The Watch Thread - Part 8

a562140

at the price of 5k, most of the quartz watches you are most likely paying for the logo on it, which i feel is stupid. the only exception being gs and the justification being they grow their own quartz crystal, they regulate it to 10sec/year and have a service interval of 50years outside of changing batteries. almost everything is built and tested inhouse. how many other companies can boast this feat? on the lower end of luxury rolex would be one of them which most would know about. as for automatics, most watches have overwind protection so there shouldnt be any worries about overwinding.

citizen. they beat grand seiko in quartz tech. last i read the citizen a660 is +/-5 sec a year 10 year battery life, and of course - thermo compensated, AND perpetual calendar feature.

Seannie

citizen. they beat grand seiko in quartz tech. last i read the citizen a660 is +/-5 sec a year 10 year battery life, and of course - thermo compensated, AND perpetual calendar feature.

My citizen no battery leh how to change? Are all their watches +/- 5 secs?

Henabi

Well...

Tell that to the older generations who knows Seiko and Citizen are good MIJ watches but the brand impression is not as "high class" as swiss watch brands.

try to throw them technical facts and try to convince them to spend 10k on GS...

most of their reactions will be:
"Ah di ah... dont bluff uncle lah... Want me to spend $10,000 on seiko?!?!?! You think uncle toopid ah?!?!?"
It's a fact no matter how you look at it.

That's the general public perception...

For automatic/self-winding/mechanical watches... it's not about the safety mechanism... it's the hassle...

"Uncle getting old liao..."
"Can't remember things that well..."
"So troublesome...I only trust my son in law to wind my watch for me... he not around then how?!?!!?"

shorty07

now since your FIL is 66 year old, there will definitely be many occasions whereby he will forget how to wind up automatic watches, end up spoiling the mechanism inside and then need to spends few hundreds or even thousands to replace a new movement.

after that... grumble left, grumble right, grumble why recommend him to buy such a "lousy" watch :(

Look at quartz better. and don't even bother to recommend grand SEIKO. To the older generations, their impression of Seiko is not [high-class]

try telling your FIL to fork out 10k for grand SEIKO and see what will happen to your nuts :s13:

Consider the following quartz:
- Tag Heuer Aquaracer / Link
- Omega aqua terra seamaster 38.5mm Quartz
- Omega Diver seamaster 28mm Quartz
- Baume-Mercier Classima Quartz
- Longines Conquest
- Longines La Grande Classique

To the older generations, they are very familiar with these swiss-made brands and it is more "high class" to them.

Avoid Mont-blanc as well, because to the older generations, Mont-blanc is famous for high class business pens.

To avoid any unnecessary "dissing" from your FIL... be smart and do some research about what kind of swiss-made watch brands were very famous back in the 70s & 80s.... that will give you a good idea what kind of watches to recommend and avoid.

next, bring your FIL to proper Watch Boutiques along Orchard Road or Raffles City Shopping Center or Marina Square or DFS @ Orchard.

please... Don't even think about bringing him to "Mustafa" or "Bencoolen"...

Always remember, your FIL Today, has the money to buy a proper luxury watch, so bring him to a proper luxury watch boutique. To him, its not like he don't have money to spend on watches in a proper watch boutique and need to settle for those "low-class" pre-owned watch shops...

If you are able to chip in around 2-3K, then your FIL might be able to get a basic Rolex explorer I or the re-branded Rolex Oyster perpetual.
Thks for ur inputs. Appreciate it. N seems like u really understand old ppl. Hehe. He did mention if cant get rolex, omega also can. Cos i tink these 2 he recognise the most. N now that u say it, raymond weil could well b a brand he knows. Even i grew up knowing that brand n went..."wah...these watches must cost a bomb."

shorty07

Abt seiko, he saw the astron, wif gps, n i briefly told him that the watch can detect where we r n change the time accordingly. He mistook wat i said n tot if we lose the watch, we can detect where it is. Then he wanted to buy it, say very gd, cant get lost one. Hehehe.

slow_mo

Well...

