Has it got anything to do with Brazil's qualification? :s13:

Oi4kByV.jpg

No prizes for guessing who I am rooting for tonight.. :s12:

Repost my old photo... Go Go Go!!!

Nakedtoes

It will be my first time getting a luxury watch for myself, and so far have got my eyes on the Omega Seamaster 2254.50.

Would fellow bros recommend this watch? Will it be able to retain its resale value after prolonged usage? Am thinking of pairing this up with leather straps too, will it match? Thanks in advance! :D

P/S: Or should I just save up for the Submariner since it's for sure that the Rolex will be able to retain value? =o

2254.50 is getting more and more rare so yes price will rise. Plus omega is dammed aggressive in rising price for their new models.. much aggressive then rolex, tudor etc..Furthermore there are watch lovers who prefer the pre coaxial movements.. they are proven reliable for years while the coaxial movement one seen like got "many" problems.. Many experts also see omega acquired Coaxial movements for the sake of marketing only (To rise to Rolex level etc). And yes those non coaxial Omegas prices all will rise..

IF getting sub get brand new one... dun get those before the ceramic.. cause i feel not worth the price.

Scribblemyname

It will be my first time getting a luxury watch for myself, and so far have got my eyes on the Omega Seamaster 2254.50.

Would fellow bros recommend this watch? Will it be able to retain its resale value after prolonged usage? Am thinking of pairing this up with leather straps too, will it match? Thanks in advance! :D

P/S: Or should I just save up for the Submariner since it's for sure that the Rolex will be able to retain value? =o

Why would you want retain its resale value? Most watch depreciates anyway, just by how much. Rolex definitely have better resale value compared to omega. Get the watch that sing to you more and not looking at the value, you will be happier with the purchase this way.

Both are really nice watch but if you are really purchasing for the "luxury", rolex will be a better choice.

Henabi

firstly...

WELCOME TO THIS THREAD!!!

You have just exposed yourself to one of the MOST poisonous and Contagious threads in HWZ forum...

a few points to take note when you are getting your first Luxury watch:
1) Why are you getting this watch?
Is it to signify a certain achievement? Or for investment?

2) Will you be wearing it regularly?

3) If you are looking at its resell value, do you intend to "flip" the watch in near future?

4) remember to do your own research as well.

Last but not least, get a watch which you LOVE and enjoy the whole experience. because this will be your Story in time to come...

And when you hoot it, share with us your experience, just like how some of us here shared ours... ;)

Scribblemyname

2254.50 is getting more and more rare so yes price will rise. Plus omega is dammed aggressive in rising price for their new models.. much aggressive then rolex, tudor etc..Furthermore there are watch lovers who prefer the pre coaxial movements.. they are proven reliable for years while the coaxial movement one seen like got "many" problems.. Many experts also see omega acquired Coaxial movements for the sake of marketing only (To rise to Rolex level etc). And yes those non coaxial Omegas prices all will rise..

IF getting sub get brand new one... dun get those before the ceramic.. cause i feel not worth the price.

Actually the only problem for co-axial is 2500A and 2500B only when 2500C is release the problem isn't there already because they tweaked the beat rate and did some small changes to the escapement. 2500D is just some modification to further improve it. Other than advertised longer service time, the escapement also promised to allow the watch have stable precision over time compared to swiss lever.

Yes, acquiring co-axial probably is a marketing strategy as there are no substantial proof that it will withstand time better than the traditional swiss lever. However, it is still something new and something different. When we acquire time piece not everyone but most want something unique in that particular watch weather it is the design or the movement but in this case the escapement.

I don't see the old calibres to actually rise in price unless they are iconic pieces produce by Omega or the movement is an in house movement exclusive by Omega which as far as I know 2254 don't run on in-house movement but heavily modified ETA.

End of the day, I still applaud Omega to actually do something to make themselves stand out from the rest of the watch company as of now. It only take time for Omega to prove that co-axial is the new direction and I believe it is better than the traditional swiss lever with proper modification they did for 8500 and their 9000 series calibre.

Henabi

Actually the only problem for co-axial is 2500A and 2500B only when 2500C is release the problem isn't there already because they tweaked the beat rate and did some small changes to the escapement. 2500D is just some modification to further improve it. Other than advertised longer service time, the escapement also promised to allow the watch have stable precision over time compared to swiss lever.

Yes, acquiring co-axial probably is a marketing strategy as there are no substantial proof that it will withstand time better than the traditional swiss lever. However, it is still something new and something different. When we acquire time piece not everyone but most want something unique in that particular watch weather it is the design or the movement but in this case the escapement.

I don't see the old calibres to actually rise in price unless they are iconic pieces produce by Omega or the movement is an in house movement exclusive by Omega which as far as I know 2254 don't run on in-house movement but heavily modified ETA.

