The Watch Thread - Part 5

rachdanon

My sense is that typical chinese diet is too low on protein. See the portion of meat they give, its to feed a mouse. If your usual is prawn noodle and bak chor mee, good luck to you on getting your share of proteins. A hint of the old way of thinking meat is expensive. Last time my wife grew up in Kampong family dinner is rice and a huge bowl of kang kong. Western meals however give hearty serving of meats and vegetables too.

So for me lunch outside I don't hope to get a good meal. When wife cooks dinner at home that's where I try to stock up on protein and vege. Breakfast is usually just oats and fruit.

For a 1.75 frame and 68kg, i think I'm eating a little too little. Just brought up that way I guess. Parents used to cook food just nice with little left overs, so I was not encouraged to eat beyond a certain amount.

yattokame

Does that work in keeping the weight down? I was told to go on a high protein low carbs diet..to get at least 30g of protein every meal so that i can maintain muscle mass, increase body fat burn rate etc and also to feel sated so can actually eat less...

apologies for the OT but why 1 heavy meal a day? don't really make much sense to me its like PIE is only opened 2 hours a day, traffic jam, no?

grats on the transition, haven't been sick for 5 years? that's impressive!

You eat pao and siew mai and lor mai Kai? But that's carb cos got flour (siew mai and pao skin) and rice liao, right?

Ya so just one massive meal with carbs lor. If i eat anything for the rest of the day its no carbs strictly. Meat and vege only. And eggs. I love eggs.

And maybe one thing - I walk quite a bit during lunch hour. To and fro temple, and if I must eat, no rice also. But i'm so used to no lunch and light dinners sometimes I just go without lunch but have early dinner (before I pick the missus at 6pm).

My weight: ard 95kg last nov and last week I took was below 85? Assuming the scale was working properly lah hahahahhaa

Azrielsc

Regarding sizing I've begun to realise that as long as strap has closely spaced holes, the strap can be made to fit. My strap has holes 7mm apart. When I first bought, I used hole 2 as hole 1 was too tight to insert the buckle pin. After a few months the strap softens/stretches and now I use hole 1. Even then as you know our wrists change size during the day. When I'm walking to work, sun is on me my wrist is larger and I use hole 2. Back in office, cooled down in airon I go back to hole 1. Don't flame me as I am new to straps but it appears to me custom straps may not be all that necessary, so long as you got 2 closely spaced holes to play around with.

No worries about being flamed or what not. This is a forum to share opinions and ideas so all constructive comments are welcome! :)

You are right about wearing straps expanding due to extended use. You may be able to move to another buckling hole if the leather has stretched, and if the holes are closely space, as you rightly said.

As you already know, most of my custom straps do not come with any buckling holes and I punch them myself so during the initial wear, the strap will be a bit tight but after a few times, they will stretch a very little and it would then be perfect.

One issue that I do not face is that as I rotate my straps religiously, the straps still look very new! I think there is a few straps in my collection that I wore less than 3 times. :s22: So most, if not all my straps still retain the original length and the fit is still perfect.

Another thing is that quite a few of my straps are made using a combination of exotic hide & leather, the exotic hide actually hinders the bottom leather layer from stretching since it is sewn on top of it.

When I do wear my Pam to work, I will take them off whilst in the office because I hate my buckles getting scratched. I only wear it to work, during lunch and after work! Weird quirk of mine.

And lastly, you can actually tighten the strap a bit, if the leather has expanded by a bit. Or you can loosen the strap, if it is too tight! *Only for straps with normal buckles*

Just things that I picked up whilst hunting for straps. ;)

Azrielsc

So.....how?

IMO, still prefer the 305.

What about the 47mm 571?

Panerai-PAM571.png

;)

rachdanon

1 comment. I notice the reflection of light by the bezel on the 24 is not as uniform and symmetrical whereas the 305 is more uniform. This is because of the shape of the bezels where 305 is flat but 24 is curved. That said, I do no like the reflectiveness of my 305. I like it viewed in dimmer/shady angles then the coolness of the titanium just shows.

