The Watch Thread - Part 8

Henabi

is similar to seiko5 .. low power reserve ?

seiko5 was my first automatic watch but even store in watch winder, it will still off sync...

Low power reserve and timing off are 2 different things.

Sent from OnePlus A0001 using GAGT

for my seiko5 SNKK87, it uses a 7S26 caliber self-winding mechanical movement that cannot be manually wound or hacked (the second hand does not stop when the crown is pulled out) The watch should run for up to 43 hours when fully wound and will self-wind when moved.
since I am wearing the watch on my wrist from 8am till 9pm Mondays to Thursdays. Once I stop wearing the watch from thursday 10pm onwards, the watch will usually stop moving on Saturday morning or friday night.

if your watch is off-sync, whereby the time is either too fast or too slow, its largely because the watch has been magnetized. bring to the seiko service center to get it fixed.

having owned automatic watches with date and day functions for years now... I don't see a need to use a watch winder. Usually I will just let the watch run out its power reserve. As and when I wanna wear the watch, I will just give it a few good shakes (To kick-start the watch), adjust the time, date & day, and finally wind the crown about 15 to 20 times. And I'm ready to go!

But if I ever hoot a highly complicated watch piece like PP Perpetual or JLC Master Perpetual or ALS Perpetual, I will definitely get a good watch winder, because its a pain in the S to set the day,date,month,year once again if I am not gonna be wearing it for a few days or weeks.

patryn33

seiko-recraft-2_1024x1024.jpg

recently saw this and really like the design but not keen with the movement. any alternative higher end below 1K ? :o

Sorry not been following under 1k what kind of watch u looking at?

Not day date on Swiss ETA 2824 higher end movement not high end brand ok?

http://www.ocean7watchco.com/store/ocean7-meteor-titanium.html

Or here?
https://www.uhr.info

jonleelk

for my seiko5 SNKK87, it uses a 7S26 caliber self-winding mechanical movement that cannot be manually wound or hacked (the second hand does not stop when the crown is pulled out) The watch should run for up to 43 hours when fully wound and will self-wind when moved.
since I am wearing the watch on my wrist from 8am till 9pm Mondays to Thursdays. Once I stop wearing the watch from thursday 10pm onwards, the watch will usually stop moving on Saturday morning or friday night.

if your watch is off-sync, whereby the time is either too fast or too slow, its largely because the watch has been magnetized. bring to the seiko service center to get it fixed.

having owned automatic watches with date and day functions for years now... I don't see a need to use a watch winder. Usually I will just let the watch run out its power reserve. As and when I wanna wear the watch, I will just give it a few good shakes (To kick-start the watch), adjust the time, date & day, and finally wind the crown about 15 to 20 times. And I'm ready to go!

But if I ever hoot a highly complicated watch piece like PP Perpetual or JLC Master Perpetual or ALS Perpetual, I will definitely get a good watch winder, because its a pain in the S to set the day,date,month,year once again if I am not gonna be wearing it for a few days or weeks.

I put all my auto w date watches in winder. So when need to wear, just adjust the time slightly and go.

For auto w/o date, I leave them in box. Just need to adjust a bit more on the time and go. :D

The watch winders are also my means of controlling my watch buying! =:p

Henabi

I put all my auto w date watches in winder. So when need to wear, just adjust the time slightly and go.

For auto w/o date, I leave them in box. Just need to adjust a bit more on the time and go. :D

The watch winders are also my means of controlling my watch buying! =:p

Control... from splurging to giving a reason for every watch you hoot lolx

Xmas is near... got reason to hoot lolx

jonleelk

Control... from splurging to giving a reason for every watch you hoot lolx

Xmas is near... got reason to hoot lolx

Hoot a few more watch winders... Then can buy more watches liao :o

Sold 2 watches and hooted 1 over the past 4 days!!! Now my watch box got 1 spare lobang for a manual wound or auto w/o date watch!!! =:p

Christmas spirit is with me ... but birthday spirit is with wifey. Next week her birthday, already promised her she can choose 1 bag from Gucci ...

AyuReady

Saving up for a chrono graph.

Will u choose a VC overseas chrono or a Rolex Daytona?

Views and recommendation welcome . Budget is 15-20k hard to go above . Need around half year to store power for this haha

Dun really like AP ROO.

fabiaN__

Views and recommendation welcome . Budget is 15-20k hard to go above . Need around half year to store power for this haha

Dun really like AP ROO.

I'll pick a Rolex Daytona..

If you're open to suggestions, may I say.. The IWC Portuguese 3714 Chrono. It's quite a handsome watch.

But in terms of resale value etc.. It's probably not that worthwhile, unless you're looking at grey dealers.

With your budget, you can potentially buy two!

josephkjc

Dun really like AP ROO.

Definitely the iconic Daytona. AP ROO is stunning but really big and chunky.
otQGk40.jpg

AyuReady

Thanks bro. Was aiming a SS Daytona but recently found out that the similar budget can potentially get a top 3 Swiss brand - VC (although not In house movement)

So was shaken. Haha but surprising the Resales seems bad for them. Daytona seems more resistant

josephkjc

Thanks bro. Was aiming a SS Daytona but recently found out that the similar budget can potentially get a top 3 Swiss brand - VC (although not In house movement)

So was shaken. Haha but surprising the Resales seems bad for them. Daytona seems more resistant

Definitely Rolex can retain much more value during resale due to the popularity. In addition Rolex movements are known to be work horses where the watches are running well more than 10 years without servicing.

VC is lesser known and less popular hence resale value is very low. I don't even think anyone in this thread owns a VC.

shorty07

guys, anyone knows where to find the widest range of citizen watches? thinking of getting one of their divers, see in websites like got a lot. but wanna see in real life 1st.

coern

Sold 2 watches and hooted 1 over the past 4 days!!! Now my watch box got 1 spare lobang for a manual wound or auto w/o date watch!!! =:p

Christmas spirit is with me ... but birthday spirit is with wifey. Next week her birthday, already promised her she can choose 1 bag from Gucci ...

gongxi gongxi! :s13:

radiancez567

Speaking of which, I feel shy trying watches when I know I'm not buying today.

I wanted to try Seiko SRP639 and SNZH55 and SNZH57 these 3 watches, but I very shy when the sales person offer to take the watch out and even ask me how much is my budget etc. Anyone with the same problem?

If I got ready cash and intend to buy I would dare to try, but no cash don't dare try haizzz.

Sent from Samsung SM-G900F using GAGT

Just say that you are there to try, and then whip out your phone to compare wristshots or take wristshots. Got one shop I went the person said at one time max can let me try 3 watches haha.

PiPiChew

Just say that you are there to try, and then whip out your phone to compare wristshots or take wristshots. Got one shop I went the person said at one time max can let me try 3 watches haha.

Feel so paiseh to do that leh. Even supermarket give free cups of fruit juice ask me try I also paiseh to take and drink. Haha.

In fact my watch from gnomon I never even try, I just buy online once I got money after looking at their website daily for 6 months :D

fabiaN__

Feel so paiseh to do that leh. Even supermarket give free cups of fruit juice ask me try I also paiseh to take and drink. Haha.

In fact my watch from gnomon I never even try, I just buy online once I got money after looking at their website daily for 6 months :D

Don't need to feel paiseh one. You got to try it on to know if it suits you, or if you like it on your wrist... :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.