End of the day, I still applaud Omega to actually do something to make themselves stand out from the rest of the watch company as of now. It only take time for Omega to prove that co-axial is the new direction and I believe it is better than the traditional swiss lever with proper modification they did for 8500 and their 9000 series calibre.

so far, i personally feel that only the following Omega watches has collection value
- Omega De Ville Hour Vision Co-Axial Skeleton Platinum Limited Edition
- Omega SeamasterPlanet Ocean Titanium Liquidmetal Calibre 8500
- Omega Speedmaster Professional Moonwatch Apollo 11 "40th Anniversary" LImited Edition

chickenbackside

nice high cut leather shoes...

CBS...working on Sunday as well?
Thanks bro. I bought the boots on sale for $100! Cheap and good. But I sent them to Italy to be custom patina'd. No so cheap in the end, but still cheap considering the end result.

Not working today. Enjoying my Sunday.

Don't work too hard!

Henabi

Thanks bro. I bought the boots on sale for $100! Cheap and good. But I sent them to Italy to be custom patina'd. No so cheap in the end, but still cheap considering the end result.

Not working today. Enjoying my Sunday.

Don't work too hard!

no choice >.< company preparing for government audit. otherwise I should be out with my wife enjoying a pint of ice-cold German beer at Clark Quay

yattokame

woooo... yatto dai kor.. I love the grain texture of your PAM leather strap and the thickness of the white thread is very matching. From K2 as well?

:D

errr ya this is the one and only $18 strap from K2 I bought hahaha...
the pic is enhanced by my iPhone though.

will be going to get more straps from him hahaha:s12:

These two also quite nice...

LordKuroda

2254 very old leh. haha super hard to find. lol
i also like. sub and 2254 price difference very huge leh!

Haha really? This is odd because apparently 2254.5 are more common among the preowned seamaster models that are being sold for. Bros nakedtoes and scribblemyname has one right! :s13:

can find lah.. swx got. around $2.6k.. sometimes JW will have it too.

submariner... depends on which series to get lor. with or w/o pinhole, SEL, chapter ring? cheapest i've seen so far also around $6k+.. IIRC.

personally, i prefer V series and beyond (not as old).. but might still get it BNIB at the end of the day, if i ever get sian of my 312 and want a crown.

so i guess it really depends on what rocks one's boat..

Woah! That's a lot of variations, didn't know the submariner can come with so many different features. Have been looking through the submariners being sold and they look the same to me. V series? Shall check it out for sure, time to do my research, haha thanks so much for your response once again!!

what do you mean by "prolonged usage"? if you mean as a daily beater with scratches and all, that will bring the value down.

for an old model of watch, best to go pre-owned. that way you won't be paying too high a price upfront.

Yup spot on bro! That is one of the reasons pulling me towards the Sub too with its ceramic bezels! Have been looking through preowned watches that are for sale, haha thanks so much for the thoughtful reply!

Haha the 2254.5 owner has spoken! Woah this is a relief to hear, yup yup have heard great things about the movements for Omega too. Looking at your 2254.5 pics is just so poisoning bro. :s13:

Why would you want retain its resale value? Most watch depreciates anyway, just by how much. Rolex definitely have better resale value compared to omega. Get the watch that sing to you more and not looking at the value, you will be happier with the purchase this way.

Both are really nice watch but if you are really purchasing for the "luxury", rolex will be a better choice.

Hehe another 2254.5 owner has spoken! Yup well said, maybe I shouldn't be that bothered by the resale value afterall. As EDMW always say, hoot first think later! ;) So you would still recommend getting the 2254.5 after having it for awhile? Thanks thanks, really appreciate your advise man! :D

firstly...

WELCOME TO THIS THREAD!!!

You have just exposed yourself to one of the MOST poisonous and Contagious threads in HWZ forum...

a few points to take note when you are getting your first Luxury watch:
1) Why are you getting this watch?
Is it to signify a certain achievement? Or for investment?

2) Will you be wearing it regularly?

3) If you are looking at its resell value, do you intend to "flip" the watch in near future?

4) remember to do your own research as well.

Last but not least, get a watch which you LOVE and enjoy the whole experience. because this will be your Story in time to come...

And when you hoot it, share with us your experience, just like how some of us here shared ours... ;)

Yup yup thanks thanks! I feel very welcomed here and didn't expect to be receiving great responses from fellow bros here! Easily the most helpful thread here! *thumbs up* Will be using your awesome purchasing guide to choose my first watch!

LOL I concur, as much as the poison that exist in the phone threads, they are nowhere close to this thread. The poison is strong in this one! Have been lurking in this thread and the bros here have got really nice watches, make me super gian! Will definitely GPGT and share the happiness with everyone here no worries. :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.