opening it up is the standard instructions booklet with the warranty booklet. A rubber strap is provided as well for replacement. I will be sticking to the bracelet.

ebITFkM.jpg

As mentioned in my 1st wrist shot, the watch face (dial, hands, bezel) is excellently made. Quality is top notch. The lume dots and indices are especially alluring to me as upon close examination, the hand application and multiple coats can be seen. Have yet to test the lume though. As for the bezel, I am not sure if it is some thick enamel paint or ceramic but it is super shiny and it catches all kinds of light. The unidirectional rotating bezel is extremely smooth and one of the best I have handled so far. The Rolex sub's bezel as compared is slightly more stiff. Pros and cons here of course.

I read that the MM300 is hand assembled to completion in the same facility where Grand Seikos/Credors are made. It runs on the 8L35 movement, which is an undecorated version of the Grand Seiko 9S55. I will need more time with it before I can give a good review of the time keeping.

BMb3GYW.jpg

Bracelet wears fairly well on my wrist, will test it out over time in terms of comfort level. So far so good! Shown below is the monocoque case. Any repairs will have to be done through the top.

TfQPdGF.jpg

Here's all for now, sorry for the WOT but feel free to hit me up and I will try to answer as best as possible.

Have a good weekend folks! :)

rachdanon

^ that's not a cheap Seiko. Didn't know it commands such a high price. If I'd ever get a Seiko (don't dig the GS) for a beater that would be it, but it's a bit too expensive for me for a wear and forget watch....I'd stick to my g shock for now :D

Ps. Like the monolithic case, first time seeing one on a watch.

Hungry4more

Hello all, I've been lurking around for quite sometime :o and have been deeply poison.

I would like some suggestion for my first automatic watch. My budget is ard $700 or less. I kinda like the Orient Star retrograde but i'm weighing my options to see if there are any other options.

I have a small wrist size, about 6". So would prefer something 40mm and below. Sporty or dress watches are fine with me too.

Thanks for your input guys!

gurgkle

^ that's not a cheap Seiko. Didn't know it commands such a high price. If I'd ever get a Seiko (don't dig the GS) for a beater that would be it, but it's a bit too expensive for me for a wear and forget watch....I'd stick to my g shock for now :D

Ps. Like the monolithic case, first time seeing one on a watch.

To be perfectly honest, this will not make people go 'wah...expensive watch sia!!'. :s13: Only WIS will appreciate this. It is really about a personal choice to buy something to shout to people that you can afford it or be more low-key. I guess this falls into the latter category. Seiko has always been known to be a 'non expensive' watch, if I may, to the majority. Many will also proclaim 'why you so stupid spend so much on a Seiko!!?' even to someone wearing a Grand Seiko. :s22:

Perhaps that's why I tend to prefer German/Japanese makers for their sheer engineering capabilities. At their price points, it is one heck of a watch that I am getting. :)

slow_mo

Okay, here goes. My amateur review/first impressions of the Seiko SBDX001 Marine Master 300. This is a JDM model and I bought this at Big Time for $2.8k. It can also be gotten for around $2.5k from grey dealers who bring them in from Indonesia. Reason I paid the premium was peace of mind (It is under Big Time 1 year in-house warranty). They will have to send it back to Japan if there's anything wrong with it though. Service there was excellent, had a good coffee while examining the watch. Special shoutout to socketer bro who also owns this and helped me with the purchase decision. :D

Watch comes in a rather simple box but does the job well.

DQj3zgO.jpg

Opening it up is the standard instructions booklet with the warranty booklet. A rubber strap is provided as well for replacement. I will be sticking to the bracelet.

ebITFkM.jpg

As mentioned in my 1st wrist shot, the watch face (dial, hands, bezel) is excellently made. Quality is top notch. The lume dots and indices are especially alluring to me as upon close examination, the hand application and multiple coats can be seen. Have yet to test the lume though. As for the bezel, I am not sure if it is some thick enamel paint or ceramic but it is super shiny and it catches all kinds of light. The unidirectional rotating bezel is extremely smooth and one of the best I have handled so far. The Rolex sub's bezel as compared is slightly more stiff. Pros and cons here of course.

I read that the MM300 is hand assembled to completion in the same facility where Grand Seikos/Credors are made. It runs on the 8L35 movement, which is an undecorated version of the Grand Seiko 9S55. I will need more time with it before I can give a good review of the time keeping.

BMb3GYW.jpg

Bracelet wears fairly well on my wrist, will test it out over time in terms of comfort level. So far so good! Shown below is the monocoque case. Any repairs will have to be done through the top.

TfQPdGF.jpg

Here's all for now, sorry for the WOT but feel free to hit me up and I will try to answer as best as possible.

Have a good weekend folks! :)

Can share more shots of the clasp? It looks different from normal.

slow_mo

Hello all, I've been lurking around for quite sometime :o and have been deeply poison.

I would like some suggestion for my first automatic watch. My budget is ard $700 or less. I kinda like the Orient Star retrograde but i'm weighing my options to see if there are any other options.

I have a small wrist size, about 6". So would prefer something 40mm and below. Sporty or dress watches are fine with me too.

Many will recommend Tissot Visodate. I also have a small wrist. Slightly bigger than yours.

sharkapl

in the end i still went down :s13:
1513732_10152431054916885_3806509931300121273_n_zps1dbd100c.jpg

there was a group who went to mod as well luckily didnt have to wait long.

next up need to buy the paros Kevlar strap( from mr goh when he restocks) and the tool to remove straps(any intro for this)

estranged

If you don't mind green, how about the Seiko Alpinist SARB017?

38mm without crown, 6R15 movement with hand-winding and hack, sapphire crystal, 200m water resistance

SARB017_1.jpg

SARB017_3.jpg

SARB017_6.jpg

SARB017 ƒZƒCƒR*[ ƒAƒ‹ƒsƒjƒXƒg*Eƒ*ƒJƒjƒJƒ‹ƒVƒŠ*[ƒY

Only con is the stock leather strap is not very good so probably need aftermarket options. The original bracelet looks the best IMO, but is hard to find and expensive

Think it looks pretty good on leather NATOs too :D

857a0509-60ee-47a5-9d75-5b3ebc434e98.jpg

rachdanon

My interest perked in these higher end Seikos. Internet photos below, these look fantastic and unique.

58d30b7ede73a3f1604fb80c784512fb_zps08117d20.jpg

Eye candy. Notice the days are not in English

yattokame

in the end i still went down :s13:
1513732_10152431054916885_3806509931300121273_n_zps1dbd100c.jpg

there was a group who went to mod as well luckily didnt have to wait long.

next up need to buy the paros Kevlar strap( from mr goh when he restocks) and the tool to remove straps(any intro for this)

Haha u really cannot tahan liao......
Can share how much was his labour charge? And hows stock for the 55K like? Thanx pal :)

fffrozzz

$ 700,nice budget. Maybe 3 watches for you
1) Orient Bambino
2) Seiko SNZH 53 or 55 or 57
3) Seiko SKX 007
you still have some for mod

RadEoNic

Just tried the ML that yatto have. Nice mens. 5.6k after discount for a new one

Hmmmmmmm

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.