The Watch Thread - Part 8

jase07

Shortlisted a few of the Spring Drive models:- SBGA125, SBGA011, SBGE001 not sure still in stocks or not. SBGE001 heaviest and biggesr size 44mm i have slim hand must try out in store then know.

u not afraid later your friends laugh at you?

Seannie

u not afraid later your friends laugh at you?

Y laugh at me? Shushu frens all middleaged. Uncles & aunties. Dont think they will laugh at me. No xmm smm frens. GS leh. Very cio. Not just buying the GS logo nia. Thinking which is nicer, the blue dial or the white one. By the way i have fair skin. Currently my citizen watch has a black dial doesnt look too bad.

Seannie

Sorry to ask but how much does "help" usually cost? Ofcos i dont complain if need to pay for service.

Urgent attention. Need to know how much servicing costs per 2 years in order to gauge. Thank u.

Seannie

ok lor. then don't say or think of buying ok? :s13:

Hmmm... becos recession looming thats why liquidate asset and keep cash. Initially thought of investing in a rolex but after hearing bros saying new one sure lose alot monies, only get preowned then got resale value. But i dont like a preowned piece. So shift my attention to GS looks like the most respected jap watch here after the likes of swiss watches like PP, AP, panerai and rolex. I dont know where GS ranks in atas level but i guess should be among the top comparable to rolex.

Seannie

Wondering why uncke teentitan only appearing at night. Work night shift ah?? Uncle teen, toto $2.2mil can hoot or not? I queueing to hoot see can tio grp 1 or not. 😄 tio already chia u lim kopi. Swee bo

jase07

Y laugh at me? Shushu frens all middleaged. Uncles & aunties. Dont think they will laugh at me. No xmm smm frens. GS leh. Very cio. Not just buying the GS logo nia. Thinking which is nicer, the blue dial or the white one. By the way i have fair skin. Currently my citizen watch has a black dial doesnt look too bad.

ok good, faster go buy. still waiting for you to share your hoot.

chickenbackside

While I was studying in the US many years ago, I bought a huge old Chrysler LFS (size of Mercedes S class) with a friend for US$900 off Craiglist. Even comes with seat warmers! Worked well for 3 months until my friend tried to drive it across the US and the engine caught fire. We just scraped the car on the spot haha.

I also came across a listing for a '87 RX-7 online for US$2300 and almost bought it but didn't in the end as i was afraid of high maintenance for the rotary engine.

Generally, for US$5000, you can get a decent 2nd hand car (like Mazda 6) from a dealership and cheaper if you choose to buy online.
During my uni days in OZ, I bought a car (Ford Laser, 1.5L) for AU$450, and I drove it for 6 freaking years! No break down even once! Just servicing once a year, changed tyres, brakes, that's it! Auto + aircon. What more do you need? It brought me to different states for holidays even!

I once had this interesting "discussion" with an acquaintance who complained his parents did not want to buy him a car. While I sided with him initially, after a while I just was like, "to you its a want not a need"

I think all parents have these three criteria when buying things for their children, and sometimes I can think a bit like my parents. They are:

1) You can afford it

2) The parents can justify it

3) What was the purpose of the purchase

Quite true, but its all very swings and roundabouts. The result of cars being so cheap there, is that parts of LA just happen to resemble the largest carpark/ assembly of non-moving traffic!
I know my kids are the type who really rather not drive. They love the public transport in SG and never ever asked to borrow any of the 2 cars we have at home. They don't like to look for parking, tear coupons, top up cash card...etc. They're MRT and taxi people. No buses haha.

But over there it's like a prison without a car.

been there done that.

took public bus in orlando, my gf was talk alittle loud, kena kan by some italian/mexico guy. he shouted from the front to ask us to STFU. hahaha

lucky i was there. if not gg. haha heng i also not say very small size. when need, maybe still can hold up a fight. hahahaha :s13::s22:

other than NYC, the rest of the people in US owns a car.
can drive across states for holiday.
haha

like what johnny drama in entourage says "in LA, nobody walks"
A huge reason why I don't hesitate to buy them cars is because, in the 1st few months in Uni, I was robbed by a bunch of racist youths while waiting for the bus. Took everything I had, my bag, shoes, watch, money...etc. No way would I want any of my kids to have to risk that if I have the means...

jonleelk

20141009_123823.jpg

GX has poor man Kermit while I have the poor man Sub:s13:

And following GX's order, I just ordered a poor man Sinn! Will GPGT when received. =:p

xuan87

20141009_123823.jpg

GX has poor man Kermit while I have the poor man Sub:s13:

Bro is this the Seiko SNZF17 with modded hands?

Next month, I'll chip in with a photo of my poor man Blancpain Fifty Fathoms :s13:

I'm limiting myself to 1 watch purchase a month only, and this month already spent on shrouded monster.

slow_mo

Bro is this the Seiko SNZF29 with modded hands?

Next month, I'll chip in with a photo of my poor man Blancpain Fifty Fathoms :s13:

I'm limiting myself to 1 watch purchase a month only, and this month already spent on shrouded monster.

1 watch a month!

gaoxing84

You are not so bad yourself. Got Pam, Speedie, Seiko and Pebble!

Buy what we can. Live within our means!

you forget my tissot visodate and gshock :( hahahahahahaha!

pebble still rocks although i gian the new RG (not 20k) apple watch but the battery life :(

pebble easily last me 5 days. hahaha

pebble is so light that it feels there's nothing on your wrist. training my wrist to wear RM 027 (56g) hahahahaha which that day will not come. :s13:

gaoxing84

Wondering why uncke teentitan only appearing at night. Work night shift ah?? Uncle teen, toto $2.2mil can hoot or not? I queueing to hoot see can tio grp 1 or not. 😄 tio already chia u lim kopi. Swee bo

wah tio toto lim kopi only? not treat jiak buffet meh :s8:

gaoxing84

And following GX's order, I just ordered a poor man Sinn! Will GPGT when received. =:p

eh which one? haha i quite gian to hoot the seiko 5 pilot since i got 50 bucks voucher at lazada. but didn't hahaha.

saving for mm300. hehehehehe ;);)

gaoxing84

During my uni days in OZ, I bought a car (Ford Laser, 1.5L) for AU$450, and I drove it for 6 freaking years! No break down even once! Just servicing once a year, changed tyres, brakes, that's it! Auto + aircon. What more do you need? It brought me to different states for holidays even!

I know my kids are the type who really rather not drive. They love the public transport in SG and never ever asked to borrow any of the 2 cars we have at home. They don't like to look for parking, tear coupons, top up cash card...etc. They're MRT and taxi people. No buses haha.

But over there it's like a prison without a car.

A huge reason why I don't hesitate to buy them cars is because, in the 1st few months in Uni, I was robbed by a bunch of racist youths while waiting for the bus. Took everything I had, my bag, shoes, watch, money...etc. No way would I want any of my kids to have to risk that if I have the means...

sometimes being a asian in US can be risky. my friend was robbed at gun point right outside his NY apartment.
but this friend passed away due to cancer 1 year after his grad. 28 years old. RIP friend.:(

gaoxing84

Bro is this the Seiko SNZF17 with modded hands?

yea yea. aka sea urchin. can say its a homage to sub. haha the design very similar.

can get it for $150-$170. my brother paid 170 at k2 with bracelet

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.