The Watch Thread - Part 6

cowed77

Info? It's an Orient Disk Rainbow. The hour hand is actually a cut out and the colour changes according to the colour behind the disc. It has a green coloured exhibition case back. Size is 41.5 mm and lug is 22 mm. What other info?

also saw frm ur reply that it's frm creation watches.
Thx! That's all the info I need dude! Hope this isn't a seasonal piece haha. Probably gonna hoot soon!

a562140

OMG.. very nice Heuer collection
that vintage omega bullhead is droolicious

my favourite is the not so well known seamaster collection - not so well known yet, but poised to become collectors items. just beautifully designed with no nonsense movements.

yeah not just that but it reflects a knowledge of watch history and demonstrates the will and persistence to get the collection right, not swayed by the latest/greatest/gliziest, plus the box, papers etc.....

even if you had money to spend, it wouldn't guarantee getting such a coherent collection!

for those who didn't click the link:

Here are a few more other shots of the display

IMG_2325-X2.jpg

IMG_2326-X2.jpg

IMG_2328-X2.jpg

IMG_2329-X2.jpg

IMG_2331-X2.jpg

IMG_2332-XL.jpg

IMG_2333-X2.jpg

IMG_2334-X2.jpg

gaoxing84

Hi Bros,

I have been following the thread for a while.

I have been working for 3 years since graduation and finally have the financial wriggle-room to invest in a time piece that could kick-start my collection.

I have previously been wearing fashion pieces from burberry, armani etc and I have a few seiko chronographs from the sportura and elite series..

Always find walking into ADs such as sincere and watches of switzerland intimidating..

Any recommendations for a larger faced watch(I prefer as I am a 6 footer :))? I like chronos but without is fine.

Budget would be anything below 5k?

What would that limit me to? Tags?

Preferable to pay via installments? How about paying at the DFS at Changi? I do travel for work quite frequently. :)

Thanks for the help! :)

You want Chrono, I may suggest Tag carerra or omega speed master. Bracelet or leather strap is fine. Or even the tag aquaracer looks good for daily wear.
If not Chrono, since you're a quite tall. Can try pam 000.

Paying thru installment is fine since there's zero percent interest. But I think keep it below 24 months is good in case anything happens. You never know.

Since you travel a lot, where do you travel to usually? Sometimes buying overseas might be cheaper.

Talking about tag, here's mine. Haha I am 5'11 thought, shorter than you :(

IMG_20140724_081643_zpsa44cc016.jpg

slow_mo

Hi Bros,

I have been following the thread for a while.

I have been working for 3 years since graduation and finally have the financial wriggle-room to invest in a time piece that could kick-start my collection.

I have previously been wearing fashion pieces from burberry, armani etc and I have a few seiko chronographs from the sportura and elite series..

Always find walking into ADs such as sincere and watches of switzerland intimidating..

Any recommendations for a larger faced watch(I prefer as I am a 6 footer :))? I like chronos but without is fine.

Budget would be anything below 5k?

What would that limit me to? Tags?

Preferable to pay via installments? How about paying at the DFS at Changi? I do travel for work quite frequently. :)

Thanks for the help! :)

IWC Mark XVII?

slow_mo

Thanks for the info patryn33!

Slow_mo: nice pair of fc. That moonphase is the slimline? The price you posted is for a brand new piece, cause the price i saw from online is alot higher.

Yes. It's the Slimline Moon Phase. Bought this 2 weeks ago from THG when they are having promotion. It's already OOS.

slow_mo

my favourite is the not so well known seamaster collection - not so well known yet, but poised to become collectors items. just beautifully designed with no nonsense movements.

yeah not just that but it reflects a knowledge of watch history and demonstrates the will and persistence to get the collection right, not swayed by the latest/greatest/gliziest, plus the box, papers etc.....

even if you had money to spend, it wouldn't guarantee getting such a coherent collection!

for those who didn't click the link:

Here are a few more other shots of the display

IMG_2325-X2.jpg

IMG_2326-X2.jpg

IMG_2328-X2.jpg

IMG_2329-X2.jpg

IMG_2331-X2.jpg

IMG_2332-XL.jpg

IMG_2333-X2.jpg

IMG_2334-X2.jpg

It's an impressive and huge collection. More like a museum.

k3nny85

thanks bros for replies.

