The Watch Thread - Part 6

Henabi

hi, slow down.. appreciate your bb first. you seems to just started. take this time to see see look around and understand about what each brand got to offer then decide also not too late. your taste will slowly change for sure.

Agree with donten as well... in fact BB is very versatile and very suitable to be a daily beater even with formal wear.

just ask aerolord and Rak_thai about their BBs ^.^

Henabi

Errr i wear suit on most days? Hahaha.....

I lawyer mah, remember? LOL
Actually office air con too cold lah!!! :D

Best is everyday bo dai bo ji.

hahahah yatto dai kor... you really upholding your role as a "lawyer" yeah lolx.

kiosai

Wearing China watch at an inconvenient time..

PHaaCtj.jpg

fugiwara

thanks guys for the all the input, really appreciate it . totally agree with Henabi with regards they prefer something more elegant , will go to the AD and see see look look :s12:

Thai_Rak_Thai

guys tio poison liao.

considering the next purchase.. can recommend extreme value for money daily beater? (budget below 5k?)

hope to get something along the likes of my beloved Tudor BBB

Yo…good to see you are in the groove

I think the guys mean well. Don’t throw your money instantly, take some time to appreciate your watch and more importantly, your options.

These luxury watches usually come with a lot of tradition and history (even myself, not a horological collector, no Patek yet!) - just an example

The school is always divided, why buy a Rolex over a Timex – both read the time. And as usual, I tell my bros…we don’t really need another watch. Sometimes, I feel, it is the brand of a watch that stands by their product.

There are many reasons, there is no wrong or right. Some just want the most accurate in terms of movements, some appreciate complications – the more complicated, the more elusive and exclusive, some just want that brand on his wrist, some appreciate the long history or high quality craftsmanship, and not forgetting those who just like a particular or unique design regardless of movement/mechanics. Some wait for the appreciation, to sell.

Again, I reiterate this to anyone – first and foremost a watch that you like and fits your lifestyle.

Regarding your budget, maybe a Moonwatch would be nice. Iconic and evergreen (just my opinion)

I can honestly share, when buying that model – I researched a lot on various forums, tried to retrieve old catalogues, and read up a lot on the hype of the first watch then went to the moon. It was an enjoyable 9 months of understanding and appreciation. Just a simple debate on the hesalite (3570) vs sapphire (3573) can drag very long.

One trend I notice amongst collectors is the price never is an issue, if they really like something...they'd go all out for it. You may say 5K now...but once you get so deep, you may say...i really like this 15K watch instead =:p

Have fun and hope you find your next high…

:)

Henabi

thanks guys for the all the input, really appreciate it . totally agree with Henabi with regards they prefer something more elegant , will go to the AD and see see look look :s12:

if you don't mind pre own watches... you can consider HJ watches at Level 2 Far East Plaza. imo, compared to other pre-owned watch shops, they have quite a sizable collection of Pre-owned ladies watches.

Henabi

I think the guys mean well. Don’t throw your money instantly, take some time to appreciate your watch and more importantly, your options.

These luxury watches usually come with a lot of tradition and history (even myself, not a horological collector, no Patek yet!) - just an example

The school is always divided, why buy a Rolex over a Timex – both read the time. And as usual, I tell my bros…we don’t really need another watch. Sometimes, I feel, it is the brand of a watch that stands by their product.

There are many reasons, there is no wrong or right. Some just want the most accurate in terms of movements, some appreciate complications – the more complicated, the more elusive and exclusive, some just want that brand on his wrist, some appreciate the long history or high quality craftsmanship, and not forgetting those who just like a particular or unique design regardless of movement/mechanics. Some wait for the appreciation, to sell.

Again, I reiterate this to anyone – first and foremost a watch that you like and fits your lifestyle.

Regarding your budget, maybe a Moonwatch would be nice. Iconic and evergreen (just my opinion)

I can honestly share, when buying that model – I researched a lot on various forums, tried to retrieve old catalogues, and read up a lot on the hype of the first watch then went to the moon. It was an enjoyable 9 months of understanding and appreciation. Just a simple debate on the hesalite (3570) vs sapphire (3573) can drag very long.

One trend I notice amongst collectors is the price never is an issue, if they really like something...they'd go all out for it. You may say 5K now...but once you get so deep, you may say...i really like this 15K watch instead =:p

oh yeah bro... LET THE POISON BEGINNnnnnnnn...... =:p

a562140

good points, if admin hardworking and read this will know to sticky this at the start of every thread.

only one more thing to add: asking for opinions is fine, but the main thing is to buy the watch that YOU like.

rboyboy

What's the basic/cheapest swiss watch that you all will buy? Tissot? Swatch? Just curious.

coern

Had lunch today with a friend at Tras Street. Nice ambience and pretty good food. Recommended for french food around Tanjong Pagar area!

Vr8mPqu.jpg

Forgot to say, they have one aged camembert that tastes a lot like very good durian! nice! :)

Thai_Rak_Thai

What's the basic/cheapest swiss watch that you all will buy? Tissot? Swatch? Just curious.

that's very vague my friend...you must know/understand what you are buying?

When it comes to watches, it's harder than choosing a wife! (don't quote me) ...i love my wife, but i possess many watches :D

It's not like choosing wheat or italian loaf at Subway

coern

if you don't mind pre own watches... you can consider HJ watches at Level 2 Far East Plaza. imo, compared to other pre-owned watch shops, they have quite a sizable collection of Pre-owned ladies watches.

HJ is one of my favourite places to browse for watches. :)

Don't go there if you aren't ready to be poisoned!

Nitrile

already have a PAM, and a tudor diver

whats the next logical step?

been eyeing a chrono for my next purchase

either a speedy or an el primero, what say you guys?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.