The Watch Thread - Part 8

shinoku2

Any bros here have experience buying from gnomon?currently looking at steinhart military 42 was wondering if they give discounts on their watches can pm if not able to reveal here thanks

xuan87

I wonder if there will be a DLC version of the OT500 in the future. That will be cool, although the current titanium color is already unique enough.

slow_mo

Any bros here have experience buying from gnomon?currently looking at steinhart military 42 was wondering if they give discounts on their watches can pm if not able to reveal here thanks

I believe that Henabi just bought 1 today.

randomgreen

I purchased my Steinhart Ocean 1 Black from there!

might not be able to provide much in depth analysis about my experience there..but overall the purchasing experience was good!

the staffs were friendly and provided quite alot of information on the watches :s13::s13:

before purchasing there, I was actually considering to make an order online through Steinhart official web,

but comparing the price, yes you do save abit ($30-50), and gnomon doesn't accept the Steinhart watch that you purchase online should you decide to send it for servicing.

and I heard that ordering online, the delivery take quite long to process one. so to save all the trouble, getting it direct from gnomon seems to be the best choice to me.

hope this helps! :s12::s12:

randomgreen

Yes that's right -- saving those money on a luxury item. But is this item really worth missing out on having fun with your friends?

(I dont know what you do, not to say that what you are doing instead is not fun)

Don't stay at home too much too! And bottomline is moderate spendings on entertainment (and alcohol), not mindless every weekend go drink and spend hundreds on it.

Same rice feed a thousand kinda people.

Random is probably a more down-to-eartg kinda person. I have a few friends who are like him when we were younger.

Rather work than go out have fun. Rather stay at home than go movies.

:s13::s13::s13: wa don say until I like some hermit. everyday stay at home.

jus that partying aint my cup of tea. :s22::s22:

I get my entertainment through food. go around hunt famous hawker food =:p

cheaper and song as well!!

Seannie

Verify the watch, not the card dude... wondering what the salesperson was smoking that day.

Most 2nd hand shop, specially reputable ones like Chuan, HJ, JW and Monster, will tell you that they will do a full refund if RSC verified that the Rolex you bought from them is a fake.

For preowned watch dealers, their reputation is utmost important. Cuz once got people spread words that they are selling fake preowned watches it's GG for them

-----------
Well...not sure if you were following Seannie "watch saga", but basically that Seannie initially want to buy a rolec because it's ATAS, SATKI and can haolian.

Several watch lovers here told him to get a replica... after a while he changed his mind to Tudor... then GS... then citizen.

Say wan skyhawk... turned out to be a shadowhawk lolx

anyway... still waiting for him to GPGT. A watch

Yalor yalor. I also think should get the real rollie if really interested. Get a new piece instead of preowned. 11k green hulk nextime same model could well be selling more than 20k. Dont buy now nextime even pricier.

Seannie

:s13::s13::s13: wa don say until I like some hermit. everyday stay at home.

jus that partying aint my cup of tea. :s22::s22:

I get my entertainment through food. go around hunt famous hawker food =:p

cheaper and song as well!!

Yalor yalor i also think dont buy preowned better, save bit more get real one more song tiobo??? Im sure u can do it since u dont party havoc like gaoxing didi no family burden dont smoke even. Sure can get real rollie very soon. Wanna join me? We go hoot green hulk 2gether... so far still rollie best. Think v long already. Need to pay for the "branding" thats what making me hesitating. Just like u go lim yakun $2.60 pay for branding go hawker centre lim unbranded kopi only $1.10.... party too much no use de lar. Lastime young i oso party often end up with nothing. But lastime no monies la. Lastime shushu pay v low. Haha. Save up invest in rollie no wrong. Rolex is an asset. Dont lose to gold. Rolex more certain to keep value than gold imho. Hahas.

TeenTitan01

Agree to the max. Wanted to get a Rolex before I reached the big 3. But went for PAM instead. Now thinking to get a rollie to mark a new milestone in life - getting married.

Not sure if that's gonna happen (Me buying the watch), but at least there's a goal...

Can afford to get married (w/ its huge associated expenditure, new home, renovation + presumably car loan) + can still think of snagging a rollie = elite! :D

Seannie

Agree to the max. Wanted to get a Rolex before I reached the big 3. But went for PAM instead. Now thinking to get a rollie to mark a new milestone in life - getting married.

Not sure if that's gonna happen (Me buying the watch), but at least there's a goal...

U sure can do it bro. Even big 3 cant get it, by big 4 still can make it. Just like me joining Club40 soon but yet to even own a luxury watch. I started out very late in life but slowly getting there though getting a lot of ridicule here but its ok. Take it in my pride whether or not ple look dwn or up at me. At least i never let myself down and has really lived my life. V fast we will get old and leave this world. Try to get watever i can from life before it catches up with me.

Seannie

Envy those youngsters who havent graduate and already have 11k spare cash to down on a Rolex.

If I were you, I'd definitely get it first hand from an authorised dealer and let them serve me until gao gao. Plus you get the peace of mind that you are getting the real deal, with ample opportunities for you to ask them countless questions. That's what I see the price difference as -- paying for the service and peace of mind.

Yes yes, couldnt agree more just get from an AD and get served gao gso song song but ofcos dont go too far. One rollie worth a thousand words! 😆

patryn33

http://www.bodying.sg/montblanc-watches-101548/watches/60115#.VgE9FPmqpBc

Just found this. Can consider? Watch noob here but find the design quite okay. The price quoted from Bodying also not sure if reliable or not.

buy from bodying might as well go grey such as collectorstime.com.
but I have no love for entry level Montblanc... use stock SW or ETA today.
really depends what U want.. nice dress watch can get a Frederique Constant.
want a dive watch can go Tudor or Longines, Chrono a Speedy etc etc...
the list goes on

patryn33

Citizen-Signature-Grand-Touring-Sport-13.jpg

Im hoping is this.

just get it! its around 1K!! hoot hoot hoot

DXMachina

Protip: When you finally decide to buy and finalise on the price, do it with the boss (I think his name is Daniel), and not the lady. Based on my personal experience, Daniel gives better discounts. :)

11888523_1093011260724212_838916672435352110_o.jpg

radiancez567

Same rice feed a thousand kinda people.

Random is probably a more down-to-eartg kinda person. I have a few friends who are like him when we were younger.

Rather work than go out have fun. Rather stay at home than go movies.

There's this saying. One man's meat is another's poison.

Just like how I don't find some of the expensive watches good looking at all, and prefers a more affordable alternative.

rboyboy

randomgreen bro, I am also saving up for my first R! LOL! Should be getting it to commemorate my graduation if not my hardwork. You can do it bro as long as we constantly tell ourselves.

XiaoBoii

Hi guys, I'm currently looking for a new watch and is set on getting one with moonphase. I have scouted a few and selected a few.

I know that buying a watch should be a personal thing and ultimately boils down to personal preference. But at the same time, I would like to know what others think and feel as well.

My budget is up to 8k and these are the ones that manage to catch my attention.

BaumeMercier_Clifton_CC_side_LG.jpg

Around 5k after discount

_complete_calendar_montblanc_heritage.jpg

Also around 5k after discount

bb7642625afc20225b96186d3fc18843.jpg

Around 7k after discount

Seannie

Bo swee leh. BM, montblanc not really... with 5k budget think tudor is yur best choice. Or top up abit more get a rollie. Learnt it the hard way from the bros here. But want moonphase no choice.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.