The Watch Thread - Part 8

njchay1981

went to big time last week. asked the staff if they have the limited edt mm300.

surprisingly they say they have it and took it out for me to try.

kena poison gao gao by the gold details on the watch.
they mentioned that they only have 1 piece, and the price will be 4k+ :s22::s22:

SfJnDxH.jpg

but. must. resist.

ROAD TO R!! :s12::s12::s12:

Bro they must have see u darn rich wanna carrot u ...
They charged me S$3,500 before less.
I must have been looking darn poor!!
*i bought the very same watch you've molested!!*

Henabi

Thats the SBDX012 mm300 50th anniversary LE right???

If able to get less than 3500, I am sure many many many watch lovers here would wanna get it

randomgreen

Bro they must have see u darn rich wanna carrot u ...
They charged me S$3,500 before less.
I must have been looking darn poor!!
*i bought the very same watch you've molested!!*

wa! really meh. :s22::s22::s22:

actually the day I molest it the staff say they were unsure of the price. then roughly quote me 4k. maybe after confirmation is 3.5k lor. :s11:

means you got it this week from big time ah.

jelly of your hoot!! :eek:

patryn33

Henabi

TeenTitan01

Well... seems like we're all assuming randomgreen is peasant 'poor' because he is still undergraduate. Scarly spending 11k to him is like us spending $110... who knows! :D

Anyway yes, I already mentioned in my previous post that when purchasing a luxury item, is this luxury item really worth the money spent? Of course, one derives that 'song' feeling, that 'I finally bought this with my hard-earned money', that 'I am now one level up above the other measly peasants', that 'I finally owned my dream watch'. But we have to ask ourselves, what is the opportunity cost? Will you derive more enjoyment from purchasing something else instead?

For example, 11K cold hard cash, I could own a quite high-end gaming desktop, a school laptop, a quite high-end music player, some nice blazers, shirts, pants, towels, a good pair of spectacles, and some nice gifts for GF, and yet probably still have spare for a nice Seiko automatic watch... the list goes on...

Compare this to 11K = one Rolex watch

Which derive more satisfaction with the same amount of money? (For me it's the former because I'm a peasant)

Everything is a balance between the cash you have, and the things you really need/want in any point of life, the kind of lifestyle you want, and how much you want to reserve for future use. So just my 2 cents.

Well I can say something like "get a replica" cos with the money spent on a better quality of life, people around you will believe that you indeed can afford that "Rolex".

The real issues among WIS are:

1. We know in our hearts that it's a fake, and as people of integrity, authenticity matters.

2. We own & wear watches to please ourselves, not to impress others.

3. The money spent on a fake is better off spent on authentic, respectable watch whose quality is better than that fake.

At the end of the day, look at a drawer full of fakes and ask: is the thousands spent worth the money, especially if you've been caught out wearing one?

TeenTitan01

I would like to healthy contest your last statement of simply something with brand name :)

Have u hold a Rolex Sub to compare with OT500?

If so, in which area that the sub is not of values/function/uses (example)

No flame or challenge. I just want to understand more :)

Will this discussion eventually lead to a robust discussion on economics, utility theory, demand/supply and why diamond cost more than water even though water is essential to life? :eek:

Sorry uncle had glanced at an old a-level econs text eons ago and that's all I can remember. :s13:

TeenTitan01

i would say Rolex Sub > OT500.
because OT500 took the design. haha.

Rolex bracelet is just impeccable. Workhorse movement, proven for years and years.

maybe suit the different market.

to be honest i would rather have 5 bloody expensive time pieces compare to 100 affordable ones.

100 affordable ones will see almost no wrist time and end up selling them away at small loss.

5 expensive one, at least can rotate easily.
if heng, maybe sell off can earn. ;)

plus i admit i am a brandwhore hahahahaha

That is true now, but it wasn't so for a long time (too long, in fact!).

The harsh truth is that older rolexes have a rinky-dink, rattlely stamped metal clasp that really let down the entire watch. In that era, it was the omega speed/sea-masters that had enviable best solid clasps in the business.

speedmaster-5.jpg

Here's a photo to show the difference b/w the old & new rolex clasps to appreciate how good the new one is and how really, really crappy the old one was:

ymcl13.jpg

slow_mo

That is true now, but it wasn't so for a long time (too long, in fact!).

The harsh truth is that older rolexes have a rinky-dink, rattlely stamped metal clasp that really let down the entire watch. In that era, it was the omega speed/sea-masters that had enviable best solid clasps in the business.

speedmaster-5.jpg

Here's a photo to show the difference b/w the old & new rolex clasps to appreciate how good the new one is and how really, really crappy the old one was:

ymcl13.jpg

Not just the clasp. The new Rolex jubilee bracelet is better with solid links.

TeenTitan01

Yes, that would be a concern if I'm going to carry 3 watches. But I'm really only going to be carrying one. It's a non-issue. But all that unnecessary extra bulk is off-putting.

Yes! The Oakley one would work fine. But I can't locate any locally.

Bro chickenbackside, since your PP Nautilus is your current fav daily beater, which presumably get the most wrist time at least for now, which bracelet watch do you intend to be protected by that case?

soilwork

Will this discussion eventually lead to a robust discussion on economics, utility theory, demand/supply and why diamond cost more than water even though water is essential to life? :eek:

Sorry uncle had glanced at an old a-level econs text eons ago and that's all I can remember. :s13:

haha tt dai kor, value is subjective and measured by own needs and wants :)

Like for me, 3 to 4 watches is more than enough. Not enough wrist time.

Some will be like 50 watches also not enough :)

I see it as a hobby and hobby needs to spend and need to control also lah

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.