The Watch Thread - Part 8

LondoBell

Hi, Can I know how often do you guys wind your automatic watch? Presumably wrist time is around 8 hrs.

Usually a functionally auto watch standby time is around 40 to 50 hrs right? Do you put it in the watch winder during inactivity time?

Asking this is because mine (sdbx001) stopped after 3 days with 8 hrs of wrist time daily. Need to wind quite frequently - like twice in a week.

Is this normal? Brought to Seiko service Centre, couldn't find any abnormalities with it. Finally they send back to Japan which they did some testing but did not open the casing. They as well couldn't find any wrong with it.

Did I bought a lemon watch or I did not fully understand the function of a automatic watch.

Sorry for the long post. Just want to find out more . Thanks

Sent from Samsung SM-N9005 using GAGT

bro do u drive? some people wear but dun rly move their wrist much. maybe thts y

as for watchwinder, dun bother. cheap ones are not rly smooth from exp. besides, the money can be btr used to fund another watch

TeenTitan01

Correct me if I'm wrong, but the two models you quoted are Baby Tuna models, so smaller than the full tuna but larger than the shrouded Monster that I posted before your post.

Personally, I feel that Tuna are best on smaller wrists? Why? Because due to its extremely circular design and the additional shroud, it will look better appearing as oversized on a small wrist, lending the watch more presence. But that's just my opinion, you should head down to a watch shop and try it on for yourself, to see if you will like it appearing oversized on your wrist.

Yup. The key here is that the Tunas have virtually no lugs to speak of visually.

IMHO, how "big" a watch can be affected by a couple of factors:

1. Lug-to-lug length, because some watches with longer lugs may cause a watch to overhang a smaller wrist.

2. The dial size vs the case size. Often people look at the case size. But a dress watch that is "all-dial" so to speak like the FC moonphase at 40mm actually looks BIGGER than say 40+mm divers like MM300/Orient 300m Saturation Diver/Rolex Submariner because a diver's dial diameter is reduced by its bezel width.

xuan87

bro do u drive? some people wear but dun rly move their wrist much. maybe thts y

as for watchwinder, dun bother. cheap ones are not rly smooth from exp. besides, the money can be btr used to fund another watch

I've read online that if your watchwinder movement is not smooth, it can really affect the accuracy of your movement. In the end, you'll still need to adjust the hands.

I see... so need to act on it by winding before the watch stop ?

Then I think I going to get a watch winder and put it in there when I go to sleep.

Bro you misunderstand me. By right if you wear on a daily basis, meaning morning wake up wear watch, go to watch, come back home from work and take off (don't have to take off right before sleep) and you repeat this cycle the next day, you won't need to wind up your watch ever.

If you wear your watch on a daily basis and your watch can still stop in the middle of the night, then there is something wrong with your watch's power reserve/barrel.

talonn

Hi, Can I know how often do you guys wind your automatic watch? Presumably wrist time is around 8 hrs.

Usually a functionally auto watch standby time is around 40 to 50 hrs right? Do you put it in the watch winder during inactivity time?

Asking this is because mine (sdbx001) stopped after 3 days with 8 hrs of wrist time daily. Need to wind quite frequently - like twice in a week.

Is this normal? Brought to Seiko service Centre, couldn't find any abnormalities with it. Finally they send back to Japan which they did some testing but did not open the casing. They as well couldn't find any wrong with it.

Did I bought a lemon watch or I did not fully understand the function of a automatic watch.

Sorry for the long post. Just want to find out more . Thanks

I don't think its normal. 8 Hours per day should be more than enough to fully charge the watch. Unless your hands barely move while you're wearing it

Alfie77

I did actually sent it SSC for a health check but the folks there says everything is good. They conclude that I may not generate enough wrist movement during wear. So I bo bian take it as they are the expert in the field.

So just to understand if this is the characteristics of a auto watch. And ways I can prevent it from happening again. You can imagine adjusting the hands every few mornings while referencing time from my HP.

xuan87

I did actually sent it SSC for a health check but the folks there says everything is good. They conclude that I may not generate enough wrist movement during wear. So I bo bian take it as they are the expert in the field.

So just to understand if this is the characteristics of a auto watch. And ways I can prevent it from happening again. You can imagine adjusting the hands every few mornings while referencing time from my HP.

Well, if you get more auto watches in the future and this problem is common in all of them, then definitely is your wrist movement not enough.

LondoBell

bro, try to max out ur power reserve tonight by gently shaking it for abt 30x in circular motion with the watch dial up, flat.

if rly ur watch still can stop by next morning after this, i can conclude its genuinely faulty. :o

talonn

Well, if you get more auto watches in the future and this problem is common in all of them, then definitely is your wrist movement not enough.

Fully agreed on this. This is the only way to identify the problem.

In other words.. get more watches!

may I suggest steinhart ocean ti 500?:D

xuan87

Fully agreed on this. This is the only way to identify the problem.

In other words.. get more watches!

may I suggest steinhart ocean ti 500?:D

Walao, demo unit not even in Singapore and no one can molest it yet and you still trying to poison everyone gao gao. Too much leh you!

TeenTitan01

Gz4kJayl.jpg

Am i doing it correctly?

Sent from Leica M240 using GAGT

Hand on p.ussy? WTG, bro! ;)

Nice kitteh. Love the spotted fur pattern. Your p.uss got a bit of the munchkin look... :D

radiancez567

First, you said normally can last 40-50 hours, that's the stated specs for a lot of automatic watches.

Second, you say it cannot last 3 days, yes 3 days is 72 hours, of course cannot last.

Third, you sleep till you wake up how long? If your watch can stop moving within 8 hours, it means you are too inactive with it (since SSC say no problem).

Fourth, your manual should say to wind the watch by turning the crown for like 30 rounds to 12 o'clock direction to power it up. And also to wind it at specific time of the day.

Fifth, the position of your watch it important. I think ideally it should lie flat on its back.

My 2 cents from owning an automatic watch for less than a month.

Henabi

If you don't believe those technicians at Seiko Service center... then I suggest three type of watches:

A) watches with solar-powered watches. Or eco drive technology
B) get a quartz battery operated watches (non solar, non eco drive type)
C) seiko premier perpetual watch

No need to worry about the watch stop moving after a few days

For mechanical n automatic movement watches, even if it is your daily beater, it is good to always wind the crown a few times everyday.

For my tudor watch, I will wind 15-20times every 2-3 days. For my kenneth Cole and 25 hours. I will wind about 10 times daily.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.