dominicwor2
Satki bo. ...
http://i59.tinypic.com/334p2iw.jpg[/I]
[IMG]http://i62.tinypic.com/9vf9eb.jpg[/IG][/QUOTE]
[img]https://usatftw.files.wordpress.com/2014/12/lebron.gif?w=1000
I don't know much about these tunas, but will try to answer based on what I know. SBDX011 has been around for several years, while SBDX014 is quite new in the market.
Similarities:
both use the same 8L35 movement (Its a GS movement btw)
Differences:
Gold color trimmings on SBDX014
SBDX014 uses ceramic shrould which is both good and bad.
Ceramic shroud is
(1) very scratch resistant
(2) Ceramic shroud surface looks very good
(3) BUT may break if dropped accidentally onto hard floors. (You can check out those painful stories of ceramic cases breaking apart, not just this watch. e.g. Omega's dark of the moon watch also uses ceramic)
The hour and minute hands are different. Most pple like the SBDX011 hands better than the new ones.
The date is moved to the 4 O'clock position. You get to see 3 o'clock markers if you are in the dark ocean... but for desk divers, the old 3 o'clock position for date is much easier to read.
More expensive! Duh
In conclusion, if price is not an issue, get the one that is more visually appealing to you. If you get SBDX014, be careful not to drop it!
Oh btw, please try it in person before you get this watch due to the size of this watch. Most recommend 7 inch wrist minimum for this watch but I think 6.75 inch wrist should be OK.

Suddenly GS is looking like very refined. Does cortina sell them? $3k can get? Which model is this?
Thanks Coppee bro. Like you've said, most of the differences are cosmetic and the specifications, such as movement and depth ratings are all the same.
Agree with your thoughts on ceramic too. An addition "con" to ceramic is its weight although to some people, it's a "pro". The SBDX011's shroud is titanium with PVD coating, so it should be lighter, but probably won't be as sexy as the matte ceramic. I think I'll wait for a future SBDX011 where Seiko will hopefully use titanium with DLC instead of PVC
I am also painfully aware of its huge size. The current shrouded monster that I'm wearing now is just the right size. Saw the baby tunas in a display case and it already looks too big, so not to mention the emperor tunas.
On a completely sidenote, just saw the Steinhart Ocean Titanium 500 and it is absolutely gorgeous. Now dunno whether to get the Steinhart Ocean Vintage DLC first or the Titanium 500 first![]()
Saw the steinhart titanium too. Indeed looks very value for money. 800 with sapphire domed crystal, titanium and lumed ceramic bezel. My only complain I'd the hands feels a little thick.
3 different brands, 3 different watches, all similarly priced locally for your review.

sakti sakti saktiThe Grand Seiko models that I have seen so far are about S$ 6K to 9K in Singapore.

Thanks Coppee bro. Like you've said, most of the differences are cosmetic and the specifications, such as movement and depth ratings are all the same.
Agree with your thoughts on ceramic too. An addition "con" to ceramic is its weight although to some people, it's a "pro". The SBDX011's shroud is titanium with PVD coating, so it should be lighter, but probably won't be as sexy as the matte ceramic. I think I'll wait for a future SBDX011 where Seiko will hopefully use titanium with DLC instead of PVC
I am also painfully aware of its huge size. The current shrouded monster that I'm wearing now is just the right size. Saw the baby tunas in a display case and it already looks too big, so not to mention the emperor tunas.
On a completely sidenote, just saw the Steinhart Ocean Titanium 500 and it is absolutely gorgeous. Now dunno whether to get the Steinhart Ocean Vintage DLC first or the Titanium 500 first![]()
Get a casino g-shock lah! Pah Si Buay Pai!thank you! $6-9k is really Ok! Where can i get them in local shops like Cortina got?
quality & craftsmanship good or not? Will the needle break off if drop on the floor? I saw on rolex club fb, one guy posted a rolex with the second hand needle broke off.. sibeh gaolak.. then heard stories of people drop rolex and the ceramic bexel just picak like that... like that still call good watch meh? im surprised.
Anyone know where's the place to buy oris in jb? Aiming for oris 65 and wanna take advantage if weak rm
Hiaks!!! Thank you for this sweet wrist shot!
This is so rare all the boutiques I went to don't even have it in Stock.
Even ordering one requires you to be their 'special' customer...
How did you get yours?
For me I'll be happy with Lange 1 automatic. Will take years to reach this goal though...
Satki bo. ...
Just saw the Steinhart Titanium 500. Jialat liao kena poisoned liao
Sent from 10 Buangkok View, Buangkok Green Medical Park using GAGT

thank you! $6-9k is really Ok! Where can i get them in local shops like Cortina got?
quality & craftsmanship good or not? Will the needle break off if drop on the floor? I saw on rolex club fb, one guy posted a rolex with the second hand needle broke off.. sibeh gaolak.. then heard stories of people drop rolex and the ceramic bexel just picak like that... like that still call good watch meh? im surprised.
he is the 'special' customer u were referring to. lol