The Watch Thread - Part 8

pwillie

Ok guys. ..going down later to see the blue face daytona. ..I've seen the gold rubber strap daytona. .the list for the blue Daytona is almost 100k.. didn't think rolex so ex wan

Noooo..... Don't fall for the dark side :vijayadmin:
Get FP Journe, Dufour or Ferrier to complement your PP
Get MBF, Ressence or Vianney to complement your Urwerk

Henabi

Gotta agree on this. very very nice watch.

Rolex

or the ever bling bling rainbow daytona :D

Schermafbeelding-2012-03-07-om-15.38.09.png

Saw the rainbow version at Suntec rolex AD... my wife say WAH!!! SO COLOURFUL

Henabi

Hahahaha!!!!

Don't disturb his determination to get siao mei mei with rolec

iceflight

Fp journe. .. ordered resonance.

Dufour. .. can't frea...ing get

Ferrier. .. not my cup. .not really independent

Mb&f got and still getting

Ressence. . Interesting

Vianney halter. . Bad service. .cause he's a bit maybe lazy. ..ordered deep space but was advise not to get

Henabi

Fp journe. .. ordered resonance.

Dufour. .. can't frea...ing get

Ferrier. .. not my cup. .not really independent

Mb&f got and still getting

Ressence. . Interesting

Vianney halter. . Bad service. .cause he's a bit maybe lazy. ..ordered deep space but was advise not to get

No wonder wanna get Rolec lah...

shorty07

Omega, Grand Seiko and Tudor are all good choices. With 5K budget, i think you have more options from these brands as compared to Rolex.

I will also suggest Christopher Ward but the designs and brand name might not appeal to him.
definitely not CW. Old fashioned guy...only those classic names he will know.

chickenbackside

Let him get one Lolek lah.

Can wear to swim and knock around. Cruise around in the yacht, any time can jump into the sea. Need a watch for lounging around on the beach...

shorty07

how old is your fil and whats his dress sense like? rolex very hard. close to impossible i believe. i would say next best would be omega/tudor. tudor go for the black bay and omega can go for the iconic speedmaster professional. these are the more timeless/classic design. grand seiko would be a more aquired taste which isnt suitable for a beginner imo but if you want a start, can look at sbga011 aka snowflake.
Hes 66 this yr. So far his watches r rather plain bracelet types wif silver face. So omega n grand seiko can get wif 5k? Will show him some pics.

shorty07

If your FIL is not particular about watch movements, especially if he doesnt really know how to take care of mechanical/automatic watches...
then look at watch brands with quartz.
like omega, tag heuer.
if able to get two tone gold with 5-6k budget even better
I don tink he is particular...but everytime i buy watch or look at watches, he will b quite interested till i see likw he wanna buy also. N since he nvr had any auto watch, tot it will b gd to get one now.

jt2901

Hes 66 this yr. So far his watches r rather plain bracelet types wif silver face. So omega n grand seiko can get wif 5k? Will show him some pics.

GS definitely no.

As for Omega, if auto and its those 8500 calibre, don't think can.

slow_mo

Grand Seikos... Go SG boutique try and buy online from Japan.

shorty07

Omega also cannot get? Wah...like this must show him tudor liao. Grand seiko also i tink difficult to get auto for 5k.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.