The Watch Thread - Part 8

TeenTitan01

Get MrG best.

Goes well in both suit and casual.

Runningman123 Lagi better. Expect the people to be able to help him/her to "authentic" the rolec SD and save the verification fee at RSC...

Such wishful thinking

Maybe he's an inexperienced buyer bah...

Seannie

Yea, I know what you mean. All my old watches, like Titus, Fossil, Swatch etc see no wrist time now. Even the watches I bought this year, like the Bambino, is in danger of being forgotten with my recent obsession with Seiko divers :s22:

Dont buy so many $200 watches la. Come follow me we go hoot GS together.. when u are ready lemme know. Wait for you.

TeenTitan01

I'm aiming for an Omega Speedmaster (not immediate), specifically the model below. Anyone knows if this is an old model or something that is not readily available? I looked up the official Omega site but the models there doesn't seem to be exactly the same.

83a1bdc337c798bd08227b09ca9aab26.jpg

Personally I think the Speedmaster looks damn gorgeous on a leather strap. :)

Omega had models that they've ceased production (like the brown dialed SMP) and has recently change their model numbers and up their prices. In return, you get a bulky box, a loupe, a medallion, a watchband tool, etc in addition to the watch.

As for the strap, google "omega speedmaster professional rally strap". :D

lxsnipexl

hello everybody, any recommendations for mechanical chronographs that won't break the bank? preferably something with the looks of Seiko Brightz SDGZ013 or Seiko Panda

I am aware of seiko anata series but sibei chor leh :s22:

and everything else like mostly vintage/out of production models

quartz can annot?

Seiko SBPY085

sbpy085_2.jpg

SBPY085G_1.jpg

DOGGYCUP

anyone interested in bnib speed master? the new version with the big box and accessories. ref no. 31130423001005

ordered one but changed my mind.

iceflight

So darn EDMW here with people boasting just on buying a GS... Just buy...what's the big deal.? Do keep to the spirit of this thread... $100 watch also respected...

Talk Ot also ok, TT spoke about cost of living... Ok .. Decent things.... What service Gao Gao and stuff...buy at my level sure service Gao Gao... Even md also come to service you.... But I have never expected anything different from any SA. all are my friends and I look for them Lim kopi in the shop, talk cock...nice right

xuan87

Dont buy so many $200 watches la. Come follow me we go hoot GS together.. when u are ready lemme know. Wait for you.

With the amount of savings I have, I can hoot Rolex Submariner now if I want. But cannot, must save up for first house.

Buying a $200 watch now will give me more satisfaction than a $10k GS, so bro, no need wait for me, please go ahead, I'll wait here for your photo :D

Currently saving up for a Steinhart Ocean Titanium 500 for a self Christmas present :s12::s12:

fade_white

I'm looking for a speedmaster reduced (automatic) 3539.50... most I've seen on sale at forums/at watch stores are 3510.50. anyone know how to find one in sg?

any omeage expert know if its possible to change from a 3510.50 dial to a 3539.50?

TeenTitan01

I wanted the skyhawk but AD call headquarters then called ne back told me sg agents dont carry skyhawk. Wth. Those i like never bring in to sg.

Wah lau, now got online merchants, what's stopping you?

Mai NATO lah.

Get a replica and be done with it. And thank us later!

Because from far, no one can tell whether a rollie is a rolex, a lolex or a relax.

:s8:

TeenTitan01

Wow you are right bro. Im feeling sad for peasants like u. Damn disappointed. I guess alot are happy and contented for things to remain cos they are highly committed (they have assets which they are afraid of prices drop) u see wat i mean?

Yah, and continue paying top dollar for overpriced "assets".

Tell me: how is a HDB 99 yr LEASEHOLD consider "ownership" went it's effectively a 99 yr rental?

Don't believe? Try to obtain a loan from a bank using yr HDB Leasehold as collateral. :s13:

You only own something when you full rights of disposal with no encumbrances.

LondoBell

With the amount of savings I have, I can hoot Rolex Submariner now if I want. But cannot, must save up for first house.

