The Watch Thread - Part 8

Yurikaze

i would say no. bad value. dont let the limited edition and limited pieces bluff you. 6.5k range is already rolex/tudor/grand seiko range where you get better finishing/prestige/better movement.

Thanks for the advise mate. Probably should invest in another pam. Haha

Anyone have advise for pam couple watches? Trying a find a nice match for my wife. Preferably 44mm to fit 24mm lug width.

kenapa siol

Anyone spotted Seiko SRP655/653 at any City chain outlet? Went to Northpoint and cwp, both bo.

And just to check, mustafa got carry this model?

Lastly, which strap suits those that sweats a lot?

PS: Is it cheaper to purchase both watch and strap at the same place? Is online cheaper for both watch and strap?

TIA.

gaoxing84

Ya just the word 8 days but abit pointless without the indicator lol

Haha that's true but it's gonna cost more.
Not sure behind have the indicator anot.
If it's a daily wear then 111. If not 510 not bad. Can keep running when not wearing it.
I like the 111 more

balzebub

Anyone spotted Seiko SRP655/653 at any City chain outlet? Went to Northpoint and cwp, both bo.

PS: Is it cheaper to purchase both watch and strap at the same place? Is online cheaper for both watch and strap?

TIA.

Have spotted 655 at City Chain VIVO before, but City Chain is selling these at full retail. Mustafa not sure but only offering 10% off. 700-860++ for non LE Seiko with 4Rxx movement not worth it IMHO. Besides, these two models are HUGE, wears bigger much bigger than the SUN Kinetic GMT divers, bigger than SBBN Quartz tunas..

Sweat a lot? stainless steel bracelet or nylon straps i think are most comfortable.

Right now only online sources for 655/653 will be individual sellers on forums and carousell etc. Prices range from 620 to FULL RETAIL.

My sincere advise is to wait for export sets to come into play, this will push over all supply up and drive down prices. Maybe i am stingy or poor, but paying full retail or with minimal discount for non LE Seikos when usual discounts are much higher rankles me and i personally refuse to give in and pay a premium for early ownership. After all, just a watch, not a necessity. i wouldn't mind waiting months to buy at saner prices or pick up a lightly used piece.

LondoBell

TIA.

ion city chain have. 866 no discount. bencoolen 3D watches both color 700. sweat a lot, get a mesh bracelet. its godsend to counter sweaty wrist for me.

@proskiwc if u wanna get a ball chrono, get this.
photo-1.jpg

otherwise, a speedy anyday.

isnt 510 more suited for daily wear since no need wind so often?:s11:

coern

Ya just the word 8 days but abit pointless without the indicator lol

the "point" is to indicate that the watch is with the new 8 days mvt. else no difference at all! :D

and it make the watch seem like a much better deal since the price premium is not high for an in house mvt compared with modified ETA

balzebub

anyone know is ball watch is good?im looking at ball hydrocaborn engineer nedu
2wpif55.jpg

Ball watch? been on my radar for a long time. Tried on many many....Generally well built with good fit and finish. Their bracelet quality is also very high especially on their Hydrocarbon series of watches. I like the crown guard design, very quirky but not for everyone. If you like the looks and want to have a watch with tritum tubes for illumination in the dark, then go for it. The Nedu is a good looking watch though design aesthetics is very personal.

If you can get a good discount or buy used, they are actually quite good value for the money spent.

Sadly, re-sale will suck, so if that's a consideration..

gaoxing84

ion city chain have. 866 no discount. bencoolen 3D watches both color 700. sweat a lot, get a mesh bracelet. its godsend to counter sweaty wrist for me.

photo-1.jpg

Usually long power reserve is for ppl who rotate their watches.
To me that's the way haha

gaoxing84

the "point" is to indicate that the watch is with the new 8 days mvt. else no difference at all! :D

and it make the watch seem like a much better deal since the price premium is not high for an in house mvt compared with modified ETA

510 grey is approx 8-9k? Bnib?

kenapa siol

Have spotted 655 at City Chain VIVO before, but City Chain is selling these at full retail. Mustafa not sure but only offering 10% off. 700-860++ for non LE Seiko with 4Rxx movement not worth it IMHO. Besides, these two models are HUGE, wears bigger much bigger than the SUN Kinetic GMT divers, bigger than SBBN Quartz tunas..

Sweat a lot? stainless steel bracelet or nylon straps i think are most comfortable.

Right now only online sources for 655/653 will be individual sellers on forums and carousell etc. Prices range from 620 to FULL RETAIL.

My sincere advise is to wait for export sets to come into play, this will push over all supply up and drive down prices. Maybe i am stingy or poor, but paying full retail or with minimal discount for non LE Seikos when usual discounts are much higher rankles me and i personally refuse to give in and pay a premium for early ownership. After all, just a watch, not a necessity. i wouldn't mind waiting months to buy at saner prices or pick up a lightly used piece.

Thanks for the prompt reply bro. I got big arm, so 50mm i can still accept.

And i agree, just a watch nia, i can wait till the price is drive down like you mention. On the other hand, do you happen to know how much is consider reasonable for both 655/653?

TIA

photo-1.jpg

866 is :eek:. Perhaps all city chain outlet is selling at this price, no need to see liao. Shall heed bro balzebub advise to hang on my wallet. And, yes, i sweat a lot, so those rubber straps tends to gets dirty on those edges quite fast. As for mesh bracelet, out of curiosity, will stink mah if sweat too much? Used to have baby g many many yrs ago, the stench build up is super unbearable...hehe..

balzebub

Thanks for the prompt reply bro. I got big arm, so 50mm i can still accept.

