The Watch Thread - Part 8

bencheongcm

Guys, we should stop feeding the bloody troll. Reserved the post for more wrist shots and other "how to" for real questions. Guy here are very knowledgeable. Doubt them then don't ask !

Want to get already get liao still ask so much for what.

Scare broken ? Don't buy !
Scare not sakit ? lup whole life saving and buy !
Scare die ? Don't LIVE !

NO RISK NO GAIN

0.02 cents

:s8:

Seannie

3 different brands, 3 different watches, all similarly priced locally for your review.

XaeUAjo.jpg

i had to go all the way back to page 90 to find out that the GS model is called a snowflake and had to be bought from japan :eek:

xuan87

Bros, are there any brick and mortar shops in Japan that will sell regular Seiko watches at discounts? My colleague is heading there at the end of Oct and I'm thinking of asking her to help me pick up some if the price is right.

Kenneth C

thank you! $6-9k is really Ok! Where can i get them in local shops like Cortina got?
:s21::love:

quality & craftsmanship good or not? Will the needle break off if drop on the floor? I saw on rolex club fb, one guy posted a rolex with the second hand needle broke off.. sibeh gaolak.. then heard stories of people drop rolex and the ceramic bexel just picak like that... like that still call good watch meh? im surprised.

Go to Seiko Boutique at JEM or Vivo City to take a look at the available Grand Seiko models. If you like a watch, you either keep it in the safe or you wear it. But, be prepared for scratches and wear and tear. So far, not sure if there is a luxury watch that is shock proof.

Donten

Bros, are there any brick and mortar shops in Japan that will sell regular Seiko watches at discounts? My colleague is heading there at the end of Oct and I'm thinking of asking her to help me pick up some if the price is right.

Yodobashi/bic camera would be a start. House kihiroba and jackroad are the usual mentions in this thread. Price wise definitely better than anywhere you can find online.

xuan87

6-9k for GS from singapore boutique?!?!
Seriously?!?!?!?!
NPNT

I randomly look at a GS last weekend when I was at the JEM Seiko boutique and it was 10k+. Can't confirm if there is any cheaper than that there because I didn't have the time to look at them.

Seannie

Go to Seiko Boutique at JEM or Vivo City to take a look at the available Grand Seiko models. If you like a watch, you either keep it in the safe or you wear it. But, be prepared for scratches and wear and tear. So far, not sure if there is a luxury watch that is shock proof.

Ok. Think i will go to vivocity for a look at their models. Actually i only like the snowflake model. Lets see. Thanks. I thought watches like rolec go for alot of vihorous tests before being sent to retailers, but i guess its just advertising purposes. Anyway, i dont expect my watch to take a big knock but just in case, you never know. I wouldnt be happy if i have to pay a premium for a watch and the mechanisms just goyak like that. Trust seiko has better quality.

Seannie

GS Quartz and GS Automatic - I remember the range is 6 - 9 K. Maybe near to 10K for the higher end models.

Correct me if I am wrong.

I aiming for spring drive. Not too sure how spring drive is different from quartz and automatic. I only know quartz uses battery need to change lehceh but more accurate. Automatic is based on shaking your body. Spring drive duno simi lai eh but sure sounds atas. Website nv explain much only day a scientist spent 20yrs to develope soring drive.

Kenneth C

I aiming for spring drive. Not too sure how spring drive is different from quartz and automatic. I only know quartz uses battery need to change lehceh but more accurate. Automatic is based on shaking your body. Spring drive duno simi lai eh but sure sounds atas. Website nv explain much only day a scientist spent 20yrs to develope soring drive.

Honestly why you don't consider a Rolex as your 1st luxury watch. It has better resale value. For GS - Resale value is likely not to be good as a Rolex. The experts here may disagree with me.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.