Buying a $200 watch now will give me more satisfaction than a $10k GS, so bro, no need wait for me, please go ahead, I'll wait here for your photo :D

Currently saving up for a Steinhart Ocean Titanium 500 for a self Christmas present :s12::s12:

i do prefer CW's trident compared to steinhart ocean series.:o

Donten

I'm looking for a speedmaster reduced (automatic) 3539.50... most I've seen on sale at forums/at watch stores are 3510.50. anyone know how to find one in sg?

any omeage expert know if its possible to change from a 3510.50 dial to a 3539.50?

skip the reduced and get the professional. reduced dial doesnt look proportionate.

runningman123

btw the rolex i post is a replica,i wanted to see without knowing its replica,how many ppl are able to see it thru it looks.maybe seanie can consider buying.only 690

xuan87

Wah lau, now got online merchants, what's stopping you?

Mai NATO lah.

Get a replica and be done with it. And thank us later!

Because from far, no one can tell whether a rollie is a rolex, a lolex or a relax.

:s8:

Skywatches got alot of Citizen nighthawk. Seannie, you should be able to find what you want.

TeenTitan01

The vehicle problem has no easy solution. At least we have a good public transportation system that I don't miss having a car. When seriously need a car, then can still quite easily find a cab.

My personal solution is to replace COEs with island wide ERP. Charge people for usage instead of ownership. And different time of the day, different roads, different charges. But that comes with its own set of difficulties like determining the right fees, build more ERP etc.

Anyway in case people say I go OT, I'll like to start a fun exercise:

Over at wornandwound, they have a series of articles where each editor was asked to recommend 5 watches for a total cost of US$2,000, so a newbie can get a decent collection for decent money. The five categories are: dress, chronograph, sport or diver, quartz or digital, and tool or beater.

I found those articles very interesting as they not only introduce me to new watches, but to new watches that are highly valued for money. I'm sure many bros here also have such watches in mind and I think it'll be good for us to share with everyone else their recommendations.

Who want to go first?

Sorry gents for being OT again.

Satellite GPS ERP is a good idea (except for privacy advocates), but as usual for the gahmen, it will be priced to fleece. (A dead old man once said, "what's wrong with collecting more money?")

Why a car may be necessary? As you go through your life-cycle, you need a car to:

1. Pak tor (access to secluded spots for some serious couple time mah, no?) ;)
2. Send your newborn/young kids to see doctor when they're sick. :(
3. Haul that load from weekend shopping trips. :D
4. Send your aged parents for their medical checkups, etc. :(

As for wornandwound's exercise, I believe my signature has already answered it in full. :D

Code:
Want an in-house, value-for-money, best bang-for-buck watch?
Just choose Seiko/OrientStar/Citizen.

LondoBell

hello everybody, any recommendations for mechanical chronographs that won't break the bank? preferably something with the looks of Seiko Brightz SDGZ013 or Seiko Panda

S-SDGZ013_c_1024x1024.jpg

8233722642_d2188a76db.jpg

I am aware of seiko anata series but sibei chor leh :s22:

and everything else like mostly vintage/out of production models

607284d1366655610-hamilton-khaki-field-automatic-chrono-h71566553-img_2288.jpg
:o

xuan87

Yah, and continue paying top dollar for overpriced "assets".

Tell me: how is a HDB 99 yr LEASEHOLD consider "ownership" went it's effectively a 99 yr rental?

Don't believe? Try to obtain a loan from a bank using yr HDB Leasehold as collateral. :s13:

You only own something when you full rights of disposal with no encumbrances.

Sad but true...

i do prefer CW's trident compared to steinhart ocean series.:o

I was just looking through CW's trident range the other day! I like both the C60 Trident 600 round and stripes ranges. There are ALOT of color options but some of them are just really weird! Especially the blue bezels, they just seem.... too vivid to me. But what jumped out to me is that the Trident seconds hand, very unique.

Ultimately, even with the occasional 15% off for CW, I feel that the Steinhart OT500 represents better value with its titanium construction, and better movement. Overall, the impression given to me is that the Steinhart is more "sporty", while the CW is more "dressy", if that makes any sense.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.