And i agree, just a watch nia, i can wait till the price is drive down like you mention. On the other hand, do you happen to know how much is consider reasonable for both 655/653?

TIA

866 is :eek:. Perhaps all city chain outlet is selling at this price, no need to see liao. Shall heed bro balzebub advise to hang on my wallet. And, yes, i sweat a lot, so those rubber straps tends to gets dirty on those edges quite fast. As for mesh bracelet, out of curiosity, will stink mah if sweat too much? Used to have baby g many many yrs ago, the stench build up is super unbearable...hehe..

Am wearing one of my divers on thick mesh now, since i shower with it on at the end of the day it stays clean. In our weather, need to clean our watches also....

Reasonable price? Right now for brand new Thong Sia set around 620-640, ideal price around 570-600. That's just me. Everyone has different interpretation of what is reasonable. Given that many are still being sold at 700-800 i guess most would consider that "reasonable"

Just that at 700-800 i have quite a few other choices....for e.g. Seiko Sumo (around 600 and better 6R15 movement), any of the SARB/SARG/SARX series of watches (also 6R15) for around 600-700, or top up a bit (less than 100) and hoot a SBBN017 Tuna, and quite a lot of micro brands offer interesting watches for less using the same movement or the better Miyota 9015..in fact from certain brands like Squale/Steinhart/Tissot/Hamilton/Davosa you can even hoot a Swiss made piece with ETA movements..

Many would disagree or flame me, but Seiko is starting to move their pricing up with their PROSPEX range of watches. Some models are "worth" it with actual improvements to movement used etc but some are not; just charging us more for the "X" on the dial. Slowly losing my interests in lower - mid range Seikos. Not such a good value proposition anymore.

kenapa siol

Am wearing one of my divers on thick mesh now, since i shower with it on at the end of the day it stays clean. In our weather, need to clean our watches also....

Reasonable price? Right now for brand new Thong Sia set around 620-640, ideal price around 570-600. That's just me. Everyone has different interpretation of what is reasonable. Given that many are still being sold at 700-800 i guess most would consider that "reasonable"

Just that at 700-800 i have quite a few other choices....for e.g. Seiko Sumo (around 600 and better 6R15 movement), any of the SARB/SARG/SARX series of watches (also 6R15) for around 600-700, or top up a bit (less than 100) and hoot a SBBN017 Tuna, and quite a lot of micro brands offer interesting watches for less using the same movement or the better Miyota 9015..in fact from certain brands like Squale/Steinhart/Tissot/Hamilton/Davosa you can even hoot a Swiss made piece with ETA movements..

Many would disagree or flame me, but Seiko is starting to move their pricing up with their PROSPEX range of watches. Some models are "worth" it with actual improvements to movement used etc but some are not; just charging us more for the "X" on the dial. Slowly losing my interests in lower - mid range Seikos. Not such a good value proposition anymore.

I see. Paiseh, still new to seiko series and new to watches as i only wear digital ones back then. My initial "wish" is to get the SBBN017, as i mention earlier, 47-50mm diameter is something i can accept, and the sporty sporty look, really gum me. Until i saw another bro posted his SRP655, i jitao fall in love liao. Slightly cheaper compare to SBBN017 also, and my fav color, black dial bezel :) Is the price is around 620-640 in Seiko boutiques, i will consider buying it le.

Anyways, do you have any of your diver + mesh strap posted somewhere here? Can sic post or re-post to let me see see?:D

Donten

I see. Paiseh, still new to seiko series and new to watches as i only wear digital ones back then. My initial "wish" is to get the SBBN017, as i mention earlier, 47-50mm diameter is something i can accept, and the sporty sporty look, really gum me. Until i saw another bro posted his SRP655, i jitao fall in love liao. Slightly cheaper compare to SBBN017 also, and my fav color, black dial bezel :) Is the price is around 620-640 in Seiko boutiques, i will consider buying it le.

Anyways, do you have any of your diver + mesh strap posted somewhere here? Can sic post or re-post to let me see see?:D

Would say the srp655 not worth. top up abit get a real tuna.

pwillie

Guys, perhaps you have saw the latest ball watch advertised recently at FB for the ball limited edition magneto valor. It's limited to 399 pieces worldwide and it's been all taken.

I've been offered by a friend who is willing to let his slot go. Number 205/399. Rrp is about $6450 sgd. Just wonder if it's a really good buy.

Comments pls?

Unless you really like the design, if not for a anti magnetic watch, 6.5k has other options... for eg Omega Aqua Terra.

proskiwxz

Ball watch? been on my radar for a long time. Tried on many many....Generally well built with good fit and finish. Their bracelet quality is also very high especially on their Hydrocarbon series of watches. I like the crown guard design, very quirky but not for everyone. If you like the looks and want to have a watch with tritum tubes for illumination in the dark, then go for it. The Nedu is a good looking watch though design aesthetics is very personal.

If you can get a good discount or buy used, they are actually quite good value for the money spent.

yes i really love this nedu design,i will not resale it,but after discount is 4640,is it worth the price?

pwillie

IMO for Ball go for their lowest range, the more expensive ones are not worth the money, unless you really like their designs...their finishing is not there with the Omegas or Tags at the equivalent pricing

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.