slow_mo
It will be my first time getting a luxury watch for myself, and so far have got my eyes on the Omega Seamaster 2254.50.
Would fellow bros recommend this watch? Will it be able to retain its resale value after prolonged usage? Am thinking of pairing this up with leather straps too, will it match? Thanks in advance!
P/S: Or should I just save up for the Submariner since it's for sure that the Rolex will be able to retain value? =o
It will be my first time getting a luxury watch for myself, and so far have got my eyes on the Omega Seamaster 2254.50.
Would fellow bros recommend this watch? Will it be able to retain its resale value after prolonged usage? Am thinking of pairing this up with leather straps too, will it match? Thanks in advance!
P/S: Or should I just save up for the Submariner since it's for sure that the Rolex will be able to retain value? =o
2254.50 is getting more and more rare so yes price will rise. Plus omega is dammed aggressive in rising price for their new models.. much aggressive then rolex, tudor etc..Furthermore there are watch lovers who prefer the pre coaxial movements.. they are proven reliable for years while the coaxial movement one seen like got "many" problems.. Many experts also see omega acquired Coaxial movements for the sake of marketing only (To rise to Rolex level etc). And yes those non coaxial Omegas prices all will rise..
IF getting sub get brand new one... dun get those before the ceramic.. cause i feel not worth the price.
Actually the only problem for co-axial is 2500A and 2500B only when 2500C is release the problem isn't there already because they tweaked the beat rate and did some small changes to the escapement. 2500D is just some modification to further improve it. Other than advertised longer service time, the escapement also promised to allow the watch have stable precision over time compared to swiss lever.
Yes, acquiring co-axial probably is a marketing strategy as there are no substantial proof that it will withstand time better than the traditional swiss lever. However, it is still something new and something different. When we acquire time piece not everyone but most want something unique in that particular watch weather it is the design or the movement but in this case the escapement.
I don't see the old calibres to actually rise in price unless they are iconic pieces produce by Omega or the movement is an in house movement exclusive by Omega which as far as I know 2254 don't run on in-house movement but heavily modified ETA.
End of the day, I still applaud Omega to actually do something to make themselves stand out from the rest of the watch company as of now. It only take time for Omega to prove that co-axial is the new direction and I believe it is better than the traditional swiss lever with proper modification they did for 8500 and their 9000 series calibre.
Thanks bro. I bought the boots on sale for $100! Cheap and good. But I sent them to Italy to be custom patina'd. No so cheap in the end, but still cheap considering the end result.nice high cut leather shoes...
CBS...working on Sunday as well?
Thanks bro. I bought the boots on sale for $100! Cheap and good. But I sent them to Italy to be custom patina'd. No so cheap in the end, but still cheap considering the end result.
Not working today. Enjoying my Sunday.
Don't work too hard!
woooo... yatto dai kor.. I love the grain texture of your PAM leather strap and the thickness of the white thread is very matching. From K2 as well?

2254 very old leh. haha super hard to find. lol
i also like. sub and 2254 price difference very huge leh!
can find lah.. swx got. around $2.6k.. sometimes JW will have it too.
submariner... depends on which series to get lor. with or w/o pinhole, SEL, chapter ring? cheapest i've seen so far also around $6k+.. IIRC.
personally, i prefer V series and beyond (not as old).. but might still get it BNIB at the end of the day, if i ever get sian of my 312 and want a crown.
so i guess it really depends on what rocks one's boat..
what do you mean by "prolonged usage"? if you mean as a daily beater with scratches and all, that will bring the value down.
for an old model of watch, best to go pre-owned. that way you won't be paying too high a price upfront.
2254.50 is getting more and more rare so yes price will rise. Plus omega is dammed aggressive in rising price for their new models.. much aggressive then rolex, tudor etc..Furthermore there are watch lovers who prefer the pre coaxial movements.. they are proven reliable for years while the coaxial movement one seen like got "many" problems.. Many experts also see omega acquired Coaxial movements for the sake of marketing only (To rise to Rolex level etc). And yes those non coaxial Omegas prices all will rise..
IF getting sub get brand new one... dun get those before the ceramic.. cause i feel not worth the price.

Why would you want retain its resale value? Most watch depreciates anyway, just by how much. Rolex definitely have better resale value compared to omega. Get the watch that sing to you more and not looking at the value, you will be happier with the purchase this way.
Both are really nice watch but if you are really purchasing for the "luxury", rolex will be a better choice.
firstly...
WELCOME TO THIS THREAD!!!
You have just exposed yourself to one of the MOST poisonous and Contagious threads in HWZ forum...
a few points to take note when you are getting your first Luxury watch:
1) Why are you getting this watch?
Is it to signify a certain achievement? Or for investment?
2) Will you be wearing it regularly?
3) If you are looking at its resell value, do you intend to "flip" the watch in near future?
4) remember to do your own research as well.
Last but not least, get a watch which you LOVE and enjoy the whole experience. because this will be your Story in time to come...
And when you hoot it, share with us your experience, just like how some of us here shared ours...![]()

TGI Sunday!
Ok this is slowly growing on me. Esp the dome crystal.
Got plain rg version and dome crystal?