I prefer new for my first quality timepiece!

The blackshield look great! really really nice. What is the price range on this?

I am easy going for brand, just want a good versatile starter piece when I need to go for dinners and for daily use.

I travel within the region only. Probably furthest is hk as my responsibilities are regional :)

How much would be a speedmaster or a carrera cost? Roughly?

patryn33

haha bro, I am no expert on mvts! Just a beginner looking to learn from all of you. :)

Iirc hk prices better than sg
Those carrera chrono are based off eta 7750 and they starts around 7k b4 discount. U are paying into marketing
Tudor all using unmod eta top grade mvt

Speedmaster starts 6k and up b4 discount, iirc discount is like 12%

If u interested in chrono fun read
http://www.watchtime.com/blog/fratello-friday-watch-nerd-alert-top-10-chronograph-movements-part-1/

All about 7750
http://www.svetsatova.com/forum/content/attachments/54524d1358857120-wt_2008_03_156.pdf.html

cowed77

Hoot first talk later!

Eh the rainbow one sold out liao... Only left single color one :(

Edit: found it! Hahaha by this month end.. Gonna decide between this or another orient one! :D

... For the gf unfortunately hahaha!

cowed77

Hahaha ya, I searched for orient disk then found it. Probably missed it when I went thru the whole list.

yattokame

thanks bros for replies.

I prefer new for my first quality timepiece!

The blackshield look great! really really nice. What is the price range on this?

I am easy going for brand, just want a good versatile starter piece when I need to go for dinners and for daily use.

I travel within the region only. Probably furthest is hk as my responsibilities are regional :)

How much would be a speedmaster or a carrera cost? Roughly?

Bro wats e current retail price for e tudor black shield? $6-7k?

My SA says 6580. Cant tell you how much discount on the web like this. Pm me if u guys are keen bah. If can we make group purchase i'm sure can whack more discounts.

Edit: sorry I can't share the discount with you guys as i dun really know who you are. The SAs have their ricebowl to keep also. I suggest if you are keen we all go down together and i let her talk to u all personally :)

crapman

nice family purchase :) how much cheaper getting from jepun?
i'm gonna go on record to say that your father's watch is the sleeper hit of the bunch and a great investment... once it goes end of life and out of stock. so keep the tags, receipt etc...

here's a long term review from a respectable watch site:
One Lunar Year With A Seiko SBDC007 - Review - Monochrome Watches - Monochrome Watches

for me the bigger dial gets the edge over the mm300. so in its 51mm case, its a real standout diver.

Its all about 2-5 hundreds cheaper than grey in Singapore. 007 is about $1,025 and mm300 is 2.1k based on higher exchange rate as I am using credit card.

Agree with you about the 007 aka Shogun. It's hard to find such a workhorse movement, finishing and titanium casing at this price.

gaoxing84

Iirc hk prices better than sg
Those carrera chrono are based off eta 7750 and they starts around 7k b4 discount. U are paying into marketing
Tudor all using unmod eta top grade mvt

Speedmaster starts 6k and up b4 discount, iirc discount is like 12%

If u interested in chrono fun read
Fratello Friday: Watch Nerd Alert! Top 10 Chronograph Movements, Part 1 | WATCHTIME.COM

All about 7750
http://www.svetsatova.com/forum/content/attachments/54524d1358857120-wt_2008_03_156.pdf.html

wah last time carerra chrono cost around 5k and below after discount.
now need 7k? siao bo! haha
one of my fav model from tag. this i rmb cost less than 5k but i didn't hoot back in 2009. lol
1107588d1370265557-tag-heuer-omega-carrera_tachymetre.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.