gaoxing84

Happiest place on earth too! Reporting from Orlando
IMG_20141226_000826_zps4de6705c.jpg

iV3RsOn

jus bought this for my gf, xmas present to match the sapphire proposal ring... which i havent collect :s13::s13::s13:

IMG-20141225-WA0008_resized_zps6d69528e.jpg

rachdanon

jus bought this for my gf, xmas present to match the sapphire proposal ring... which i havent collect :s13::s13::s13:

IMG-20141225-WA0008_resized_zps6d69528e.jpg

This kind of watch with great sentimental meaning even if yesrs down your tastes for watches develop, it starts to look unattractive etc...must keep for life hor. To me this is one of the if not the most satisfying aspect of owning watches.

rachdanon

Did you know that wristwatches were originally worn only by women in the 19th century as jewelry and men only used pocket watches?

Did you know that men would not be wearing wristwatches if not for war and military use? - the story of Panerai comes to mind and it's here that Wilsdorf & Davis (later renamed Rolex) had its beginnings?

So when we discuss about whether the handphone will replace the wristwatch for telling time, we're going backwards and not forwards folks - our ancestors had their timepieces in their pockets.

And with regard to smart watches I would add that the current designs which require constant charging goes against the grain of why wristwatches were invented - to be a tough reliable source of time to synchronize military manoeuvres. Hand wound or with automatic winding is still more reliable. You can't be constantly looking to recharge your smartphone in such a situation. Imagine if you are sent to Iraq for a mission and your life depended on your watch to tell time. Would you use your smart watch? I'll bring a Rolex Sub (only thing is the damn price, at the earlier years of the Sub it was much more affordable before it got a "luxury" watch status)

Interesting read here:
The History and Evolution of the Wristwatch...

iV3RsOn

This kind of watch with great sentimental meaning even if yesrs down your tastes for watches develop, it starts to look unattractive etc...must keep for life hor. To me this is one of the if not the most satisfying aspect of owning watches.

Haha, no choice cos kena ultimatum liao.... Ring ready for 1 month liao haven collect...

U all got proposal idea boh????

All in a Day

Haha, no choice cos kena ultimatum liao.... Ring ready for 1 month liao haven collect...

U all got proposal idea boh????

New Year countdown.. timing is perfect.. and u probably will never forget your proposal date should u get tested by your fiance/wife/partner in the future (something that females are particularly fond of doing)

Good luck!

All in a Day

Did you know that wristwatches were originally worn only by women in the 19th century as jewelry and men only used pocket watches?

Did you know that men would not be wearing wristwatches if not for war and military use? - the story of Panerai comes to mind and it's here that Wilsdorf & Davis (later renamed Rolex) had its beginnings?

So when we discuss about whether the handphone will replace the wristwatch for telling time, we're going backwards and not forwards folks - our ancestors had their timepieces in their pockets.

And with regard to smart watches I would add that the current designs which require constant charging goes against the grain of why wristwatches were invented - to be a tough reliable source of time to synchronize military manoeuvres. Hand wound or with automatic winding is still more reliable. You can't be constantly looking to recharge your smartphone in such a situation. Imagine if you are sent to Iraq for a mission and your life depended on your watch to tell time. Would you use your smart watch? I'll bring a Rolex Sub (only thing is the damn price, at the earlier years of the Sub it was much more affordable before it got a "luxury" watch status)

Interesting read here:
The History and Evolution of the Wristwatch...

Beg to differ on the mechanical vs smart watch debate.. You forgot about quartz watches.

Nonetheless, very interesting fun facts!

All in a Day

Is Pam getting more popular in Sg or just this thread getting more posts over the last few months ...hmm :s8:. With limited production numbers it should be a niche brand eh. I'm sighting more Pams in the wild also, 2nd to Rolex sightings. Even more than Tags or Omegas which are sold in much larger numbers. :s8:

No doubt they are more popular.. I suspect it has also got to do with what your mind is conditioned to notice. The huge ass size and crown guard makes them more prominent and likely to be noticed (pretty much the psyche of the average PAM owner - there I said it, flame me! =:p).

You could well have come across more casios and seikos 'in the wild' than rolexes and PAMs just that your mind was probably not conditioned to have noticed or make a mental count of them.

KeYoKe

anyone can recommend me good watches to get?
i cant decide between automatic watch or batt operated

was looking at casio edifice watches... but for automatic watch i dont know which to get. i dont wan leather strap, only wan metal type

All in a Day

was looking at casio edifice watches... but for automatic watch i dont know which to get. i dont wan leather strap, only wan metal type

for automatic watches at below $500 budget, check out seikos, citizen, orient (shamelessly lifting from someone else's post a few days back).

They have a wide range and ought to have some models that interest u.

KeYoKe

for automatic watches at below $500 budget, check out seikos, citizen, orient (shamelessly lifting from someone else's post a few days back).

They have a wide range and ought to have some models that interest u.

hmmm, okok.
usually u prefer automatic or batt? Casio wise got the tough solar:s13:
tbh, any designs like the casio one?

slow_mo

Try Seiko and Orient divers. They are good daily beaters.

All in a Day

hmmm, okok.
usually u prefer automatic or batt? Casio wise got the tough solar:s13:
tbh, any designs like the casio one?

Very much depends on personal preference. As to the design, do some googling of the brands. If u want some inputs, at least share pic of how the said casio looks like for everyone's reference ma..

Thai_Rak_Thai

Is Pam getting more popular in Sg or just this thread getting more posts over the last few months ...hmm :s8:. With limited production numbers it should be a niche brand eh. I'm sighting more Pams in the wild also, 2nd to Rolex sightings. Even more than Tags or Omegas which are sold in much larger numbers. :s8:

Maybe also use demographics...more appeal to younger crowd?

As for supply...as long as there is demand, our rich brothers will continue to support this brand! :D

Or just the crowd here...Paneristi centric

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.