My main dislike for the 24 is that it looks a bit "kiddy" with the big numbers (but many love the big numbers) and I don't like the cyclops (again others like it!). But I guess most agree the 305 has a more professional look. By the way, the second kevlar type dive strap of the 305 is unwearable unless you have huge wrists (prob bigger than yours) because the tail is very very long - you see few people wearing it.

And if you want to buy either....let me know I ask a grey dealer for you whether he can get.

xtwis7

Actually, Azrielsc's recommendation look the best among all 3. The 305 looks a bit too 'round' for me so I find it a mismatch with its ruggedness.

The 24 will be perfect if not for the Cyclops I guess. The 12 and 6 hour markings are nicer than the non-numerical markings of the 305.

Donten

what type of diet do you recommend a guy that is 174 and 50kg. you guys trying to lose weight while i trying to gain...

Azrielsc

1 comment. I notice the reflection of light by the bezel on the 24 is not as uniform and symmetrical whereas the 305 is more uniform. This is because of the shape of the bezels where 305 is flat but 24 is curved. That said, I do no like the reflectiveness of my 305. I like it viewed in dimmer/shady angles then the coolness of the titanium just shows.

My main dislike for the 24 is that it looks a bit "kiddy" with the big numbers (but many love the big numbers) and I don't like the cyclops (again others like it!). But I guess most agree the 305 has a more professional look. By the way, the second kevlar type dive strap of the 305 is unwearable unless you have huge wrists (prob bigger than yours) because the tail is very very long - you see few people wearing it.

And if you want to buy either....let me know I ask a grey dealer for you whether he can get.

Actually i think the reflectiveness is coming from the protective plastic thingy that shops wrap their watches with... Can see a hint from the photos that Yatto posted.

Is it? My titanium 351 & 389 not so shiny...

chickenbackside

Does that work in keeping the weight down? I was told to go on a high protein low carbs diet..to get at least 30g of protein every meal so that i can maintain muscle mass, increase body fat burn rate etc and also to feel sated so can actually eat less...
I have kept my weight down for 5-6 years already, and effortlessly I might add.

It's not complicated. To lose fat, you need to eat less than you expend. Normally, that would mean feeling hungry all the time. As you know, feeling hungry all the time is a recipe for failure for the purpose of losing body fat.

So what do we do? We use the properties of macronutrients to out advantage. For most people, protein and fat provides the most satiety, and the satiety lasts for a long time.

For example, compare how much butter you can eat before feeling like you want to stop eating with how much pasta you can eat. You get the idea.

So if you make the focus of your meals to be protein and fat, you can *probably* eat til you're full and still come in at less calories than if you focus your meals on rice/noodles typical of our Asian meals. And that fullness lasts for a much longer time.

Result: you feel full and satisfied for a long time and don't have the desire to snack, which leads to loss of body fat.

All in a Day

24, almost every meal i eat have meat. dont eat breakfast though since my work starts at noon and i wake up at noon. so 2 meals a day. pants size around 27-28...

Dont worry, u r young. Just enjoy eating what u like. Soon enough age will catch up n metabolism will slow down and the weight will come, hopefully not too much n too fast for your comfort.. Heh

chickenbackside

apologies for the OT but why 1 heavy meal a day? don't really make much sense to me its like PIE is only opened 2 hours a day, traffic jam, no?

grats on the transition, haven't been sick for 5 years? that's impressive!
There is no reason except for 1: I am simply not hungry the rest of the day.

You can put the most sumptuous breakfast in front of my face in the morning, and it will not tempt me at all. I am simply not hungry. Sometimes, if I have to have lunch (for business), there would be no way that I would be able to fit dinner in. I would get turned off at the sight of food because I would still be full from lunch.

I believe for my particular case there are a few factors:

1) My meal consists of mostly the most satiating macronutrients, ie, protein and fat.

2) I am very particular about nutrient density, hence my body is well fed in terms of raw material and does not scream for me to eat more in order to make up for the lack of any nutrients in my diet. I would rather not eat than eat something that doesn't measure up to my ideal of "nourishing food".

3) I am an avid drinker of green tea, of which one of the side effects is appetite suppression.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.