The Watch Thread - Part 8

Seannie

ROLEC! ROLEC! ROLEC! ROLEC! ROLEC! ROLEC!

5 matches! 5 matches! 5 matches! 5 matches!

Dont tempt me... this kind of hoot must think very carefully then can execute. Mai luan luan lai..
5 figures watch. 1 match 1 figure. Actually am i just buying the crown logo??

All in a Day

But i thought rolex has good resale value becos of its high demand? Anytime sell and take back monies? No??? Pls advise.

I am surprised this topic has yet to close off with new twist on tag heuer aquaracer vs submariner. (as far as I can gather browsing thru).

To give my 2 cents:
Rolex has one of the 'best' re-sale value amongst luxury (subjective definition) watches. By 'best' re-sale value it means relatively low losses and higher liquidity (ability to sell off quickly, again relative) compared to other watch brands and NOT about making profit or even breakeven. Pls do NOT harbour such illusions.

Admittedly a lot of people buy rolex solely on the brand perception, including the 'best' re-sale value proposition. It is a happy coincidence for these folks too that, IMHO, rolex does indeed make good watches and have a really respectable horological history (though I would suspect most of these folks couldn't care less).

Bottomline, if within your financial means, get the rolex as I reckon that it will satisfy the various reasons (gathered from your posts) that is motivating such a purchase and there have been enough inputs from everyone on the re-sale value bit already.

Good luck and hoping to read about your purchase and not repeated questions on the same topics very soon.

Henabi

Dont tempt me... this kind of hoot must think very carefully then can execute. Mai luan luan lai..

If you just wanna buy the 5 matches crown logo... Taobao has APLENTY.

What's 5 figure?!?!
When after getting a rolex, you will have all the hot chicks and OL crowding around you, touching your hand and your bling bling rolex... saying wonderful things like:
"Wow... what a manly watch you have..." or
"Mmmmmmmmmm.... you have SUCH a sexy watch"
"I can't keep my eyes off you and your watch.. "
http://www.forbes.com/sites/arieladams/2014/04/14/why-rolex-watches-are-the-most-reputable-consumer-products-in-the-world-according-to-industry-study/

All in a Day

Good question and it is precisely what everyone has so far been trying to get you to ask yourself: do u appreciate the watch for what it is? The folks here appreciate the horology and some lucky enough to have the means to own one (or more) Rolexes.

To be fair, there is no shame, whatever your motivations may be, so long as you are making the purchase based on a sensible budget and not beg, steal, borrow.

See my earlier post. Alrite, let this be my last post on this topic. cheers

Donten

lets be real here. modern tag aint worth much nowadays. you want to stroke your ego best get a rolex. the aquaracer is no where near as legendary as the sub. i would say a seiko is better than the aquaracer in all aspect and its not even a close fight.

soilwork

I like the word legendary haha but a sub is a sub. Nothing will come close

I will go for seiko too instead of TH. no question ask.

Thai_Rak_Thai

You can also do it the hard way like me. I bought a TAG Carrera at first, then a Rolex Sub later on when I had the means. Maybe if you have them side by side you can appreciate the value, movement and aesthetics of a watch. In theory, a watch is used primarily to tell the time. But as you can see from the many replies, a luxury watch does more than that. Whatever reason it is, if one can afford it - there is no right or wrong - for the price you pay for either, you get a decent watch (there is no super duper best ever watch, trust me). Hope you get your dream watch.

bencheongcm

Here is my cheapo plain Seiko.

Wear out I also feel sia sway when girl see me. Because the DW watch is even more up than this

353439j.jpg

Henabi

You can also do it the hard way like me. I bought a TAG Carrera at first, then a Rolex Sub later on when I had the means. Maybe if you have them side by side you can appreciate the value, movement and aesthetics of a watch. In theory, a watch is used primarily to tell the time. But as you can see from the many replies, a luxury watch does more than that. Whatever reason it is, if one can afford it - there is no right or wrong - for the price you pay for either, you get a decent watch (there is no super duper best ever watch, trust me). Hope you get your dream watch.

agree trt.

seannie' goal to buy a rolex is obviously not to tell time, otherwise a $10 casio digital watch is able to perform this task. His purpose is to hao lian aka show off

like this guy...

GEXAlBU.jpg

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/e...how-off-$1k-notes-rolex-facebook-5138343.html

soilwork

Date day with wifey! Time off from my dear son and we can have a slow and relax day

Panerai goes well with black coffee, hearty BF and wood. Amazing tops in photos ( to me lah)

SdOhyux.jpg

patryn33

But i thought rolex has good resale value becos of its high demand? Anytime sell and take back monies? No??? Pls advise.

Rolex makes over 1,000,000 watches a year!
Buy 10k sell take back 10k anytime? Dream on dream away
I brought my wife Rolex date just with few diamonds go jap pawn shop they only want to pay me usd$1k.

Recall the days when go orchard eat fish ball noodles just $2? Today how much? That also in demand lol

Seannie

http://www.forbes.com/sites/arieladams/2014/04/14/why-rolex-watches-are-the-most-reputable-consumer-products-in-the-world-according-to-industry-study/

Wow rolex is 2nd in the list on par with BMW. Very impressive.

http://www.ablogtowatch.com/10-things-know-rolex-makes-watches/

Rolex made all the parts in-house. High QC.

Made of exclusive 904L steel which blings differently from all other watches steel.

Rolex watch take almost a year to process. Sibeh atas!

Tio gongtao already. Will get it from AD. Must-have.

Seannie

Date day with wifey! Time off from my dear son and we can have a slow and relax day

Panerai goes well with black coffee, hearty BF and wood. Amazing tops in photos ( to me lah)

SdOhyux.jpg

Hi boss how much u pay for the penerai watch may i know?

Seannie

Here is my cheapo plain Seiko.

Wear out I also feel sia sway when girl see me. Because the DW watch is even more up

Ok lar, not so bad looking. Every watch got different purpose. As long serve your purpose can already. Who knows there may be gsls who are smitten with seiko cos associated with wang lee hom tiobo?? Young chicks dont look up to rolexes de la.. they think rolex look unclish. Your watch looks just nice with hot blooded chicks.

Seannie

I brought my wife Rolex date just with few diamonds go jap pawn shop they only want to pay me usd$1k.

I think you are mistaken. If buy 10k i can sell back for 7k anytime i am happie already dont need lose the whole 10k. But if u say can only sell back 1k i seriously need to think about it already.

Seannie

lets be real here. modern tag aint worth much nowadays. you want to stroke your ego best get a rolex. the aquaracer is no where near as legendary as the sub. i would say a seiko is better than the aquaracer in all aspect and its not even a close fight.

Wow thanks man for your brutal honesty. U saved me $2.7k. Nearly going to settle for aquaracer liao if not u guys here gave me many perspectives. U all are da men! Heng ah never waste monies on someting that cant compare to a seiko.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.