Tell that to the older generations who knows Seiko and Citizen are good MIJ watches but the brand impression is not as "high class" as swiss watch brands.

try to throw them technical facts and try to convince them to spend 10k on GS...

most of their reactions will be:
"Ah di ah... dont bluff uncle lah... Want me to spend $10,000 on seiko?!?!?! You think uncle toopid ah?!?!?"
It's a fact no matter how you look at it.

That's the general public perception...

For automatic/self-winding/mechanical watches... it's not about the safety mechanism... it's the hassle...

"Uncle getting old liao..."
"Can't remember things that well..."
"So troublesome...I only trust my son in law to wind my watch for me... he not around then how?!?!!?"

My 72 year old uncle wears a Rolex and a Seiko. Both automatic. He's the one (old uncle) that introduce Rolex to me 20+ years ago.

Henabi

Thanks shorty07... it comes from experience.

Buying a suitable gift for our elders is never an easy task. Always need to see things from their stand point...

GS good? Great? Yes! Worth spending 12k on it? Definitely! But only to a small group of people who truly know alot about watches and appreciates it.

The general public impression about Seiko will forever stay this way, unless the CEO of seiko suddenly wakes up tomorrow morning and decides to splash billions of marketing dollar to create a "high class" image on seiko... that's it's "satki"/atas/high class to own a seiko 5
Plus...seiko watches will no longer be sold in bencoolen and low end watch AD.
Only available thru THG/Dickson/Cortina etc

Just coming from a general public perspective.

Henabi

My 72 year old wears a Rolex and a Seiko. Both automatic. He's the one (old uncle) that introduce Rolex to me 20+ years ago.

Thanks for supporting my stand point.$5000 about 20 plus years ago can hoot a damn high end rolex ^.^

I am sure your uncle knows alot about watches and appreciates them alot ^.^
And the few exceptions compared to the general older generations I am talking about

patryn33

My citizen no battery leh how to change? Are all their watches +/- 5 secs?

Mechanical watch?
No battery? How energy is stored?
Rechargeable battery still battery they don't required changing for a long time.

Seannie

Mechanical watch?
No battery? How energy is stored?
Rechargeable battery still battery they don't required changing for a long time.

They store energy through light. Yar now think of it they also store the energy in a battery though it doesnt need to be changed i think. But got battery life if not wrong. 20yrs maybe? Not sure. Times up then throw lo i guess. Cheap cheap $300 nia can last few years enough liao. Much better than my ex-tissot last few months only.

Donten

TIL. thanks. tbh i dont really have a interest in citizen watches maybe because nothing caught my eye.

Thanks for supporting my stand point.$5000 about 20 plus years ago can hoot a damn high end rolex ^.^

I am sure your uncle knows alot about watches and appreciates them alot ^.^
And the few exceptions compared to the general older generations I am talking about

hes saying auto isnt a problem for older people.

Seannie

Forgotten who recommended citizen lastime that prompted me to get one, never regretted it.

shorty07

Thanks shorty07... it comes from experience.

Buying a suitable gift for our elders is never an easy task. Always need to see things from their stand point...

GS good? Great? Yes! Worth spending 12k on it? Definitely! But only to a small group of people who truly know alot about watches and appreciates it.

The general public impression about Seiko will forever stay this way, unless the CEO of seiko suddenly wakes up tomorrow morning and decides to splash billions of marketing dollar to create a "high class" image on seiko... that's it's "satki"/atas/high class to own a seiko 5
Plus...seiko watches will no longer be sold in bencoolen and low end watch AD.
Only available thru THG/Dickson/Cortina etc

Just coming from a general public perspective.
Bro...its not a gift...he buying for himself. His 1st ever luxury item. Thats y i want it to b worth his hard earned money. N also make it special. N as i also hv nvr bought any luxury watch, so not sure of the price range.

Thks a lot for all the pointers given by everyone here. Really appreciate it. Hopefully when he decides wat to buy, someone can point me to the right direction to get the best deal.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.